Roast Vent Here

We have plenty of 1st rounders who aren’t standing up. For example Jackson is a pick 3 who’s had an extra 3 years of development on Ashcroft and I’ve yet to see him impact a big game in the way Ashcroft did yesterday.

And Lohmann who was taken pick 20 in 2021. In that draft we took Erasmus at pick 10 who can’t get a game, and Johnson at pick 21 who doesn’t hold a candle to Lohmann.
There was a lot of whooping and hollering the night of that 2021 draft on this board. Talk of dynasties etc.
much of it was driven by the fact we had drafted 3 west Australians in the top 21. Exciting yes, but 3 years on only one of them is a certainly to play 200 games, injury permitting.

Most fans now on here would happily offer Erasmus or MJ as trade bait to help get an established player in, less than three years on from that draft, without a second thought.

Amiss - pick 8 ✅
Erasmus - pick 10 ❓
Johnson - pick 21 ❓

The real winner that night was Brisbane with Lohmann at pick 20 and Wilmot at pick 16. Wilmot in particular is grossly underrated by the national media. He’s an absolute gun.

Never get too excited by names on draft night. Most people here are already emotionally too attached to WA talent before they have even kicked a ball at AFL level.

I’m convinced it’s a Perth location thing.
220 games out of Perth has the same toll on the body as 300 plus out of Melbourne.

It’s not much different across town at Lathlain.

And that’s been the case for many years now, it’s not a recent phenomenon.
There are a few exceptions to the rule but not many.
Im not sure this is the case.
Melbourne are the oldest club and have x2 players playing 300+. Neitz at 306 the highest. Only 8 players have played 250+.
We have x2 at 300+
Geelong have 6 at 300+. They're the other 'oldest club'.
We heavily recruited mature players in our formative years. The draft was a different beast then.

I’m convinced it’s a Perth location thing.
220 games out of Perth has the same toll on the body as 300 plus out of Melbourne.

It’s not much different across town at Lathlain.

And that’s been the case for many years now, it’s not a recent phenomenon.
There are a few exceptions to the rule but not many.
Travel is a killer. Look how long it took for the Yellas to get a 300 game player. And they were in the competition 8 years before us.
And then have a look at the South Aussie teams. A five minute plane ride to Melbourne against a four hour flight.
I reckon flying from WA takes a good two seasons off players.
AND, they fly us all over the Nation to play.

Afl said the other day that they will look at limiting our travel to Tassie. Not sure if that is only until the Tassie team come in. Would prefer a game in Alice when Tassie come in. Would be best for both sides.

Stop us going to Tassie, but more than likely send us to DArwin twice.
They have also promised us other thing over the Gather round this year, but will deliver us SFA.Of that you can be sure.

Stop us going to Tassie, but more than likely send us to DArwin twice.
They have also promised us other thing over the Gather round this year, but will deliver us SFA.Of that you can be sure.
Don't expect anything. The only thing they are likely to do from here is water down the non Northern NGA's to the point where they are useless. The changes to the bidding system seem a little weak and still give the Northern club a huge advantage. Although not evenly so. Guess we will find out once it comes into play.

Im not sure this is the case.
Melbourne are the oldest club and have x2 players playing 300+. Neitz at 306 the highest. Only 8 players have played 250+.
We have x2 at 300+
Geelong have 6 at 300+. They're the other 'oldest club'.
We heavily recruited mature players in our formative years. The draft was a different beast then.
I’ve no hard numbers to back it up but it seems that a lot of WA based AFL players have their best footy behind them at 30 years of age.
Leaving aside the total games played thing for a moment. For example fyfes last 40 games or so have been completely unrecognisable from his peak when he was averaging one Brownlow vote a game.

Of course there are good exceptions like Mundy, Hurn, Pavlich, Josh Kennedy, but off the top of my head guys like

Fyfe
Walters
Shuey
Gaff
Stephen Hill
Darling
Naitanui
Yeo

Played at All Australian level or close to if from their early 20s to around age 29/30.

All have played games post 30 years of age in a fragmented manner, battling constant injuries and setbacks and are in truth, pale shadows of the players they were.

Other teams based in Melbourne don’t seem to have 30 yo plus players drop off as dramatically. I can’t help but agree with anchor man that the long travel is a factor in career longevity.

Only think is that you’d hope sport science advances will help players like Andy and Caleb and the likes to get more out their peak careers than the guys listed above though better practices.

Neither Tassie nor Freo would have the full travel. Meet half way. The Afl need to give us an extra home game as well.

So both teams benefit by losing a home game? Come on, mate. That makes no sense at all.

Don't expect anything. The only thing they are likely to do from here is water down the non Northern NGA's to the point where they are useless. The changes to the bidding system seem a little weak and still give the Northern club a huge advantage. Although not evenly so. Guess we will find out once it comes into play.
If the bidding process was fair and a genuine price had to be paid to match a bid, many clubs would pass on the bid and not match.
That practically never happens. That alone - tells you it’s a broken system.

Roast Vent Here