The Whole Is Greater Than The Sum Of The Parts

Jan 14, 2002
Firstly, let me qualify - Geelong currently have an awesome team, fully deserved of last year's Premiership and most likely to win again this year. I almost hope they do so as to reward the mere existence of a wonderful combination of players all coming together atthe same point in history in the same guernsey. I love watching them at their best, tearing (non-Richmond) teams apart on a weekely basis.

But it's important also to realise that whilst there are some magnificent individual players at a team such as Geelong - Ablett, Chapman, Scarlett, Bartel etc. - it is the chemistry of the collective that sees them as a power. There are some footballers currently playing at Richmond who would very comfortably fit into that Cat team. And I'm not just referring to Richo, Browny, Foley or Deledio, who would all be shoe-ins - I'm talking about some players who are often maligned on this and the main board.

Exhibit A - Watching Corey Enright's game on Friday night, there is no way that Joel Bowden could not do what Enright does. At Richmond, Bowden gets criticised for playing loose across half-back and racking up uncontested run-off possessions. At Geelong, Enright who is of a similar size and asked to do a similar job, is perceived as playing a very important role. He also has the massive luxury of Scarlett, Harley and Mackie to take his back. As a consequence, Bowden is widely condemned, whilst Enright is widely commended.

Exhibit B - Anyone who does not see that Travis Varcoe is of a similar mould, just a little less developed as a senior player, as Richie Tambling is kidding themselves. But there are two key differences between these youngsters - 1) although taken as a 1st-Rounder, Varcoe wasn't picked immediately prior to Lance Franklin and therefore isn't forced to endure constant and unfair comparison, and 2) Varcoe plays in a team where he is surrounded by a combination of hardball winners and on-field magicians, allowing him to develop very gradually by just doing cameos. As a consequence, Tambling is widely condemned, whilst Varcoe is commended.

Exhibit C - There is a very small gap between what Mark Blake can produce on the footy field and what Adam Pattison can produce. Yet Pattison is often seen as a wasted pick, unskilled, cumbersome and developing too slowly, if at all. Meanwhile, Blake is a applauded for his development and has his obvious flaws ignored as he has the competition's best ball-winners at the foot of his ruck contests.

Exhibit D - I've always been a Brad Ottens fan, often at my own detriment on this board in particular. He had a wonderful year last year, comparable to his fantastic 2001 at Tigerland, and I actually had real pleasure watching him get a well-deserved Premiership medallion. But he is no better a footballer now than he was five years ago, even though being surrounded by talent has led most media commentators to suggest so. If he'd had the year he's having this year when he was at Tigerland, he'd be in the news as possible trade bait. Again, the luxury of being amongst an awesome team allows him to gradually integrate back in with minimal pressure to perform.

The moral of the story is that it's all about creating a chemistry amongst the whole TEAM, and that INDIVIDUAL players can be perceived as being better footballers courtesy of how they slot into that TEAM. There is also a larger proportion of blokes than many think currently on the Richmond list that are potential Premiership players.

Firstly, let me qualify - Geelong currently have an awesome team, fully deserved of last year's Premiership and most likely to win again this year. I almost hope they do so as to reward the mere existence of a wonderful combination of players all coming together atthe same point in history in the same guernsey. I love watching them at their best, tearing (non-Richmond) teams apart on a weekely basis.

But it's important also to realise that whilst there are some magnificent individual players at a team such as Geelong - Ablett, Chapman, Scarlett, Bartel etc. - it is the chemistry of the collective that sees them as a power. There are some footballers currently playing at Richmond who would very comfortably fit into that Cat team. And I'm not just referring to Richo, Browny, Foley or Deledio, who would all be shoe-ins - I'm talking about some players who are often maligned on this and the main board.

Exhibit A - Watching Corey Enright's game on Friday night, there is no way that Joel Bowden could not do what Enright does. At Richmond, Bowden gets criticised for playing loose across half-back and racking up uncontested run-off possessions. At Geelong, Enright who is of a similar size and asked to do a similar job, is perceived as playing a very important role. He also has the massive luxury of Scarlett, Harley and Mackie to take his back. As a consequence, Bowden is widely condemned, whilst Enright is widely commended.

Exhibit B - Anyone who does not see that Travis Varcoe is of a similar mould, just a little less developed as a senior player, as Richie Tambling is kidding themselves. But there are two key differences between these youngsters - 1) although taken as a 1st-Rounder, Varcoe wasn't picked immediately prior to Lance Franklin and therefore isn't forced to endure constant and unfair comparison, and 2) Varcoe plays in a team where he is surrounded by a combination of hardball winners and on-field magicians, allowing him to develop very gradually by just doing cameos. As a consequence, Tambling is widely condemned, whilst Varcoe is commended.

Exhibit C - There is a very small gap between what Mark Blake can produce on the footy field and what Adam Pattison can produce. Yet Pattison is often seen as a wasted pick, unskilled, cumbersome and developing too slowly, if at all. Meanwhile, Blake is a applauded for his development and has his obvious flaws ignored as he has the competition's best ball-winners at the foot of his ruck contests.

Exhibit D - I've always been a Brad Ottens fan, often at my own detriment on this board in particular. He had a wonderful year last year, comparable to his fantastic 2001 at Tigerland, and I actually had real pleasure watching him get a well-deserved Premiership medallion. But he is no better a footballer now than he was five years ago, even though being surrounded by talent has led most media commentators to suggest so. If he'd had the year he's having this year when he was at Tigerland, he'd be in the news as possible trade bait. Again, the luxury of being amongst an awesome team allows him to gradually integrate back in with minimal pressure to perform.

The moral of the story is that it's all about creating a chemistry amongst the whole TEAM, and that INDIVIDUAL players can be perceived as being better footballers courtesy of how they slot into that TEAM. There is also a larger proportion of blokes than many think currently on the Richmond list that are potential Premiership players.
I totally with you in this one mate if Tambling was a pick after Buddy there wouldnt be as much criticism. I want to know if the hawks knew that buddy would be this good why didn't they take him with there 1st pick in the draft instead or Roughead.
Behind Richmond, Geelong would be my 2nd favorite team to watch there skills are unbeliveable and hardness is great i belive we can do this in a few years with Cotchin, Deledio, Tambling will come along, Foley, Thursfield, Hughes, Rieowldt and Morton i really like the way this team is forming.:thumbsu:

Great Post again.... I suppose this is what I was getting to with this thread... http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=462235 .. Geelong seems to play as a complete team, mind you it took them along time to finally click to be the side that they are today, so it's still early days for us.

got to pay that Ghost but who is the tiger that you speak of in Exhibit D? JON or maybe its Cartledge? lol ;)

Yep, great post. Question. The team 'chemistry' you are speaking about. Are we developing it? I'm guessing that we are. Players like Thursty, Riewoldt, Cotchin and Morton ( believe it or not) seem to have that something special about they way they play football. Something inspiring, something cool in a crisis.

Yes the boys seem to be working on their chemistry and I agree with above thread but if they don't work on their kicking skills , all the chemistry in the world will account for nothing.

Maybe they can listen to some Mondo Rock off the track to work on their chemistry and work on their skills at training. That way we can mesh these 2 important qualities together and win some more games.

Go Tigers !

got to pay that Ghost but who is the tiger that you speak of in Exhibit D? JON or maybe its Cartledge? lol ;)

Ha, yeah Cogga i should have qualified that one better. I meant the much-maligned Ottens of 1998-2004 versus the much-celebrated version of 2005-2008.

I must admit that I've never even seen Cartledge play so I'll reserve my judgement on him for the time being. JON is a bit of a worry - I doubt that Geelong have one of him on their list - but I reckon I'd persevere with him for one more season.

tiggywig said:
Yep, great post. Question. The team 'chemistry' you are speaking about. Are we developing it?

Honestly dunno, mate. I think we're genuinely attempting to. I reckon the long-term plan is a sound one, and in fairness to Wallace and co such a strategy was put in place well before Geelong recently started making it (i.e. putting together a big cluster of blokes who all develop as a team together) look like a good idea.

I'm not entirely convinced that Terry Wallace is the man to carry it through, but there's not a hell of a lot of better alternatives currently available - and that's even taking into account poaching an opposition coach.

TigerTroy0055 said:
Yes the boys seem to be working on their chemistry and I agree with above thread but if they don't work on their kicking skills , all the chemistry in the world will account for nothing.

Fair enough too. That said, my great Cat-following mate (who's name also is Troy, by the way) used to tear his fast-receding hairline out on a weekly basis at the ball-delivery of Wojcinski, Tenace, Ling, Kelly, Byrnes, Playfair and even Bartel at times.

Strangely enough, he is very much at peace with the world in today's football climate ... the bastard.

So we are poorly led and coached then ? ...:confused:;)

Don`t agree with that at all

You may have been in Dublin at the time ghost but it was 18 months ago that the coach of Richmond announced to all who would listen that ...

"Richard Tambling was ready to explode and was going to be a super-star" ... quote unquote

A guy who was reputed to have such boundless un-tapped talent could not be viewed as anything less than disappointing given his limited output in nearly four seasons at the club... regardless of where he was drafted . Has been given every chance to show his wares ... has been given every opportunity to grow.

Varcoe is not lauded (being the operative word) either my friend ... spent the best part of his career kicking the dew off the ground and is the epitome of "Cameo"

You may have been in Dublin at the time ghost but it was 18 months ago that the coach of Richmond announced to all who would listen that ...

"Richard Tambling was ready to explode and was going to be a super-star" ... quote unquote

A guy who was reputed to have such boundless un-tapped talent could not be viewed as anything less than disappointing given his limited output in nearly four seasons at the club... regardless of where he was drafted . Has been given every chance to show his wares ... has been given every opportunity to grow.

Varcoe is not lauded (being the operative word) either my friend ... spent the best part of his career kicking the dew off the ground and is the epitome of "Cameo"

Travis Varcoe was drfted in 2005 at pick 15, but he missed almost all of the 2006 season with a foot injury, i think he played a handful of games late that season. Played 18 senior games last year, but as mentioned by the coach, did 'run out of puff' towards season's end. This year he also started slowly, but has cracked it in the side and looks to have replaced Byrnes in the side, and he is also this season starting to rotate in the midfield. He's certainly winning over some fans at Geelong who were worried about his slow start to his career.

I do think though that Ghost has pretty much got things spot on with his assessment. It is an intangible thing that somehow took a team that as of Rd 5 in 2007 had won less than half it's games under Thompson, to a side that has lost two matches since. The belief in team, and the faith that each player has in that they know they must all contribute their part to the whole has produced something far beyond what the some of the part equalled at that stage. I know Chapman was the guy that arced up after that loss last year to the Kangaroos, and maybe that was the seed that sowed. I know that of course it was your fair club that copped the 'new' Geelong for the 1st time last year, and perhaps you can take some solace in knowing that it wasn't a one-off, but a start of a huge run.

For what it's worth, and i've said this before, Richmond to me look like Geelong of 2003. Young core of midfielders, a developing tall backman in Thursfield, and say a Ben Graham type in Richo (Richo though is better). It will take a while to come, but i reckon it is simply belief that hold the Tigers back. Once the players start running for everyone, backing up their men, and believing the plan as a team, i reckon the side can make a charge up the table, and this time one that is backed by the youth of the club. Once the midfielders get 100+ games under their belts, they will become hard nuts that will power the engine room for the Tigers. From that, the side can be built around this to realy become a power.

Ha, yeah Cogga i should have qualified that one better. I meant the much-maligned Ottens of 1998-2004 versus the much-celebrated version of 2005-2008.

I must admit that I've never even seen Cartledge play so I'll reserve my judgement on him for the time being. JON is a bit of a worry - I doubt that Geelong have one of him on their list - but I reckon I'd persevere with him for one more season.

yeah i havent seen Cartledge either and to tell you the truth, whatever transpires at Coburg, be it good form or shit form, to me it means JS. I tend to watch what happens when they get to the big stage, before I form any opinions. JON has to be persevered with. He is young and has only had 3 minutes in the system. Lets just say that when Cogga first hit the scene, he looked like a lost dog on the field and over a pre season came out and kicked butt. THese things happen more often than not. Surely we can wait for more strength, endurance and experience over another 1 or 2 years and then make the call then. What they dont want to do is do a Pettifer or Hyde, mediocre players who were playing at their optimum level having the brains trust thinking that there was improvement in them. Cost us 6 years...and dont know about you, but I could see they werent cutting the mustard 4 years ago.

Dont forget, when there are 22 in the team, you need all 22 putting in. With Pettifer in particular, apart from his 1.2453734 goals a game, that the stats guys would cough up as his claim to fame, we had 21 in the side. His inside 50s stats meant shit, since he was suppose to be on the end of inside 50s, not going out and getting stats. Which would leave us?? yep one short in our much maligned FL. ;)

So we are poorly led and coached then ? ...:confused:;)

Possibly. But I don't reckon it's that black and white with Terry Wallace. For instance, he has formulated a good long-term plan, even implemented it pretty well, but there's some flaws with some of the personnel he and the recruiting team have selected to carry it out.

In addition, Wallace appears to be capable of producing some absolute magic from the coach's box on occasions, but at other times get totally trumped by the opposition coach. Or be unprepared for what our opposition serve up during a match.

IDGAF said:

But ID, the claims made about Richie Tambling by someone other than himself (I'm yet to hear one word of Tambling parading his own "super-star" potential) are irrelevant to how he should be judged by us. You've watched a lot of footy - claims about "best pre-season ever" and "cherry ripe" are essentially friggin meaningless. And Terry clearly has various barrows to push - he might come out in strong defence of a player if they are being publicly denounced or if it is perceived that a mistake has been made about that player's selection - that's the prerogative of any individual who is having his abilities directly or indirectly questioned.

If you allow yourself to be convinced by such defence mechanisms of a coach then you are destined to be disappointed. A grain of salt sometimes needs to be taken when a coach like Wallace, Sheedy, Malthouse, etc speak in public. If that doesn't sit well with you - that a coach can be creative with the truth in order to deflect attention, pump up their own tires, or just spin shit - then by all means form a judgement on that coach based on this, but not on the players they are talking about.

Media commentators also frequently bunk players up or lambast them according to their own personal agendas, but that doesn't prevent a lot of the footy public taking the words of Walls, Sheahan, Brereton etc. as gospel.
I'm certainly not going to judge the likes of Tambling, Cotchin, Riewoldt, JON etc on their draft positions or on what is said about them by football people in the public arena. If these blokes are good enough footballers to maintain thier place amongst our senior list, then it's irrelevant whether they were taken at pick 2 or pick 72, or whether Brian Taylor really rates them.

In addition, Wallace appears to be capable of producing some absolute magic from the coach's box on occasions, but at other times get totally trumped by the opposition coach. Or be unprepared for what our opposition serve up during a match.

I must've gone for a piss on those occassions....oh wait he moved Richo to the wing... that was such a complicated coaching "magic trick" it took him no less than 70 Premiership games to formulate...:eek:

Great OP.

I see many similarities with the current Tiger side.

It's got the capability to be a great team, and on the occasions we've seen it gel together they've produced some fantastic, finals worthy footy.

Proof that this team has the chemistry and understanding to promote each others strong points, and help assist with any weak spots.

Well done to TW and the coaching staff for developing a side that is potentially the best in the league, while ensuring they remain focused on all team ethics :thumbsu:

Great OP.

I see many similarities with the current Tiger side.

It's got the capability to be a great team, and on the occasions we've seen it gel together they've produced some fantastic, finals worthy footy.

Proof that this team has the chemistry and understanding to promote each others strong points, and help assist with any weak spots.

Well done to TW and the coaching staff for developing a side that is potentially the best in the league, while ensuring they remain focused on all team ethics :thumbsu:

oh FFS...this was going along famously before you dumped your shit once again dude. What proof? the ghost gave us his summary and thats it...potentially the best in the league? like give it up, open another thread and call it Arse Lickers in here. ;)

I'm not sure that he is serious Cogga
My guess is that he is a Blues supporter that wants to see us remain as we are because he thinks we are going nowhere
Either that or he has a degree of blind faith that the pope could learn from

Possibly. But I don't reckon it's that black and white with Terry Wallace. For instance, he has formulated a good long-term plan, even implemented it pretty well, but there's some flaws with some of the personnel he and the recruiting team have selected to carry it out.

Good long term plan ??? ... very much yet to be substantiated ... Getting rid of half our list in two years after the Frawley Maelstrom is hardly MENSA stuff , same as the ensuing youth policy

Flaws regarding our recruiting policy ??? ... you betcha ... but i will get to that later

Totally agree with your assessment regarding plough on Match day .... can be great , but at times , can be appalling . The "Peice de resistance" was the Geelong game for mine .. up at half time with the Cho in brownlow medal form up around wing/half-back tearing them a new one , they run out after half time with Richo standing in the goal square getting frost-bite as they slam on something like 8 un-answered goals ...WTF Terry ? ... This was clearly a pre-concieved tactic that went horrible wrong

But ID, the claims made about Richie Tambling by someone other than himself (I'm yet to hear one word of Tambling parading his own "super-star" potential) are irrelevant to how he should be judged by us. You've watched a lot of footy - claims about "best pre-season ever" and "cherry ripe" are essentially friggin meaningless. And Terry clearly has various barrows to push -

For a bloke that still has the jury out on plough you are sure building one hell of a case for the prosecution :p

Fact is , when you are paying a bloke like Terry Wallace somewhere in the vicinity of 5-700 k to coach your team , you would think his opinion would be both a sound and valued one .... when he comes out and says that Richard Tambling will be a superstar , i think we are more than entitled to take him at face value ... forget about barrows to push . I am a Richmond member that has stuck by this shyte football club for nearly 30 years of mental anguish and if Terry has either A# ... made that statement without truelly believing it then he should be shown the door right away and B# ... if he does truelly believe it then it is seriously time to start questioning his judgement

I'm certainly not going to judge the likes of Tambling, Cotchin, Riewoldt, JON etc on their draft positions or on what is said about them by football people in the public arena. If these blokes are good enough footballers to maintain thier place amongst our senior list, then it's irrelevant whether they were taken at pick 2 or pick 72, or whether Brian Taylor really rates them.

You yourself have judged Varcoe as i bit player capable of some great Cameos ... something to that effect . And if Richy Tambling had of been drafted below Buddy then 99 % of these discussions and the ensuing debate would be moot.... correct ? Varcoe = Tambling

Well ... then WTF are we doing drafting a player of this ilk at No. 4 in the draft when we are in the process of tearing our whole house down and re-building it from the ground up ?

Sure ... Geelong taking Varcoe at 15 as some silk to complement what is shaping as a gilt edged midfield that will reap brownlows and premierships probably in the same vain as the last great dynasty in Brisbane ... makes great sense , they have built the engine room ... now for the icing on the cake ... WTF are the RFC doing ? Throw Danny Meyers hat in the ring as well.... pick 12# :thumbsu: ... lets grab an outside finisher :thumbsu::rolleyes:

But i digress ...

Problem is .... Richard Tambling was not viewed as "Travis Varcoe" type when drafted ... not on your Nelly .... Fact is , had super-star tag all over him and was going to be tearing the game to shreds with his speed , skill and agility ... That cannot be questioned Ghost , that is how the pundits had him , thats how Terry Wallace and Greg Miller had him . At this point in his career he cannot be viewed as anything "BUT" ... "A MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT"

I agree that life is harsh and the poor kid has copped a huge truckload of undue pressure but thats life in the big city . He is a lovely kid and a great ambassador for his people . but is that going to win us a flag ???

Purely and simply , he is not developing into what the RFC so desperately needs and that is a hard running midfielder who runs flat chat all day , that is what he was drafted to do and midway through his forth season he is running out of excuses

Based on your assessment Ghost ... RT at 4# was a very poor decision , the problem is Terry Wallace and co. will still tell us otherwise ... therein lies the problem;)

The Whole Is Greater Than The Sum Of The Parts