The "We must get Tom Lynch at all costs...or maybe not" Thread

I'm going to stick with Ed not showing his cards until we've well and truly played them. Poker face right now.

They could be going after Gaff for all we know. Good opportunity to replace a weak link.
Why don't we go after Gaff? He is absolute quality.

Good question. Our name hasn't even entered discussions so I can only assume either a) we're not into him or b) people just assume because we're into Lynch that we can't get him as well.

That and our need for KPPs is strong!

He'd definitely compliment our list, though. Put him onto the opposite wing to Phillips and you'd be pretty well covered.

The whole argument that Bucks threw him under the bus is some of the most ******ed crap I've ever heard.

The question that was put to Bucks about whether he had spoken to Lynch (to which he answered yes) was after it was widely reported that Lynch had met with Richmond, something that Richmond never denied. yet it's Bucks who made him upset?

I don't reckon Lynch gives a shit myself. It's a total media beat up because they have nothing to say.

I already had this discussion on the Tigers board a week or so ago.....…..not sure they agreed with me in the end.

We all choose to believe what we want. I choose to believe Ed comments on stuff he doesn’t need to there’s no grey to avoiding it it’s simply not necessary for him to be involved. It’s also not a part of the football landscape there isn’t a single other President with their own radio show running public commentary on it. It is completely unique!
Read my post properly.
Free Agency is now part of the Football landscape...:rolleyes:
Comparing the Essendon Drugs scandal situation to the recruitment of a free agent is laughable.
I’m out...

Read my post properly.
Comparing the Essendon Drugs scandal situation to the recruitment of a free agent is laughable.
I’m out...

If I am not mistaken (read it here) Eddie on Fox last week said "GCS should just accept the compensation pick"

I don't think he should be saying stuff like that...…...even if he is in the media.
I think that is what Scodog is alluding to about Eddie and his comments.

I already had this discussion on the Tigers board a week or so ago.....…..not sure they agreed with me with me in the end.
They have a wicked case of "confirmation bias" over there. It goes well with their scorching case of herpes.

Read my post properly.
I’m out...

lol.

If you were listening to Eddie on MMM this morning you'd have to think that Lynch is Tiger bound.

They were talking about Cotchin extending his contract out until 2022, when he is already contracted until the end of 2020. The discussion then between Edddie and Tom Browne moved on as to why the extension would be done now and this was led by Eddie.

It went something like this:

Eddie: Why do you think that the extension was done now?

Tom: I'm not sure Ed.

Eddie: Could it be that they are freeing up cap space and back ending his deal?

Tom: Could be Ed. That would free up some room to land a free agent.

Eddie: Like the biggest free agent available this year?

The conversation on this issue was all led by Eddie and i can't see why he would be angling the talk down this path if he didn't think that Richmond have secured Lynch.
Think quite the opposite TBH, Ed playing the 'I know nuffing' card..

Exactly. The best part is that Tiger flog had his chest out yesterday about the article as though it backed him up...exactly what i was saying etc etc. If that is what he knows..then he knows nothing. He may end up going to Tigers, but that bloke knows nothing.
That bloke already covered his bases a few pages back. If Lynch goes to tigers, then he was right all along. If he goes somewhere else then there will be the classic blame shift with "He back flipped on us at the last moment". John Edwards made a living with this cold read, carnival shtick for years.

Good question. I reckon they know he is bound elsewhere and they are going to make another offer to him.

Bingo......that's my read on it also.

Bucks on Whateley this morning.

Whateley: Do you know if Tom Lynch was irritated when you confirmed on Footy Classified that you'd met with him?

Bucks: If I was a layman reading the paper yesterday then I'd have to take it at face value that he was, wouldn't I?

Whateley: But you're not a layman.

Bucks: Well I am. Because that's the first I'd heard of it.

Whateley: Okay. Did you ask Ned Guy to go and see him to try to smooth that over?

Bucks: No.

Whateley: Was that the purpose of his meeting with him, to try to smooth it over?

Bucks: No. No, we're trying to recruit him.

Whateley: Yes.

Bucks: What was the purpose of the article do you think?

Whateley: Ah, it was probably to suggest you're third of three.

Bucks: Right.

Whateley: What did you think the purpose of the article was?

Bucks: I'm still trying to work it out. But I'm not spending too much time on it.

Whateley: I'm sure you're not.

Bucks: It filled up a bit of space.

Whateley: Does it concern you at all?

Bucks: No.

Whateley: Okay.

Bucks: No, it's an irrelevance. And I don't think from our understanding and from the process that is in place that has been 98% undercover... It's a process that takes place and there's plenty of things that people think they know about it but... Yeah, wherever Sam was going with that, only Sam could tell people about.

Ralphy tips the Pies as his new home, isn’t he a Tiger flog as well?
There is so much shit out there about Lynch that someone is just sitting back pissing themselves at the moment!

Or Lynch’s value (contract size) is rising every week...as his management conduct a Dutch Auction.

There is so much shit out there about Lynch that someone is just sitting back pissing themselves at the moment!

Maybe this time the broken clock is right.

I think the only person who knows anything is Lynch and maybe his manager, nobody in the media knows shit.

But because there is no consequence for being wrong, and every incentive to write whatever they feel like, they fill up column inches with the combined weight of their gut based ad hoc reckons dressed up as sighs and whispers knowing that it gets clicks, which is all that matters in this game. And given the total lack of expectations of quality, accuracy, impartiality, or basic English syntax we now have for our media in general and football media in particular, this will only get worse.

Those who speak don't know, those who know don't speak, and those who mash their heads or fists into keyboards at what passes for our "media" for a living wouldn't know a thought if it bit them.

Got to give credit where it's due. Lynch, his manager and family have done an amazing job at keeping this whole circus under wraps. At this stage, not one person in the media or public seems to have definitive knowledge of where he is going despite them falling over each other for the story.

Paul Connors is the best in the business for a reason.

Good question. Our name hasn't even entered discussions so I can only assume either a) we're not into him or b) people just assume because we're into Lynch that we can't get him as well.

That and our need for KPPs is strong!

He'd definitely compliment our list, though. Put him onto the opposite wing to Phillips and you'd be pretty well covered.

I'd prefer Aish has 1 wing and suggest if you're chasing Gaff then it's to upgrade Phillips.

So is Connors or D’orazio Lynch’s manager? I know D’orazio works for Connors but different articles swap between both as being his manager.

Connors is the boss.