Ticketek must love this time of year

Hawthorn and Swans fans have no doubt received an email from their respective clubs informing them to enter the ballot for Grand Final tickets, should their sides be successful in the prelim( I know I have).

The problem is, you have to enter this ballot before you know if you're side is going to play off in the big dance(tomorrow), and you'll be handing over $5.50 for each barcode you enter to the lovely people at Ticketek. Non refundable of course.

I'd be interested to know if Freo, Geelong, North and Port supporters have also been advised to enter the ballot? I assume so.

Even if we think about it very conservatively and presume that only half of these membership bases enter the ballot, Ticketek are looking at an influx of around $805,000.
Now, although I'm not great with maths we're talking about somewhere between 60-80% of those transactions being handed over for literally no service whatsoever(as only 2 teams will make it, in case I lost you somewhere).

If every member of every club contacted enters the ballot, Ticketek would stand to pocket $1.6million, without even printing out or selling a ticket.

It's a rort.
The concept of a $5.50 ticketing fee for which you get the dubious honor of printing your own ticket is a rort in itself. I complained to ACCC about it but complaint has been ignored.

Its 5.50 for the ballot
Its 6.50 to print your own ticket

Its 5.50 for the ballot
Its 6.50 to print your own ticket
I complained about the normal tickets (non GF). Competitors like trybooking would charge about 1 to 2 dollars on a 100 dollar ticket.

Sook it up people; I would pay $50 to go into a ballot to go see the Roos in a GF, and I dare say so would the Dogs fans, Dees fans and the other 10-12 clubs that haven't seen a GF in the past 14 years.
Just because you would, doesn't mean you should have to.

People saying "I'd pay $50 for a ballot" are part of the problem. If people are happy to be treated like chumps, then guess how we'll get treated?

Just because you would, doesn't mean you should have to.

People saying "I'd pay $50 for a ballot" are part of the problem. If people are happy to be treated like chumps, then guess how we'll get treated?

It comes down to what people value. I wouldn't be calling anyone a chump about it. Some guy might be in his mid-50s, professional, single, lots of cash... why wouldn't he pay a premium. Someone else may be 20 years old and just loves their footy team. Some parents might just want to make their kid happy.

Again, just because you would doesn't mean we should have to.

Where does a statement like that end though. Just because you would xxxx doesn't mean I would xxxx - unfortunately it's not always that simple. I'm sure there are instances in your life where you might value something - anything - and are happy to pay more than what the average fan would deem it is worth which would still be more than what the average Joe in the street might think.

Sook it up people; I would pay $50 to go into a ballot to go see the Roos in a GF, and I dare say so would the Dogs fans, Dees fans and the other 10-12 clubs that haven't seen a GF in the past 14 years.
You're missing the point though.

You're giving money before your side has even gotten through to the Grand Final. It's almost akin to those clubs you mention putting in the money too.

If Hawthorn lose next week, I and probably 40,000 other Hawthorn members will have handed over $5.50 for absolutely nothing.

So at least $500,000 for a service that takes what:

- Someone to write an email about the ballot
- Someone to set up the website to enter
- Some kind of computer program that then draws the ballot and emails the winners

It's extortion and the AFL allow it to happen.

If it's going to happen then stuff ticketek and let the clubs run their own ballots and keep the profits themselves.

Those saying they'd pay $50 to go into the ballot for their team that's not making the GF, don't forget a lot of us that are actually going into the ballot have already paid that extra money in addition to our memberships at the start of the season, just to guarantee a seat at the GF hoping our team makes it. So I paid money literally last year for it.

And as a cheer squad member, I've had to put my name down last week, and there's still a couple of massive hurdles to get through before we even get to the prelim, let alone the GF.

So at least $500,000 for a service that takes what:

- Someone to write an email about the ballot
- Someone to set up the website to enter
- Some kind of computer program that then draws the ballot and emails the winners

It's extortion and the AFL allow it to happen.

If it's going to happen then stuff ticketek and let the clubs run their own ballots and keep the profits themselves.

Agree

- A bot wrote the email template when this extortion started 10 years ago when the stadiums and ticket outlets didn't want people camping out overnight for Grand Final tickets

- someone set up the website to enter 10 + years ago , and we are all still paying them for it $10,000,000 dollars in fees later

- an email costs .00001 of a cent to send , that's why we all get numerous club sponsor emails so regularly

GF tickets are hot items worth four figures on the open market

I'm guaranteed one with my membership if we play off, which costs me a hell of a lot each year

$5 for a shot at a GF ticket, wowee

You may have paid for a guaranteed Gf ticket , but to get your eager hands on it you must pay Ticketek $5.00 + to enter your clubs guaranteed ballot , you have no other option

That is why it is a rort

Pretty disgraceful that such an incompetent organisation like ticketek charge this shit but don't bother reinvesting it in better ****ing servers. Scum.

Clearly the AFL would be getting a cut if they're continuing to stick with these ****wits.

Ticketek must love this time of year