Tim Lane Officially Launches the "TASSIE HAWKS" in the 18 min Mark 4th Quarter!!

http://www.realfooty.com.au/realfooty/articles/2007/03/05/1172943356296.html

It's time to unleash sports-mad Tasmanians on AFL

Tim Lane
March 6, 2007

PARDON the touch of Tasmanian triumphalism, but this is an opportunity that can't be allowed to pass. The weekend just gone was an unusually good one for the island state. It should cause football administrators, in particular, to sit up and take notice.

Not only did Tassie secure a berth in the final of this season's national cricket competition, but it produced the best crowd for any of the AFL pre-season matches played in three cities around the nation.

With the Western Bulldogs and the Kangaroos either on the rise or fighting for life, a total of only 22,000 attended their two games at Telstra Dome. When the Kangaroos played a strategically fixtured match against Collingwood at Carrara the week before, the crowd was just over 11,000. Fifteen and a half thousand went to Launceston's Aurora Stadium to see the Hawks play the Blues.

Significantly, more of them supported Carlton than Hawthorn. The Hawks, who are trying to identify themselves as the team of Tasmania, "owning" the state, as a couple of their administrators have crassly put it, were roundly booed before the game. Tasmanians have their own AFL teams. Only one team can ever unify the state's football fans, and that's one that genuinely represents them.

Such a team would be supported with frightening passion, for Tasmanians are quite mad about sport. When the state won its first domestic one-day cricket title in 1979, before a frenzied crowd in Hobart, John Inverarity, the losing captain, said at the presentation that he had played cricket all over the world but never in front of "a crowd like you".

Yet, while administrators fall over themselves trying to set up a team on the Gold Coast, where the loyalty of the half-million population is divided between rugby league, rugby union, soccer and the Brisbane Lions, Tasmanian football languishes. It was once like that in cricket, too. Now its cricket team, largely composed of home-grown talent, heads the field.

Look at the contribution Tasmania brings to Australian cricket: the world's best batsman and captain in Ricky Ponting, a recent vice-captain in David Boon, it currently provides two of the four-man national selection panel, and the national fast bowling coach, Troy Cooley. And it sits on top of the Pura Cup table.

In football, though, it continues not to be on the AFL's radar. Those in control are dazzled by the prospect of gold. They have stars and dollar signs in their eyes as they think about the Gold Coast and the western suburbs of Sydney. But there's no guarantee it won't be fools' gold. In southern Queensland, the Kangaroos will struggle to woo 30 per cent of the sports-interested population.

Were they to consider Tasmania, they would see the potential for 100 per cent support from sports fans. Not only that, they would be a short, cheap plane ride from Melbourne and their traditional supporters could stay in touch by enjoying a couple of trips a year to one of the world's most beautiful places. They could be the Tassie Kangaroos, wearing green, primrose and magenta at home, and blue and white when they played in Melbourne. They would have a support base across two states that would make them the envy of many other clubs.

And the AFL would have its truly national competition at last.

Dead right Tim.

Even when the nomad Kangawho's have no connection to the region they are still touted as potential relocation targets

Does anyone want them?

http://www.realfooty.com.au/realfooty/articles/2007/03/05/1172943356296.html

Dead right Tim.

Even when the nomad Kangawho's have no connection to the region they are still touted as potential relocation targets

Does anyone want them?

Old News mate. Today Tim Lane has made it official of the TASSIE HORFORN. I think it is a great milestone for your crap club. It belongs in the arse end of the country and now that is official. AS for us, if you read the latest news you will know we are MELBOURNE based.
:D:D:D

Old News mate. Today Tim Lane has made it official of the TASSIE HORFORN. I think it is a great milestone for your crap club. It belongs in the arse end of the country and now that is official. AS for us, if you read the latest news you will know we are MELBOURNE based.

I think if you had half a brain you would realise we are Melbourne based too. :rolleyes: Tim Lanes a flog trying to pump up Tasmania because he's a Tasmanian.

Old News mate. Today Tim Lane has made it official of the TASSIE HORFORN. I think it is a great milestone for your crap club. (pot, kettle black numbnuts)
It belongs in the arse end of the country (and that would be right next to the arden st sh*thole)
now that is official. AS for us, if you read the latest news you will know we are MELBOURNE based. (see if your saying that in 12 months time)

hiring a ceo who wasn't good enough for the top job at collingwood.

aim low kangas, aim so low nobody notices when you fail.

On the very same day Big (Tosser) Mick we should make it known that Hawthorn is fighting for a Flag while your travelling Circus is fighting to live, how the hell are you going to pay the one million dollars to eradicate the contaminated soil at shed city? The funny thing is that is the least of your problems apart from joining the comp the same year as Hawthorn and winning 5 less Flags. As inbred as you are I'm sure we could buy the entire NMFC if we put our money together.

At least your out of the closet now hawkers.

Just take it one step at a time but when you take that big final step across the tasman make sure you fly as the tasman sea can be rough at times.

Its good to cleanse the soul my hawk brothers

How do you boys plan to make the trips to VFL grounds once you go out of business? :eek:

At least your out of the closet now hawkers.

Just take it one step at a time but when you take that big final step across the tasman make sure you fly as the tasman sea can be rough at times.

Its good to cleanse the soul my hawk brothers

least they have a future past 2010.

ps. you only cross the tasman sea if your going to NZ. Its called bass strait you fwit.

maybe thats why north rejected the gold coast- they might have thought it was down near lakes entrance..

Its a shame the Kangaroos weren't playing tonight...not only would they have got the much needed cash but it would have been a great chance to play in front of their biggest crowd for the year :)

I would invite you to the round1 game but it will be a sellout,even for wheelchair access for ppl of your disabilites.:D

To paraphrase Kennett at half time, if Tassie get a team the Hawks would have no trouble leaving the new club to take over the Hawks work.

Maybe there is work on behind the scenes to lure a struggling Vic club to relocate full time (unlike the Hawks part time presense) to take over from Hawthorn?

Could the Kangaroos be that club post 2010?

least they have a future past 2010.

ps. you only cross the tasman sea if your going to NZ. Its called bass strait you fwit.

maybe thats why north rejected the gold coast- they might have thought it was down near lakes entrance..

Matters which way you go.:rolleyes:

Sorry you former fitzroy fan as you mustin of supported them as you killed them.

To paraphrase Kennett at half time, if Tassie get a team the Hawks would have no trouble leaving the new club to take over the Hawks work.

Maybe there is work on behind the scenes to lure a struggling Vic club to relocate full time (unlike the Hawks part time presense) to take over from Hawthorn?

Could the Kangaroos be that club post 2010?

Hey dawkk 10 yrs ago in were in such a mess it was lucky there wasnt any moves to move ya sorry butts over there.

In 10yrs time you never know what shape you will be in.

No it won't...you cant even sell out a FNF match against Essendon even if it does sell out, is it really an achievement on the Kangaroos front when 30-35000 of the crowd are red and black?
went last season to the FNM and there was 42k there and i think we out numbered them

10 years ago the Hawks money problem wasn't public...the Hawks were one of the only cashed up Vic clubs in the 80's

The Kangaroos financial state has never been a shock, you can't honestly say that the Kangaroos money trouble hasn't been high profile can you?
Hey we werent a few votes away from being assiocated with the demon fans.

We have made a lot of errors but we are still here with a shot and thats all we need.

The dogs,hawks and even the cats have made it back from the brink.

the only melb club that hasnt had such problems is the bumbers.

Tim Lane Officially Launches the "TASSIE HAWKS" in the 18 min Mark 4th Quarter!!