Jul 16, 2006
down the road
Prahran, Victory, Storm
taking a cue from Archangel17 here's my early projection for 2007 D1

hard to make informed predictions this far out, but for the sake of it here it is

Prahran
Hampton Rovers
Bulleen Temp
Old Geelong
Oakleigh
Therry
Old Mentone
Peninsula
Old Parade
Yarra

very hard to place the bottom five. really I think most sides are capable of being strong contenders, it all depends on whether they get the players they're chasing. and at this level 2-3 can make huge differences.

I look forward to seeing other opinions & please remember it's only for fun

Agreed I think that Prahran will be tough in D1 next year. With Greeny in the middle with Bevan is any midfield that can go with them? Is Sammy Parkinson still at Hampton?

Gday gents.... been awhile?

I have just been released from the mental asylum post round 18 debacle vs Rupo... Anyway dr said I need to get a life. Probably right- so straight back to big footy (not sure if that is what the dr ment)!

Will enjoy the new thread - last year was a ripper.

hampton without injuries would make finals in C section if everything goes well down there this the rovers should be well and truly a top 2 side!

Recent history would indicate it's the teams going up that will make a bigger impact than the sides going down. Of the last four teams to be promoted to D1, two are already in C Grade and the other two would be two of the favourites going in to 2007. Of the last four teams to drop from C grade, three have already dropped to D2 and the other team didn't exactly set the D1 world on fire last year. Might be a bit tougher than you think in D1...

See that Wise, Chivers, Bain, Florance and Waters are all playing in the NTFL...

Will these guys back up for 3 seasons back-to-back with BT in 2007?

CU - we hope so. Word is that Wise and Chivers are dominating up there. Will be a tough ask for them to play 60 odd games straight but both are super fit blokes.

I agree that Prahan will be hard to toss. I have heard that Old Paradians have had some big guns on the track. Rumour has it that Boundy trained on Monday night and that Porteous has only missed one session. If these two play Old Paradians will be hard to beat. It seems to be a pretty open season. Let the speculation begin.

Rumours are that OP will still lose a few senior players around the 28-30 yo.. experienced regulars, however may be good for them to get some young blood into side. The biggest test for most sides this year will be depth. On last years' teams , it appears only Bulleen -Temp and OGS can boast any real depth, though you could maybe include Oakleigh in this. At the same time, we all know BT has an ageing list and a promising set of juniors, where they will be tested is in the middle group, the 21-28 set.OGs have depth, but some of this is false depth as some strong ressies dont play seniors. Oakleigh are coming up a grade , so they will need to lift to a new level. On face value all teams appear to have a very talented group of key players, and teams which stay relatively injury free, or can recruit those extra 5-10 mid level players will be those that end up on top. I can see no reason that our tips for the wooden spoon, couldnt end up on top, or vice versa, under the right circumstances

I agree that Prahan will be hard to toss. I have heard that Old Paradians have had some big guns on the track. Rumour has it that Boundy trained on Monday night and that Porteous has only missed one session. If these two play Old Paradians will be hard to beat. It seems to be a pretty open season. Let the speculation begin.

Sorry to be a party pooper. but Parade are gone. Boundy has been training with St Bernards for a month and they will need much more than porteous to be competitive. My mail is that they are in total disarray and they will struggle big time in d1. No Boundy for sure. They simply refused to play kids last year and will pay the price in 2007.

Double drop for sure.

Sorry to be a party pooper. but Parade are gone. Boundy has been training with St Bernards for a month and they will need much more than porteous to be competitive. My mail is that they are in total disarray and they will struggle big time in d1. No Boundy for sure. They simply refused to play kids last year and will pay the price in 2007.

Double drop for sure.

Over as usual you tend to exaggerate, just like your quotes at the start of the year that Reds were "over the line" in 2006.

Boundy has trained at OP's twice and has spent nearly all of his time training at Preston. He will either play at Preston, OP or in the Diamond Valley. Definitely will not be going to St Bernards and has not been training there for a month!!!

Boundy has trained at OP's twice and has spent nearly all of his time training at Preston. He will either play at Preston, OP or in the Diamond Valley. Definitely will not be going to St Bernards and has not been training there for a month!!![/quote]

This information is correct. I have a mate out Bundoora way who can confirm that Boundy trained with him on Monday night. The other word he gave me is that Heffernan is a massive chance to return as is Dallas. Both former B and F winners I believe. Not sure how true this one is but he is pretty confident.

Over as usual you tend to exaggerate, just like your quotes at the start of the year that Reds were "over the line" in 2006.

Boundy has trained at OP's twice and has spent nearly all of his time training at Preston. He will either play at Preston, OP or in the Diamond Valley. Definitely will not be going to St Bernards and has not been training there for a month!!!

And your predcitions Oldtimer were......? Easy to make none then you are never wrong. Let's hear some from you and we'll see how right you are in 12 months. Yes my prediction proved a little astray but it won't in 2007.
I repeat, boundy has been training at St bernards and the only other possibility is Eltham who have offered him plenty. My housemate has been training with him at bernards!!

I await some predictions oldtimer. Parade for the double drop. They need to realise the way ahead is with their young players not the tired old warhorses.

Simple fact- Boundy trained at Parade on Monday night. I dont know where he was previous to this but he trained at Parade Monday Night

And your predcitions Oldtimer were......? Easy to make none then you are never wrong. Let's hear some from you and we'll see how right you are in 12 months. Yes my prediction proved a little astray but it won't in 2007.
I repeat, boundy has been training at St bernards and the only other possibility is Eltham who have offered him plenty. My housemate has been training with him at bernards!!

I await some predictions oldtimer. Parade for the double drop. They need to realise the way ahead is with their young players not the tired old warhorses.

My predictions are that:

1) Boundy will not play at Bernards or Eltham.

2) Parade won't make the double drop!

My predictions are that:

1) Boundy will not play at Bernards or Eltham.

2) Parade won't make the double drop!

Gee, really going out on a limb there oldtimer!

Obviously not prepared to make any sort of origianal prediction of your own, as then you might be wrong!

Boundy may well have trained Monday with Parade but he had been at bernards for the previous month! Even if he plays they are in big trouble as Hughes and Dean both going as well. They have dropped two grades in three years for a reason.

Boundy may well have trained Monday with Parade but he had been at bernards for the previous month! Even if he plays they are in big trouble as Hughes and Dean both going as well. They have dropped two grades in three years for a reason.[/quote]

Hughes is definetly leaving but Dean is staying at Parade, The return of Pratt from overseas will also be a bonus for them. With Boundy (if he plays) , Porteous, Dallas and possibly Heffernan they will be hard to beat. Add there young kids from their 19s and I think they will be straight back to C with Prahan. My first tips are Prahan and Old Paradians to play off in D grade Grand Final.

My second prediction. A fit Porteous to kick 100 goals and win the goalkicking.

Boundy may well have trained Monday with Parade but he had been at bernards for the previous month! Even if he plays they are in big trouble as Hughes and Dean both going as well. They have dropped two grades in three years for a reason.

Hughes is definetly leaving but Dean is staying at Parade, The return of Pratt from overseas will also be a bonus for them. With Boundy (if he plays) , Porteous, Dallas and possibly Heffernan they will be hard to beat. Add there young kids from their 19s and I think they will be straight back to C with Prahan. My first tips are Prahan and Old Paradians to play off in D grade Grand Final.[/quote]

lets settle this now.

hughes gone
prat back
porteous ?
dean gone
boundy gone

go bulls !
The turtles look forward to the local derby in 2009

My sources at AXA have informed me that they witnessed Porteous eating a Marsbar yesterday, hardly the type of food to get fitness back ! ! !

Seriously though, this is what I have heard from various sources.

Boundy (still Captain), GAWN, has been training at a hundred different clubs. Looking for best price perhaps ? ?
Porteous is a chance, has missed a few trainings but has the body of an 80 year old. Hope he is refreshed after a year off. Hard grounds wont help.
Heffernan staying at Heidelberg, so rumour has it. Why would he leave?

My contacts inform me Parade are a young rebuilding side this year with some usual old timers in the mix. Should never count them out !

Mad.....Am.

My sources at AXA have informed me that they witnessed Porteous eating a Marsbar yesterday, hardly the type of food to get fitness back ! ! !

Seriously though, this is what I have heard from various sources.

Boundy (still Captain), GAWN, has been training at a hundred different clubs. Looking for best price perhaps ? ?
Porteous is a chance, has missed a few trainings but has the body of an 80 year old. Hope he is refreshed after a year off. Hard grounds wont help.
Heffernan staying at Heidelberg, so rumour has it. Why would he leave?

My contacts inform me Parade are a young rebuilding side this year with some usual old timers in the mix. Should never count them out !

Mad.....Am.
Monty are still offering the best price for Boundy, desperate to get him.

He's still OP's skipper, pretty sure he'll be remembered as the captain that took them to the lowest grade in clubs history, then left ! !

Perhaps he still has something to prove. For Parades sake lets hope so ! !

Still early days.

I didn't realise Boundy was Captain. Surely a Captain wouldn't walk out on his club when they need him most.