Player Watch Charlie West

His grandad, Wayne Jackson, was actually pretty supportive of the Bulldogs. He established the 'Competitive Balance Fund', which helped prop up the smaller clubs like the Dogs.
It's Jackson's predecessor, Ross Oakley, that tried to merge Footscray out of business. I remember the 'Up yours Oakley' bumper stickers in the Dogs colours.

Only IF Fitzroy lasted a few more years they could have Survived and still be in the comp Today

Just feels like he has the potential to get to the jeremy cameron physique. I understand it is a lofty expectation, but he really looks like he can carry some serious size as he matures.
Solid up top with chicken legs?

Nah, others are right, his physique screams Jonathan Brown.

Solid up top with chicken legs?

Nah, others are right, his physique screams Jonathan Brown.
Those chicken legs have torn us a new one on multiple occassions, so not the worst thing in the world.
Having said that, jono brown comparison is no small thing either.

Either way, he looks like someone who should finally give us the monster athletic fwd we craved since t cloke.

Those chicken legs have torn us a new one on multiple occassions, so not the worst thing in the world.
Having said that, jono brown comparison is no small thing either.

Either way, he looks like someone who should finally give us the monster athletic fwd we craved since t cloke.

Think you're forgetting a certain bloke after Cloke...

5a0eac4ed2a06bce2e205206e169132c

No one is saying that Jeremy Cameron isn't good, but the physique comparison is ridiculous because West will never have that type of build.

TBH I don't know why people are going so overboard with the comparisons.

He could be a Dan McStay type and we would all be happy with that.

No one is saying that Jeremy Cameron isn't good, but the physique comparison is ridiculous because West will never have that type of build.

Bit presumptuous of you to say that. Only time will tell us what he will grow into, we are just merely speculating, no one is talking in absolute terms . No need to get worked up over little things.

He just looks like someone who can carry some serious size.

Bit presumptuous of you to say that. Only time will tell us what he will grow into, we are just merely speculating, no one is talking in absolute terms . No need to get worked up over little things.

It was just an odd physical comparison. Cochran is more like Cameron's body type.

His grandad, Wayne Jackson, was actually pretty supportive of the Bulldogs. He established the 'Competitive Balance Fund', which helped prop up the smaller clubs like the Dogs.
It's Jackson's predecessor, Ross Oakley, that tried to merge Footscray out of business. I remember the 'Up yours Oakley' bumper stickers in the Dogs colours.
True! Got my CEOs mixed up.

It's just completely a different body type - Charlie is bottom heavy, Cameron is barrel chested with long chicken legs.

Charlie could get on roids and get unnaturally massive and he'd still never have the same build as Jeremy Cameron.

Much like Joel Cochrane will never have the build of Jeremy McGovern, because they're completely different shapes.

Totally agree. People are going way overboard with comparisons here. These guys are very late speculative picks. We are just falling in love with them because they are new players, we are selectively overlooking the fact that no other club wanted them when they had the chance (several times).

Who's to say how they turn out?
It's not beyond the the realms of possibility that Charlie could turn out like Nick Larkey, who was pick 73 in the 2016 draft.
He has some good physical and footy attributes.
Let's just give him a chance.

It's not beyond the the realms of possibility that Charlie could turn out like Nick Larkey, who was pick 73 in the 2016 draft.
I'm going out on a limb and say that Charlie will play some senior footy next year. I reckon he'll end up a ripper

It’s really not. Nothing about Wests build screams Cameron, they’re very different body types.

As an aside, Cameron really isn’t all that big in key forward terms, so this talk about serious size is confusing. His last recorded playing weight was 94kg, which isn’t overly big for a key forward, and it’s why he’s not really regarded as a contested type key forward.
Brown’s playing weight on the other hand was 103kg. Very solid man, big quads. Similar but slightly bigger, to McStay whose last recorded playing weight was 99kg. Judging by Wests body type that’s the sort of physique he’ll end up with. It’s actually very easy to see if you look properly.

As fly says it is just a number. doesn't matter if you are pick 15 or pick 50, who you become once you step inside a club is up to you and everyone is equal.
Let these kids shine like diamonds.

As fly says it is just a number. doesn't matter if you are pick 15 or pick 50, who you become once you step inside a club is up to you and everyone is equal.
Let these kids shine like diamonds.

After they get to Club People who care about where they are Picked are outside the Club with Fans and Media

Gee whiz watching him kick for goal in that you tube clip of the draftees has me very excited. Would love to see him crash some packs in match sim when they get to it, get physical, step on some toes and make our backs get back to 2023 level.

Who is our forwards coach this year? Get to work!

It’s really not. Nothing about Wests build screams Cameron, they’re very different body types.

As an aside, Cameron really isn’t all that big in key forward terms, so this talk about serious size is confusing. His last recorded playing weight was 94kg, which isn’t overly big for a key forward, and it’s why he’s not really regarded as a contested type key forward.
Brown’s playing weight on the other hand was 103kg. Very solid man, big quads. Similar but slightly bigger, to McStay whose last recorded playing weight was 99kg. Judging by Wests body type that’s the sort of physique he’ll end up with. It’s actually very easy to see if you look properly.
Either way, if West becomes a poor mans Brown or Cameron, we will have made off like bandits at the pick he was taken.

Player Watch Charlie West