List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 7

Hello Tiger fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

tugga you may like to sticky or merge this post, move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread.

Midfielder​
Midfield/Forward​
Small/Medium Forward​
KPF​
Small/Medium Defender​
KPD​
Ruck​
Under 21​
McAuliffe​
Clarke
Banks​
Campbell
Green​
Fawcett​
Smith
Brown​
Gibcus​
21-23​
Dow
Ross​
Sonsie​
M.Rioli
Coulthard
Cumberland
Mansell​
Bauer
Koschitzke​
Trezise
Ralphsmith​
Ryan
Hayes-Brown​
24-27
Graham
Taranto​
Bolton
Baker​
Balta
Lefau​
D.Rioli​
Miller
Young​
Colina​
28-30
Hopper
McIntosh​
Short
Vlastuin​
Nankervis​
30+
Prestia
Martin​
Pickett​
Lynch​
Broad
Grimes​
Naismith​

Thought something like this may help people gain a better idea about how our list build is currently structured and where the weaknesses are with regarding the type of players that we should be looking at either at the trade/free agency table or in the draft itself.

The first thing that stands out is the lack of young midfield talent. We have Ross Dow Sonsie Banks Clarke & McAuliffe that are 23 or younger, quite simply that just isn't enough, we need more and it needs to be quality both inside and out the square. By putting together a strong young group, they will be able to grow and develop together so that when they hit their peak, they have a good 75-100 games under their belts playing together as a unit and we'll still have the likes of Taranto & Hopper as the leaders of the group. Thankfully we're in a strong position at the draft table to address this area.

The second area that stands out is obviously the KPP/Ruck stocks. Lynch is closer to the end that the peak of his career and while he can still have a few good years leading the forward line we need to find a running mate to partner with Balta(should they leave him forward) for when Lynch is no longer around. Koschitzke hasn't started his time at Richmond well but there is still time, but it's going to need to be a big turn around if he is going to be the answer. Behind Koschitzke is a trio of untried unproven talent. Lefau has excited some in the VFL games, but being honest it's just flashes that we see. He still needs to build consistency to show he can be a possible answer. Bauer has been more consistent than Lefau, but has been missing so far this year so we have no idea where he fits in to Yzes plans until he gets out on the park. Fawcett is even more of a mystery, had track watchers feeling good about him, but is another who we haven't seen yet. So more questions than answers up forward.

Down the other end, there are even more concerns as we've now seen Gibcus missing 2 years of development due to injuries who was going to be the cornerstone of the back line moving forward, Miller has been here for 7 seasons and has managed 25 games without ever really locking himself into the best 22, well as a result of Gibcus going down, Miller now has the chance to step up and become that long term KPD we've been searching for since Rance & Astbury departed. Miller has all the attributes to be a solid KPD, 198cm & 97kg(apparently) has good skills, can take a grab, and has shown calmness and composure down back so far this year in the VFL game. Young is in his second year and has progressed at a remarkable rate since winning a spot on the list in 2022. It would be incredibly handy if both Miller & Young can stand up and fill the void as it would take pressure of Gibcus and allow him to focus on rehabilitation and getting back on the park without thinking it's all up to him.

As far as the rucks go Nankervis and Naismith are a good pairing that should get us through the year without much worry, but behind them Ryan still has lots of question marks, Hayes-Brown is raw as can be and Colina has a bad back that has flared up yet again this year. So we're definitely going to need to add at least a combination of 2-3 KPP/Rucks to the list at seasons end.

The 2 areas that we have good depth at is the small/medium forwards & defenders, with the defenders having shown more class and talent at the moment and is probably the strongest area of the list for us from both a present and future perspective. Daniel Short and Vlastuin are here for the next 3-4 years and the likes of Brown & Trezise showed plenty of good signs both last year and so far this year to suggest they can eventually step in and replace Grimes and Broad in time.

Up forward we have players that divide opinions. First up is Maurice, son of one of our past greats, who hasn't quite hit the heights the name brings with it, but he is still just 21 and is being afforded opportunity at the moment to stake a claim for a long term future, defensively he is quite good, but we need more from him offensively to become a genuine small forward threat. Mansell has fought hard to get himself into the senior side, but hasn't yet convinced anyone that he can be a long term option. Campbell has shown good signs in his first 2 games at the level, but we've seen that before, especially from the next name on the list, Cumberland. Cumberland came in guns blazing and got plenty of fans excited about what could be. Unfortunately Noah hasn't quite come on for reasons that cause plenty of discussion, be it Hardwick screwed with his mind or he hasn't addressed the weaknesses in his game, he needs to find something this season or it could be his last. He has all the talent to become a dangerous medium forward, but he can't just be an attacking weapon. Coulthard is possibly our most natural small forward with a good mix of attack & defensive work, but currently finds himself down the pecking order after and interrupted preseason. Green was recruited as a midfield/defender and has been trained up as a small forward. He has a knack of finding himself in the right spot to hit the scoreboard and works up and down the ground well.

Josh Battle. flipping what?

Swans got ambassador money for Buddy Franklin. How many media commitments did he accomplish?
Do you have an amount ? a link ?
If you believe everything you hear then half the Gold Coast team are getting the 'ambassador money'

but i remember reading somewhere a while ago that is no where near as large as people think and its just supporters that make it bigger than what it actiually is.

Dusty is yesterdays hero and i personally dont think GC are even interested with the list they have

Midfielder​
Midfield/Forward​
Small/Medium Forward​
KPF​
Small/Medium Defender​
KPD​
Ruck​
Under 21​
McAuliffe​
Clarke
Banks​
Campbell
Green​
Fawcett​
Smith
Brown​
Gibcus​
21-23​
Dow
Ross​
Sonsie​
M.Rioli
Coulthard
Cumberland
Mansell​
Bauer
Koschitzke​
Trezise
Ralphsmith​
Ryan
Hayes-Brown​
24-27
Graham
Taranto​
Bolton
Baker​
Balta
Lefau​
D.Rioli​
Miller
Young​
Colina​
28-30
Hopper
McIntosh​
Short
Vlastuin​
Nankervis​
30+
Prestia
Martin​
Pickett​
Lynch​
Broad
Grimes​
Naismith​

Thought something like this may help people gain a better idea about how our list build is currently structured and where the weaknesses are with regarding the type of players that we should be looking at either at the trade/free agency table or in the draft itself.

The first thing that stands out is the lack of young midfield talent. We have Ross Dow Sonsie Banks Clarke & McAuliffe that are 23 or younger, quite simply that just isn't enough, we need more and it needs to be quality both inside and out the square. By putting together a strong young group, they will be able to grow and develop together so that when they hit their peak, they have a good 75-100 games under their belts playing together as a unit and we'll still have the likes of Taranto & Hopper as the leaders of the group. Thankfully we're in a strong position at the draft table to address this area.

The second area that stands out is obviously the KPP/Ruck stocks. Lynch is closer to the end that the peak of his career and while he can still have a few good years leading the forward line we need to find a running mate to partner with Balta(should they leave him forward) for when Lynch is no longer around. Koschitzke hasn't started his time at Richmond well but there is still time, but it's going to need to be a big turn around if he is going to be the answer. Behind Koschitzke is a trio of untried unproven talent. Lefau has excited some in the VFL games, but being honest it's just flashes that we see. He still needs to build consistency to show he can be a possible answer. Bauer has been more consistent than Lefau, but has been missing so far this year so we have no idea where he fits in to Yzes plans until he gets out on the park. Fawcett is even more of a mystery, had track watchers feeling good about him, but is another who we haven't seen yet. So more questions than answers up forward.

Down the other end, there are even more concerns as we've now seen Gibcus missing 2 years of development due to injuries who was going to be the cornerstone of the back line moving forward, Miller has been here for 7 seasons and has managed 25 games without ever really locking himself into the best 22, well as a result of Gibcus going down, Miller now has the chance to step up and become that long term KPD we've been searching for since Rance & Astbury departed. Miller has all the attributes to be a solid KPD, 198cm & 97kg(apparently) has good skills, can take a grab, and has shown calmness and composure down back so far this year in the VFL game. Young is in his second year and has progressed at a remarkable rate since winning a spot on the list in 2022. It would be incredibly handy if both Miller & Young can stand up and fill the void as it would take pressure of Gibcus and allow him to focus on rehabilitation and getting back on the park without thinking it's all up to him.

As far as the rucks go Nankervis and Naismith are a good pairing that should get us through the year without much worry, but behind them Ryan still has lots of question marks, Hayes-Brown is raw as can be and Colina has a bad back that has flared up yet again this year. So we're definitely going to need to add at least a combination of 2-3 KPP/Rucks to the list at seasons end.

The 2 areas that we have good depth at is the small/medium forwards & defenders, with the defenders having shown more class and talent at the moment and is probably the strongest area of the list for us from both a present and future perspective. Daniel Short and Vlastuin are here for the next 3-4 years and the likes of Brown & Trezise showed plenty of good signs both last year and so far this year to suggest they can eventually step in and replace Grimes and Broad in time.

Up forward we have players that divide opinions. First up is Maurice, son of one of our past greats, who hasn't quite hit the heights the name brings with it, but he is still just 21 and is being afforded opportunity at the moment to stake a claim for a long term future, defensively he is quite good, but we need more from him offensively to become a genuine small forward threat. Mansell has fought hard to get himself into the senior side, but hasn't yet convinced anyone that he can be a long term option. Campbell has shown good signs in his first 2 games at the level, but we've seen that before, especially from the next name on the list, Cumberland. Cumberland came in guns blazing and got plenty of fans excited about what could be. Unfortunately Noah hasn't quite come on for reasons that cause plenty of discussion, be it Hardwick screwed with his mind or he hasn't addressed the weaknesses in his game, he needs to find something this season or it could be his last. He has all the talent to become a dangerous medium forward, but he can't just be an attacking weapon. Coulthard is possibly our most natural small forward with a good mix of attack & defensive work, but currently finds himself down the pecking order after and interrupted preseason. Green was recruited as a midfield/defender and has been trained up as a small forward. He has a knack of finding himself in the right spot to hit the scoreboard and works up and down the ground well.
Gibcus is definitely more KPF than KPD at the moment

Would love to get JUH to Richmond

Kid will explode in 2 years time and which ever team he plays for will be the winner

$10 mil over 10 years is a bargain

Happy for us not to get JUH.

He could be a star but our team needs others I think.

We have enough forwards I think at the moment

If we had a great midfield and backline we would be premiership favourites at the moment

Gibcus and Balta we can build around for the next ten years forward, and then there are others to who may develop

Happy for us not to get JUH.

He could be a star but our team needs others I think.

We have enough forwards I think at the moment

If we had a great midfield and backline we would be premiership favourites at the moment

Gibcus and Balta we can build around for the next ten years forward
You can find defenders and mids any where and they dont cost as muck

KPF cost you alot more specially good ones that could be stars of the comp

You can find defenders and mids any where and they dont cost as muck

KPF cost you alot more specially good ones that could be stars of the comp

Disagree, in fact on the Couch I think highlight not to many high quality defenders going around at the moment.

I think you are trying to be Port Adelaide. Jason Horne Francis will be a great player probably but they are in no mans land because they have not shown patience with the list. Hinkley cannot win because the list is not good enough at the right time. Putting the cart before the horse does not put you in the best position to win premierships.

It is very much a team game, a few stars will not get the job done these days, strength is needed in a lot of spots at the right time. Geelong was very lucky, then the Pies where lucky last year when really they should have won in 2022

Teams like Sydney are rising because they have plenty of players rising at the right moment for example, right age, right are in their development while Franklin gone and Parker out let alone Taylor Adams. Not just Heeney.

Look at Essendon with Perkins

So how has the Lions gone getting Neale?? Where they ever close enough?? David King seems to think last year may have been there best chance

I am still looking at midweek tackle program on Foxtel, I would rather get Perkins than JUH for a value play, 188cm, 21years, done

Do you have an amount ? a link ?
If you believe everything you hear then half the Gold Coast team are getting the 'ambassador money'

but i remember reading somewhere a while ago that is no where near as large as people think and its just supporters that make it bigger than what it actiually is.

Dusty is yesterdays hero and i personally dont think GC are even interested with the list they have

They get him as a free agent…. if Dusty is interested GC will take him in a heartbeat.

Wtf type of reasoning is that?

The clubs at the bottom are at the bottom because they don't have gun mature talent to lose. So they are going to be heavily disadvantaged by the Taz team's draft concessions. If the Taz team has to trade some of the really valuable high picks, surely they are more likely to trade them to clubs with stronger lists who are struggling cap space wise.

You can guarantee Geelol will off load Dangerfield to Tassie for pick #1

I'd forget JUH.Cost too much in draft capital and he's not that type of a fwd that would warrant and justify the cost.
Our window is 3yrs away
I'd be getting into Cadmans ear.
Right type Right Time.
Cadman re-signed for two years before the season started I believe.

FMD !!
You are in lala land mate , Go play with your toys and stop wasting bandwidth.

If Dusty wants to stay, the he should just sign the ****ing contract. But he hasn't. why?

Surely he is not asking for heaps more money. He got paid top ****ing dollar for his 4 prime years, then got paid more in the next 4 years where he was lucky to be at 80% of that level, while also playing only 2/3's of the games. They days for "hard tactics" are well and truly over. He is almost 33. Did Cotchin, Riewoldt, Houli Edwards need to "hold off" like this when negotiating their final contract?

The argument of "negotiations" is totally rubbish at this point of his career. A final contract should be a mere formality IF he had any interest in staying. So until i hear he is signing, i am assuming he is here to play his last season.

And if thats the case, i really wish he just left last year & allowed us to get a much needed draft pick back in return, be it only a 2nd rounder even

If Dusty wants to stay, the he should just sign the ******* contract. But he hasn't. why?

Surely he is not asking for heaps more money. He got paid top ******* dollar for his 4 prime years, then got paid more in the next 4 years where he was lucky to be at 80% of that level, while also playing only 2/3's of the games. They days for "hard tactics" are well and truly over. He is almost 33. Did Cotchin, Riewoldt, Houli Edwards need to "hold off" like this when negotiating their final contract?

The argument of "negotiations" is totally rubbish at this point of his career. A final contract should be a mere formality IF he had any interest in staying. So until i hear he is signing, i am assuming he is here to play his last season.

And if thats the case, i really wish he just left last year & allowed us to get a much needed draft pick back in return, be it only a 2nd rounder even
Your a friggen broken record with the sh!t you post

Maybe he wants to retire just to get away from richmond so he can no longer be stalked by **** like you

If Dusty wants to stay, the he should just sign the ******* contract. But he hasn't. why?

Surely he is not asking for heaps more money. He got paid top ******* dollar for his 4 prime years, then got paid more in the next 4 years where he was lucky to be at 80% of that level, while also playing only 2/3's of the games. They days for "hard tactics" are well and truly over. He is almost 33. Did Cotchin, Riewoldt, Houli Edwards need to "hold off" like this when negotiating their final contract?

Because Carr always maxs a contract , with his value as if you’d sign at r2 , from what I’ve seen so far , if he remains fit he’s top 3 in bf and prob top 30 in league ,,,that’s worthy of a considerable contract and possibly tenure ,,,that’s bloody well why !

It's probably most likely to benefit the clubs that have just started their fall. Like us right now, I guess.

We'd be offloading players in the age range of Baker, Short, Graham, Vlastuin, etc. for top picks whereas clubs in North's position don't really have many of these guys left.

It's probably most likely to benefit the clubs that have just started their fall. Like us right now, I guess.

We'd be offloading players in the age range of Baker, Short, Graham, Vlastuin, etc. for top picks whereas clubs in North's position don't really have many of these guys left.

if you are genuinely contending or stuck at rock bottom it will hurt. If you are in between and have enough mature talent you can make hay. If you have talented Tassies, who want o go home to eh new team, then you will get extra hay. Picking tassies might be a great idea in a few years. Or if they are really good it might be a fair bit of immediate hurt for future good.