- Sep 13, 2013
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
- Other Teams
- Juventus
That is the trade off. Vic teams have less away gameS for less home games.But they then also don’t have as many away games, That’s no trade off.
If you shift it to Marvel stadium I am on board.For me the biggest issue is the fact that some clubs play a lot of their games @ the Grand Final venue..and this becomes a huge advantage if one of those teams gets to the GF against an interstate club.....so if you cant shift the home of the GF....shift some of those tennant clubs around a bit more...
You don't think 12 games in NSW an advantage?But they then also don’t have as many away games, That’s no trade off.
It isn’t changing as we aren’t going to 2 Victorian clubs but let’s not make up advantages.
Really? Care to provide some evidence for that claim?A bad argument though. Statistics prove that even Docklands tenants have an advantage at the MCG over a non-Victorian team.
But they then also don’t have as many away games, That’s no trade off.
It isn’t changing as we aren’t going to 2 Victorian clubs but let’s not make up advantages.
So now it is larger stadiums that is the criteria?If the grand final were rotated among the larger stadiums, then it would be to the unquestionable promotion of the code in the "other" states. Does the AFL really care about the wider interests of the code ?
Really? Care to provide some evidence for that claim?
I'm not saying that it's fair, it's clearly not...
But the unfair aspects where in place before these teams joined, it's not new...
And no one has told me a solution of where Vic clubs should play away games against other Vic clubs to make the comp "fairer"....
So apart from the GF being held at the G, instead of being shared around say like the Superbowl, or the higher team hosting it, what else could the AFL do to make it fairer....?
I actually saidIf you shift it to Marvel stadium I am on board.
Oh, sorry, what's that? You mean move it to WA.
How silly of me.
GF at Marvel (or anywhere else really) when a MCG Tennant club meets an interstate team would be better.If you shift it to Marvel stadium I am on board.
Oh, sorry, what's that? You mean move it to WA.
How silly of me.
If the grand final were rotated among the larger stadiums, then it would be to the unquestionable promotion of the code in the "other" states. Does the AFL really care about the wider interests of the code ?
Your graph does not show that Marvel teams perform better at the MCG, as you stated. In fact it looks like they don't do very well at all away from their home ground.Happy to
Footy Forensics: Does home ground advantage still exist?
A spate of upsets have left many of us pondering whether or not home ground advantage is still a thing in the AFL. It's time to answer that question.www.espn.com
The stats are a few years old but you get the idea nonetheless.
No worries boomer.The AFL wants the non-Victorian teams in the competition. They are even fine with non-Victorian teams doing well enough to get deep in the finals, they would just prefer it if at the end of the day a Victorian team won.
Your graph does not show that Marvel teams perform better at the MCG, as you stated. In fact it looks like they don't do very well at all away from their home ground.
The horse (WA) had already bolted by that time, the battle was already lost.You’re not wrong, but I’m sure you’re aware of what forced South Australia into making an unnecessarily hasty entry...
That is the trade off. Vic teams have less away gameS for less home games.
Yet more bizarre left field issues to consider:
Since the year 2000 only four of the number one Draft Picks have not been of
pure blood or NAB/TAC base origin.
Nick Riewoldt- Southport Sharks
Adam Cooney- West Adelaide
Bryce Gibbs- Glenelg
David Swallow- East Fremantle
2019 National Draft (The Fortunate 65)
TAC/NAB Cup- 35/65 = 53.85%
WAFL- 14/65 = 21.54%
SANFL- 10/65 = 15.38%
Northern Academies- 4/65 = 6.15%
VFL- 1/65 = 1.54%
Scotch OC- 1/65 = 1.54%
Western Australia did win the championships so this may reflect their second
prize in the beauty contest, but will this shameful Victorian Bias ever end it
seems to be every where you look.
You don't think 12 games in NSW an advantage?
How about theseHome ground advantage is crowds, that's it.
GF day the crowds split. I'd love to hear about all the other magical advantages
Mate, what is racism? Don't you know the rules in 1987 when we joined the comp. Wogs, nips, n-words , certain brand of cheese. Its all good. Why change?This is the football equivalent of "I'm not racist, but".
I think if the 10% per player is applied by say the league rather than the clubs, it can't be manipulated. I think in Sydneys case, they used the COLA allowance for the whole squad to lure two or three players with the extra cashBut you didn't really address the concern I had--- how do you prevent AFL clubs using this as an additional 10% within the salary cap (as seen with the Swans with Tippett/Franklin in the early 2010's). Clubs could just recruit mostly players from other states & then offer them 10% less than they normally would (ie. less than what other clubs could offer them in a trade/FA) but use the extra 10% allowance to make the amount the same/slightly higher.
As I said in my last post-- great in theory, difficult in practice as clubs will always try to maximise potential loop holes in situations.
So how do you plan for that, if effectively, you don't know who is playing until 1 week before?I actually said
GF at Marvel (or anywhere else really) when a MCG Tennant club meets an interstate team would be better.
Check out Carltons draw last year, we would love 11 games at the one venue.Less than, 16 or whatever it is,games in Victoria for Victorians