Tigeronprowl

Draftee
Oct 5, 2004
melbourne
Just a question for anybody who has seen both boys play, is Trent Cotchin a significantly better player than Cyril Rioli. I am asking this because Cyril went at number 12 in the draft and he seems to be an absolute gun. I find it hard to believe that Trent can be a much better player than Cyril. If he is we are onto something really special and exciting (future brownlow medallist to take over the mantle of Chris Judd hopefully). Can anybody shed any light on this.

definitely premature to say one is better than the other right now .... however all the recruiting guys at every club would have rated Cotchin higher than Cyril Rioli.

As we have seen many times in the past, just because we have a lower rated player getting good game time and showing a lot of skills very early in his AFL career does not mean we chose the wrong player. Cotchin unluckily broke his ankle in the U'18 finals last year and it cost his tam a GF berth when they were rated as the best team in the comp with him in the side ... Cotchin has had a very slow recovery to his broken ankle and this is likely to hinder his game time and effectiveness this season as he has not had a pre-season due to all his time in the rehab group.

I personally believe the recruiters, we got the better player .... if memory serves me correct one AFL draft judge believes Cotchin will be the best player in the comp in 5 years .... big call but would love him to be right

ffs, lets not start this shit again! we still hear the whole tambling/deledio/franklin/roughhead bullshit...

and rioli plays for hawthorn, i couldnt live with myself if rioli ended up better than cotchin.

lol

yea, i'de have to say from what i seen he is better, i watched cyril and he is good but cotchin makes you think how the **** did that happen!!!!! al that said he still has to develop tho, but he is a natural!!!!

(but yes it is pre mature)

From a neautral with no bius, both are absolute guns & imo top 5 picks ( should of been). I watched quite abit of 18's carnival & had a chat with some scouts & they firmly believed Rioli was the most talented player in last years draft but had a reputation as being very lazy, Cotchin is just a really professional kid who does all the things nessicery to be a star at the level. Alot of ppl reckon Cotchin will be a gun but they also thought Rioli if he really wanted it has ability to be an absolute superstar, dont piegon whole him as a farmer type either will deffently turn into a midfielder by the time his 22.

Lets just wait until they have played 50 games or so before we start this shit again!:(

Cant help you there, I havent got my crystal ball from the cleaners yet. ;)

Hey I have an idea, how bout we wait for both players to get a season under their belt and then make a judgement? :rolleyes:

Both will be guns but I'm happy with Cotchin. He was widely rated as the best player in the draft but Kreuzer went No.1 because everyone needs ruckmen. Pity he has a degenerative hip injury - which Carlton knew about before they drafted him! And they tanked and cheated to get him. Icing on the cake from last Thursday night.

Have seen Cotchin play for the last 3 years and Tiger fans will not be disappointed, real class. Only problem is he gets injured a lot but when he is on the field will be a plus for you guys. Have only seen Rioli a couple of times but looks very good, still prefer Cotchin. Be patient and enjoy what Trent will bring to your club, not only a good player but a fantastic person as well.

Who can tell really it takes young players 3 to 4 years to show if they are going to be long term stars of the club. Jake King in his 2nd year has only played about 20 games but is 23 and he showed the difference between men and boys playing the game. If he had been drafted at 17 he would probably never have made it.

If Cotchin ends up being in our best in the midfield and plays 200 plus games for us he is a great pick in the draft regardless of who else we missed in the draft.

from the tapes i'v see cotchin will hit a target on either foot and with mate played on him twice last year in tac cup and says he is a ball magnet so im very happy that we got cotchin:D

Whats the update on cotchin? It was reported on the AFL website that he is 4 weeks away with an achilles, but I thought Terry came out a few weeks ago and said he was doing better than expected, and was expected to debut in the vfl within the next couple of weeks.

LMAO at this thread.
Rioli has played 1 senior game. Cotchin zero.
How can one be significantly better than the other? This thread is about three years too early.

If you look closely nobody is actually saying Rioli is better than Cotchin.

The OP said if Cotchin is better than Rioli then we've got an absolute gun on our hands (I agree!), and heaps of people replied saying "not this shit again" because they all missed the point.

Rioli looks like becoming a great player, and for such a talent to drop down to pick 12 then that means Pick 2 in the same draft must be something special :):thumbsu:

Whats the update on cotchin?

They have been quite misleading about Cotchin since the start. They said he is "elligible" to return from Round 3 onwards, but he will return to VFL (reserves at first maybe) and spend 6 to 8 weeks at Coburg increasing game time with fitness.

Trent or another player (forget who) said he is targeted to made his AFL debut about Round 12-14 :thumbsu:

Trent Cotchin / Cyril Rioli