Toast Welcome Lewis Jetta

Four weeks in the WAFL.

Regardless of whether he kills it needs a message sent to him that you aren't here to collect your retirement fund and jog about looking for easy possessions all day. Was utterly disgraceful today and needs to earn the right to wear our colours.

Drop.

Is fat.

Seriously, for a skinny bloke, where has that pot gut come from? For me, he is treating this move home like a move into a retirement village. Put in the WAFL because the way he has presented himself to play and the way he has played, bar one game, has been appalling.

Jetta, the new Priddis?
He's not even 1/10th of a player that Priddis is. Which is a shame, as he is probably more naturally talented. More like a poor-man's LeCras

9 touches
1 measly contested possession
ZERO tackles

And he is meant to stay in? No. Effing. Way.

This is a litmus test for Simpson. Is he just a tough talker, or does he keep someone in the side based on reputation alone?

I'm looking at the glass half full here to back simpson. Golden opportunity to say to the team loud and clear, irrespective of reputation, this type of performance that will not be tolerated. Make the call, send jetta to the wafl and send the team a loud, clear, message

Yeah 1 contested possession and zero tackles.

Damning stat.

I really thought the comp was moving away from these sorts of guys...not good enough to look silky, have a burst of speed from the contest, and do the occasional bit of 'magic', flashy handballs and running pick ups etc, but then do sweet bugger all hard stuff, duck contests, refuse to tackle, piss weak on the training track etc etc.....thought we expected more these days, IE - look at Cyril Rioli...might not get a million touches, but he works hard, puts on pressure, and does all the mercurial things we love about the way they play footy.

No room for lazy, entitled, lairising, bludgers who are scared off the contest, and think a couple of show pony moments and a snap from the boundary pulled out of there arse somehow makes them an elite AFL footballer.

And shame on the media for reinforcing it.

Is he fully fit though - maybe his calf injury is still bothering him (having had one myself which was a b**** to get on top of).

Yeah even if he isn't fully fit, body language still screaming lack of effort and fear like a foghorn.

Tough call, but I think we should persist. The whole team is out of form at the moment. I don't mean on an individual level, they are not gelling or playing for each other. It's not the fault of any one player, it's everybody. What is the solution? Start dropping guys? Whoever we bring in is going to struggle just as much. The players have the skills. Jetta looks good with ball in hand. The focus needs to be on team performance. Hopefully we can build some confidence... Then we will look like a different team, and individuals will lift. Jetta included.

But the bloke is like Maverick in Top Gun after Goose got his spine smashed through the back of his neck going out the ejector seat.....scared, paralysed and refusing to engage.

You can't have a bloke out there who may as well have a tattoo on his head saying I am terrified of physical contact, scared of getting hurt, and refuse to go for the footy.

Lazy is one thing, but this guy fair dinkum looked cowardly today.

Can't have that wearing an Eagles jumper.

An insult to too many blokes like John Worsfold, Brett Heady, Tommy Kemp, Beau Waters etc etc etc

May as well be taking a dump on all those blokes if you put Jetta out there next week.

Irresponsible to him, and disrespectful to the footy club.

At least Lycett is coming along well. Each week he's getting better, taking big marks forward and kicking goals. He does well in the ruck and holds his own and at 23 he will only get better.

We aren't missing Sinclair.
They can keep Sinclair too, we can give them back Jetta for some twisties.

Im usually optimistic about any new player coming to the club.

Never wanted this pea heart ever. Nothing surer he would fail.
Predictable, predictable, predictable.
An absolute embarrassment to our jumper

And he indirectly cost us Rosa :mad::mad::mad:

And posters comparing pea heart to Priddis....CLUELESS

Then drop him to the WAFL and when he's get 30 touches and running both ways he can come back.
I'm all for dropping him.
Been disappointing all year

I'm all for dropping him.
Been disappointing all year

Drop him where?

Auskick?

The bloke overtly refuses to put himself in a situation where he may receive physical contact from another player (opposition or teammate).

Never seen as clear a display of cowardice and inertia under fire on an AFL footy field.

Just for interest: Dean Laidley 184 cm 77 kg; Lewis Jetta 181 cm 76kg.

You don't have to be a Mac truck to tackle.

Nope.

Having a willingness to at least try too is the main thing.

Seen plenty of little blokes go hard on a footy field because they don't give a shit....being prepared to get hurt and feel pain and be injured is determined between the ears, and clearly Jetta doesn't have that in him.

No shame in it, plenty of men are afraid of fighting and pain and avoid sports involving physical contact etc.

But to have a bloke out there for us who is plainly frightened to be playing against men, to the point he completely freezes and avoids putting himself in a situation where he risks being part of a contest unless he is on his own in a paddock of space....that's just not on.

Someone should play him the footage of Daniel Kerr bouncing back after the G Train fended him off, and tackling him over the boundary at Etihad.

Then say "Lewis....ask yourself honestly, are you willing to at least try to do that?".

Watch his eyes drop at that point.

Once he has finished crying give him a pat on the back, a handshake and a job working with the Eagles community and school programmes.

Best thing for all concerned in my opinion

I was a huge advocate of Jetta because of the damage he can do with uncontested ball.

I think I've since learned that there's no such thing as uncontested hurt factor at AFL level, because there's generally no such thing as uncontested footy.

I really thought Jetta would play with more drive and intensity now that he's playing for the side he barracked for, but judging by his body language he doesn't really want to play footy right now

Toast Welcome Lewis Jetta