Casey

May 27, 2004
easily my favourite player on the ground last night. love the mans work... and plus his name is fun to write and fun to say!!!

+1

The man & his hair are both legends!!

athlete1.jpg

Long live Luffy!!!

He either dropped it or coughed it up on the disposal ;-)

Love the Luff.

Any copies of the Whitten game on the BT Channel? Would be great to watch it.

Two great memories of Swans games were wondering what Luffy would do next and watching Dunks try to kick a ball!

Good times. :)

I was watching a NSW/ACT v VAFA game on some tv station recently. Swear the Luff was playing. Sent a shiver up the spine. Best name ever.
Yes he did play for the Sydney Footy League against the Vic. Ammos,Matty Robbins from the Bulldogs now playing at Ormond also played in that game.
It was replayed on Foxtel's Arena channel,every Wednesday on Arena at 8.30pm they have a NSW footy show highlighting local footy up there.

I will never forget "The Troy Luff Stand" being placed across the interchange bench at the SCG.

One of the funniest things I have ever seen on a footy field:D

in the 1996 GF he was burning in the 1st 15mins then schwatta smack him in the mouth never seen again that day

Pretty sure it was Craig O'Brien that Schwatta collided with. After that, Schwass - who'd been carved up by Luff early - was moved and started having a positive influence on the game (for North), while Luff wasn't able to dominate his new opponent(s) in the same way as he had been Schwass.

Shwatta got Luffy a ripper of an uppercut to the chin early in the 2nd is what Kangwho is referring to Liz.
Luffy was a gumby who was a legend, can always remember him telling Plugger how to kick at goal after the siren against Essendon in the Prelim.

Maybe some of you who talk to Luffy online;) could PLEASE ASK... about all the Eade sprays he used to get at quarter time... WTF did Eade say... does Luffy remember?

Fair dinkum sometimes the siren would go and a pointing jesticulatin red faced spittin Eade ...hadn't even thought about addressing the team!!!!

He was a gun for a "bittsa" NSW player.....rose wayyyyl above himself or anyones expectations:thumbsu:

Oh and Schwatta has since said it one of the scariest things he has done was to front Luff first training session and apologise.... I read that Luffy said something like

"nah forget it I had better mosy bites up at Nelson Bay than that!"

Luffy BS... he was out for 10secs!!!;)

Sorry fellow Swan supporters, but I thought Luff was one of the biggest duds to ever pull on a Swans jumper!

(Just my opinion)

Sorry fellow Swan supporters, but I thought Luff was one of the biggest duds to ever pull on a Swans jumper!

(Just my opinion)

I'd put it a little more kindly and say he is possibly the least credentialled 150-game player in VFL/AFL history.

He bloody amazed me everytime he went near the ball, he was like the Maxwell Smart of the footy world, bumbled his way through it all!

that is an awesome way to put it. the maxwell smart of the footy world.

i used to love watching him play, but was always very very surprised that he was even allowed onto the field to start with.

my biggest concern was that his form of un-coordination had a high possibility of being contagious ... kinda like leo barry.

+1

The man & his hair are both legends!!

athlete1.jpg

Long live Luffy!!!

Saw a recent bit of TV footage of him in a Sydney match.

If you put him and the guy he marked over together, you would have the current sized Troy Luff.

Luffy isn't even close to the least co-ordinated, bumbliest player to pull on a guernsey for the Swans. His best football was actually very good indeed. He was an excellent mark - possibly only Dunkley, Kelly and Lockett of that era were better than him. On his good days.

But when he was having a bad day (or season), boy was it bad. He was the ultimate in a "confidence player" and the gap between his best and his worst was sizeable. For some reason, after a superb 1997 season (when he vied with Cressa for the runner-up spot, to Kelly, in the Swans B&F) his confidence seemed to desert him completely in 1998. But he then came back again in 1999 and played some pretty good football.

It is players like Luffy who make watching the game fun. We can but marvel at the skill and the consistency of the absolute elite but we sometimes they seem somehow superhuman. The Luffs of this world show the more flawed, human side of the game while still providing lots of entertainment and playing some good footy.

Troy Luff Appreciation society