Strapping Young Lad
- Apr 19, 2006
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #2,360
Apparently both Channel 7 and 9 down at Waverley today asking businesses how a move to Dingley will affect them.
The Clayton tip. That's where they buried all the old 'Blue' trains that were full of asbestos...lovely.
The issue I see with putting a boutique stadium at this facility is transport and parking.
If we built a 25,000 seat stadium at Dingley, the nearest stations are Westall and Springvale - a good 4km from the ground. That's not great and would mean most people would drive. Future freeway links have the potential to be excellent but that then means we would need to build a carpark to accomodate around 14-16,000 cars - a large chunk of our land.
I don't think that's what this development is about.
I reckon this will be our base that will allow us to grow but it will always be an administrative and training facility. Nothing more.
But it gives us the space to make it whatever we want. Two grounds, indoor training, swimming pools, gym, altitude chambers, running tracks, accomodation, huge administration, Hawks Nest shop, adequate parking for players and supporters - all in absolute privacy.
And as the land around us gets turned into housing - our land value goes through the roof.
Then we get the AFL to build us a boutique stadium.
All I'm suggesting is that nothing be ruled out.
Sure, we envisage a training base, and better access for fans. Simples. In time, we can (WILL!)have all the things you mention and more. Looking beyond that .... dare to dream a little. I'm quite blown away by some of the indoor facilities, the future possibilities mentioned above by Cryptor. These sort of things seem pie in the sky, but I don't think we can safely rule anything out. Ever. In 20 years, if than means converting the outdoor training venue to a VFL ready ground, I don't see why we wouldn't pursue. And if it developed from there towards a boutique stadium ... Guess things will develop as the club requires, and members support allows.
Transport issues? Parking issues? I don't think it ever stopped people getting to Waverley back in the day. And this will be closer to transport corridors. And if people are prepared to put up with the traffic, then queue forever to get into the potato field that is the MCG carpark. I don't even consider them issues.
I can't see anything but exciting times ahead.
Yeah Ok, I'm with that. And once that's sorted, the sky is the limit.Giddyup!Yeah I agree but just reading between the lines today, this facility (at this point in time) will only be a training facility.
I see your point but I reckon if I lived in there and wasn't a Hawk supporter or even a footy follower (which I'm sure many aren't) that it would be very frustrating if my driveway was parked in or someone double parked in the side street where I parked my car. Plenty of people might be retired or working from home and if they've gone out and then come home and then can't even park in their estate area let alone outside their own home then I can understand they'd be pissed off.I must say I support the clubs aspirations in terms of making it more fan friendly/accessible. I usually only go out to Waverly a couple of times a year and the parking is hopeless. The whole set up where we are not able to park in the sides streets for training during GF week is ridiculous. I realise there is some agreement in place with the local residents about this but it's really silly, after all we are talking about a few hours on a weekday morning once a year only if the team makes it to the GF - how much inconvenience could it really cause for the residents! They even employ security people to make sure no one does actually park there, totally OTT and a cost I'm sure they (we!) could do without.
The Age has given us thumbs down, Jason Dowling, journo, the article is headedl:
What a Dump: The History of the Hawks New Base:
We have so many positive journalists that write about us.
I don't know why they dislike our club! Success is a failure according to some
Newbold certainly didn't rule it out.Everyone please stop suggesting a boutique stadium and playing games there. Will not happen.
They built a whole Olympics precinct on the same type of land in Homebush circa 1994.If it is landfill it will be tricky with what type of structures can be built over. I would has at a guess a stadium is not possible. These types of landfill are rarely compacted to 'build over' standards. That's why the land price figure is 8million.
They built a whole Olympics precinct on the same type of land in Homebush circa 1994.
1 stadium wouldn't be a problem.
We're getting closer and closer to Tassie
All of it?We'll be on Phillip Island in 200 years time!
niceAll of it?
Probably... but our donations will actually go to the development... not legal billswill hawthorn have a similar thing like Essendon have, ( flight plan ) where people can donate to the club to help pay for the New stadium
Sorry, I shouldn't laugh but "has at a guess" is right up there with "proper gander" and "escape goat".If it is landfill it will be tricky with what type of structures can be built over. I would has at a guess a stadium is not possible. These types of landfill are rarely compacted to 'build over' standards. That's why the land price figure is 8million.