NRL The Titans and their rent

May 3, 2003
Warriorville
NZ Warriors, Wallan FNC
I read elsewhere on the forum today that, apparently the Titans are paying 300k per match to play at Skilled Park. It seems and extremely high amount and probably little wonder the club's struggling financially given the crowds have dropped off a fair bit.

I know the soccer guys had issues with ticket pricing and I've got no idea how much it costs to go to a Titans game, although I've heard it's quite expensive. You'd think the Stadium owners would be going out of their way to ensure they had some long term tenants if that was the case.

It would be a tragedy to see the the Titans end out like the GC United and it certainly seems a case where the NRL need to step into sooner rather than later.

Yep, you might want to put a link to that mate before anyone complains about it. I doub't they will go the way of GC United, they sealed their own fate with their behaviour as a club as well as their financial situation.

Apparently QLD Stadiums is to be blamed for this.

I read elsewhere on the forum today that, apparently the Titans are paying 300k per match to play at Skilled Park. It seems and extremely high amount and probably little wonder the club's struggling financially given the crowds have dropped off a fair bit.

I know the soccer guys had issues with ticket pricing and I've got no idea how much it costs to go to a Titans game, although I've heard it's quite expensive. You'd think the Stadium owners would be going out of their way to ensure they had some long term tenants if that was the case.

It would be a tragedy to see the the Titans end out like the GC United and it certainly seems a case where the NRL need to step into sooner rather than later.

Lack of added sauce Should = Red card :D

Thisn is an interesting topic and one that they talk about on LU every so often. Simple fact is the Titans are being arse r*ped by Stadiums Qld, with the government attempting to recoup the building costs via the consumer. It's disgraceful behaviour given the political mileage they would have gotten from publicising that they were building the stadium.

I'm actually interested in what the Storm's arrangements are (& in turn Rebs, Victory, Heart) at AAMI.

Can't comment on the soccer teams but the cost at gate to attend the League/Union is f'ing ridiculous given the comparitive cost of attending the AFL across the tracks. Almost 50% more expensive to attend the fledging foreign games.

My mum and Dad paid more than $70 each to sit roughly on the 22 metre line for Waratahs/Rebels, a top line ticket to the AFL would cost you no where that much.

I have absoloutely no doubt this has an impact on crowds where someone might be tossing up as to whether to check out a League game or attend a footy game, if money is a factor they would likely choose the AFL game every time. Even the diehards, I look at say the old man, who admittedly is more a Unionite these days but he won't go to any Rebels games other than NSW because it's simply too expensive for him. Was only able to get him to come to the Storm/St George game last year by shouting him. No doubt, no doubt in my mind at all that he is not unique and that the Storm will suffer from this attitude as well.

meltiger said:
Lack of added sauce Should = Red card :D

Hehe

meltiger said:
Thisn is an interesting topic and one that they talk about on LU every so often. Simple fact is the Titans are being arse r*ped by Stadiums Qld, with the government attempting to recoup the building costs via the consumer. It's disgraceful behaviour given the political mileage they would have gotten from publicising that they were building the stadium.

I'm actually interested in what the Storm's arrangements are (& in turn Rebs, Victory, Heart) at AAMI.

Can't comment on the soccer teams but the cost at gate to attend the League/Union is f'ing ridiculous given the comparitive cost of attending the AFL across the tracks. Almost 50% more expensive to attend the fledging foreign games.

My mum and Dad paid more than $70 each to sit roughly on the 22 metre line for Waratahs/Rebels, a top line ticket to the AFL would cost you no where that much.

I have absoloutely no doubt this has an impact on crowds where someone might be tossing up as to whether to check out a League game or attend a footy game, if money is a factor they would likely choose the AFL game every time. Even the diehards, I look at say the old man, who admittedly is more a Unionite these days but he won't go to any Rebels games other than NSW because it's simply too expensive for him. Was only able to get him to come to the Storm/St George game last year by shouting him. No doubt, no doubt in my mind at all that he is not unique and that the Storm will suffer from this attitude as well.

It is an interesting one. Price would definitely be an issue and with things about to get a bit harder on the purse strings, high priced sports will be low on the agenda of must see viewing.

Would be good to see what sort of charge soccer, Union and League pay for AAMI.

I just went and looked for tickets to the Storm game tonight and a seat in the away bay is $30, 12 and under $18. I'm sorry to say, but that's a rip off. It really tells us a lot as to why they'd be struggling. Who in their right mind would pay those sorts of prices before you even factor in getting to the game?

Cost for a child to attend a Storm game = About $2 less than an adult ticket to the MCG :thumbsdown:

That's horrendous.

I guess with more people at the game you could drop the price, but then that's where the problems start. At least our main stadiums here are far easier to access.

Actually, it's better this year. Wonder if the Storm are wearing a loss?
GA for next Sunday against Easts

Ticket

Price

Quantity

Adult

$24.00

Concession (Pension/Student)

$15.00

Junior (5-15 years inclusive)

$5.00

--------------

$24 whilst better than last year is still too much

But wow, that kids price really shows what is going on in QLD doesn't it?

Wonder what the cost is at Cararra?

Went up for a cricket end of season trip in 2010 and the Titans were playing the Panthers. Spoke to quite a few locals who said the cost of going to games was too much. This wasn't just one isolated person here and there. Quite a lot of people said it was too much.

How many Gold Coast franchises have bitten the dust? Only a matter of time for the Titans and hopefully the Suns follow suit.

The answer so far is 1. But keep dreaming mate......the Titans and Suns are going to be around a lot longer than your footy club.

In Titans news, I've heard that Clive Palmer has offered financial assistance to the club if they ask him. Personally I'd stay away from him based on his mental state and his history of managing sports clubs. But at least the Titans know that if a worse case scenario occurs, there's a Billionaire right there that can help them out.

Actually across all sports, that figure is a bit higher. But yeah, of the RL incarnations, only really the Giants/Seagulls failed as such. They were based down near the Leagues club in a really poor location (Given where the majority of the population lived at the time.

They eventually did realise this however and once they moved to Carara were actually doing ok. I went and watched them play the Parrascums there in '96 (or '97, whatever year my parents lived there) and whilst being one of the funniest nights I've ever had at the footy (Someone got booted for invading the pitch three times, yes three - Dumb backward rednecks kept putting him back into the crowd :D), it was a really good crowd and a really good night. Quite simply, they didn't fail, they were sacrificed in the midst of News Ltd's crime spree against the sport. No more a failure than Perth were.

As for the AFL, well a team called Brisbane were never going to be successful down on the coast were they? :D Again, not a failure, just relocated up the highway to where Skase should have based them in the first place.

The Titans could very easily be a roaring success. Certainly they have hearts and minds on the Coast, Auckmel has shown exactly why they are struggling to get people through the door.

Obscene is an understatement on the cost for a child to attend.

Getting a membership ticket is the way to go, it saves heaps of money.
One outlay and then you don't have to worry about forking out for other games.

Having said that I do think single price entries to rugby league/union games are absolutely ridiculous, especially on the GC. Its no wonder they are struggling for crowd nos. It doesn't help matters when the Titans aren't doing so well on the field either.

I'd like to see the Titans kick some butt on and off the field on the GC. so could the new commission come into play here and help them re-negotiate a better stadium deal in the future?

btw guys it is now $30.00 for GA entry for a Storm game, gone up $5.00 from last year and I have to say this is going to keep people away as compared to $25.00 GA entry to the Rebels and Heart games.

I presume across the road at the MCG its still $22.50 for GA?.

btw guys it is now $30.00 for GA entry for a Storm game,

That sounds more comparitive to last year ... wonder why I could buy 20% online cheaper though?

As for memberships .... A club like yours can't expect people who are taking their initial interest in the game to stump up for membership. It simply won't happen. You'll get a membership, but the dude who watches the FNF game on 9 and thinks, "hmm maybe I'll check out their next game" certainly won't.

This is where the gate price kills Melbourne.

Could partly just be cost of living in the area.

Both WC Eagles and WForce tickets can be pretty eyewatering.

Gold reserved for the force as an adult is $75 and the uppercrust WC Eagles tickets go up to $73 (hypothetically speaking, as good luck obtaining those tickets).

At the start of the year GA standing was $30 for the Glory as well, though that dropped to $25.

That sounds more comparitive to last year ... wonder why I could buy 20% online cheaper though?

As for memberships .... A club like yours can't expect people who are taking their initial interest in the game to stump up for membership. It simply won't happen. You'll get a membership, but the dude who watches the FNF game on 9 and thinks, "hmm maybe I'll check out their next game" certainly won't.

This is where the gate price kills Melbourne.
Gate price is ridiculous. I want to take my sister and her friend to their first NRL game this weekend, but when I told them that the entry price is $30, they were shocked and are now reconsidering going along.

Could partly just be cost of living in the area.

Both WC Eagles and WForce tickets can be pretty eyewatering.

Gold reserved for the force as an adult is $75 and the uppercrust WC Eagles tickets go up to $73 (hypothetically speaking, as good luck obtaining those tickets).

At the start of the year GA standing was $30 for the Glory as well, though that dropped to $25.

Western Force's ticket prices are ridiculous, it hurts the atmosphere at games as well. Why get 16,000 paying that when you could have 22,000 paying $45 for gold reserve, $35 silver reserve and $30 GA.

and yet other venues.. like Stadium Australia... actually pay clubs to play there... how can that be?

Do the Titans have the catering rights or something? Thats the only way you could justify it, otherwise the stadium is taking a cut at both ends when the football club is the one actually delivering the business to them. It doesnt make sense unless the business savy of the club is non existant, does it?

NRL The Titans and their rent