Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn - Conor Nash. Extends to 2029!

I mark him against his output. He's a project player doing a decent job trying to find his feet at this level.

But he's been called an elite midfielder in here. Bontempelli, Oliver, Fyfe, Walsh, Wines, Petracca, Martin, Macrae, etc are elite midfielders.

We don't even know if Nash is a midfielder yet.

He is not elite and nobody should be calling him that yet.
He has some attributes that suggest he could be in time...but he has a long way to go.

And lastly i do think bad coaches need to take alot more of the blame for not developing the talent.
they all look for wins and sometimes if you aren't performing you could be on the "outs" with the coach.
Kennedy might now thrive under Voss.
Conor might thrive under Sam.
Clarko didnt have a lot of patience when it came to the kids.
Buckley had a poor reputation for developing the kids.
Maybe this new era of coaches has opened the window and let some fresh air in.
Develop your kids instill confidence in them and you will get quick reward.

Sure he played his role on Sunday - but it's a role barely anyone can fill. There's not many zippy almost 2M players who can pinch hit in the ruck and impose themselves in the clearances while being fairly reliable with their disposal. He's not at Luke Jackson's level by any stretch - but he is the closest thing we have got to it and if he keeps developing as he has under Sammy it will be fun to watch.

7 tackles and 23 pressure acts on Sunday - and all 10 touches were effective and 5 were score involvements. Much better game than some are willing to give him credit for.

Sure he played his role on Sunday - but it's a role barely anyone can fill. There's not many zippy almost 2M players who can pinch hit in the ruck and impose themselves in the clearances while being fairly reliable with their disposal. He's not at Luke Jackson's level by any stretch - but he is the closest thing we have got to it and if he keeps developing as he has under Sammy it will be fun to watch.

7 tackles and 23 pressure acts on Sunday - and all 10 touches were effective and 5 were score involvements. Much better game than some are willing to give him credit for.
His hard to stop to, so hurts the opposition first but then manages to start building into the game, valuable player on any team

Clarko didnt have a lot of patience when it came to the kids.

Clarko won a flag in 2008 with a very young list. Sure, later on you had to earn your spot by playing well at box hill, but he wasn't a coach that lacked runs on the board in terms of developing a great team around promising kids.

He is not elite and nobody should be calling him that yet.
He has some attributes that suggest he could be in time...but he has a long way to go.

Well there is one guy in here who is a premature ejaculator. And this is what i am taking issue with.

Nash as a midfielder would be closed to elite too.
Exciting times ahead.

I mean, seriously?

Nobody has called him elite.
Yet.
But I reckon he'll be a great ruck rover. 6 games in.
Not 60, 6.

You seem to have the memory of a goldfish.

You do know that it is ok for Hawks fans to temper expectations? FFS, I never even said he played badly or was a bad player yet there are people who have jumped in here and had a dip because a Hawk fan has dared to shine some perspective on a 10 possession game. No wonder so many great contributors have deserted this place. There is no room for constructive discussion anymore.

Nash is a project player who is yet to cement a position or a spot in our rather ordinary team.

Let's be a bit more realistic about what he is right now.

We are not a destination club anymore.
We haven't been able to attract a big name for awhile now.
The club will need to go find players that aren't superstars and develop them.
This is the case with Conor.
Matthew Kennedy was a player we went after.
has played 62 games on big money at Blues.
been very ordinary...takes this long to payback the blues with a great game last week.
Conor has played 30games & not on huge dollars compared to Kennedy.
I'de still take Conor with the upside he brings.

Not disagreeing with any of that mate. Not a word of it.

Nor am I spunking my load because a guy got 3 hitouts and laid a few tackles on the weekend. Personally I was more excited by the run of Newcombe and Maguinness late in the game and the guy who will be elite, if he isn't already, the man Jiath.

Stats are unlikely to ever do his games justice. We just seem to function better when he is around stoppages. He closes off space, limits easy takeaways, does the bullocking work that creates space etc.

Goals from centre clearences is a increasing important part of afl - and we are typically bad at it. Nash makes us far better defensively - and with time may assist offensively.

"l have been reading your stuff in here and all I will say is that I admire your optimism. I can't help thinking that you dish out mad-blowies to Conor before and after every game though. He's not a fraction of the player that you think he is."

This was sarcastic and an attack on someone's opinion which like you, he is entitled to have.

You do have a valid opinion of Nash and is fair enough to disagree with someone else's opinion.

My opinion is the way you went about it was ill-mannered.
Then your follow up comments were defensive and lacked any consideration that you were disrespectful.

"Well there is one guy in here who is a premature ejaculator. And this is what i am taking issue with."

Going the man again!

(Premature ejaculation is so efficient and would have been handy at 3 this morning)

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

I know you weren't bagging Btw. The other thing I appreciate is that Conor and crew look like they enjoy one another's company and the so called "no dickhead" policy seems to be very evident in our recruiting.

"l have been reading your stuff in here and all I will say is that I admire your optimism. I can't help thinking that you dish out mad-blowies to Conor before and after every game though. He's not a fraction of the player that you think he is."

This was sarcastic and an attack on someone's opinion which like you, he is entitled to have.

You do have a valid opinion of Nash and is fair enough to disagree with someone else's opinion.

My opinion is the way you went about it was ill-mannered.
Then your follow up comments were defensive and lacked any consideration that you were disrespectful.

"Well there is one guy in here who is a premature ejaculator. And this is what i am taking issue with."

Going the man again!

(Premature ejaculation is so efficient and would have been handy at 3 this morning)

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

Was going for laughs initially (probably misguidedly) and I thought that was pretty obvious.

Then I got attacked by somebody else about an apparent lack of footy IQ (I note you have left that bit out).

But I have learned one thing, you can't dare say anything negative, even neutral about a Hawthorn player. They're all apparently superstars.

Didn’t we all criticise Clarko for persisting with Nash too much?

Admittedly in a pocket, but now he’s got 3 possible roles. Ruck onball and FP

Nash CJ Gunston and Sicily provide so much flexibility which makes developing the youngsters much smoother

Didn’t we all criticise Clarko for persisting with Nash too much?

Admittedly in a pocket, but now he’s got 3 possible roles. Ruck onball and FP

Nash CJ Gunston and Sicily provide so much flexibility which makes developing the youngsters much smoother
I remember screaming from the rooftops he was playing out of position, and he should be in the vfl or afl to throw in as a mid.

Drove me mad, cost us games to, in hindsight it’s helped in develop slightly in off positions but it was still a disaster at the time

You seem to have the memory of a goldfish.

You do know that it is ok for Hawks fans to temper expectations? FFS, I never even said he played badly or was a bad player yet there are people who have jumped in here and had a dip because a Hawk fan has dared to shine some perspective on a 10 possession game. No wonder so many great contributors have deserted this place. There is no room for constructive discussion anymore.

Nash is a project player who is yet to cement a position or a spot in our rather ordinary team.

Let's be a bit more realistic about what he is right now.
Would be close in that position, as Moore is in his.
There is not a lot of competition for that position in the league.

Not is, not throwing sperm in the sink. Being realistic after 6 matches, not being a negative tosser.

Was going for laughs initially (probably misguidedly) and I thought that was pretty obvious.

Then I got attacked by somebody else about an apparent lack of footy IQ (I note you have left that bit out).

But I have learned one thing, you can't dare say anything negative, even neutral about a Hawthorn player. They're all apparently superstars.

Having your IQ questioned by that self confessed galaxy-brain is a real right of passage these days.

Would be close in that position, as Moore is in his.
There is not a lot of competition for that position in the league.

Not is, not throwing sperm in the sink. Being realistic after 6 matches, not being a negative tosser.

Where was I negative? Direct quote please. I said he did well enough FFS. But he's got an awful long way to go to convince me.

And it's 30 games, not 6. Regardless of whether he has been played out of position or not, he has not showed until recently any ability to find the football. Of course he will improve and I like what I have seen in recent games but I am not yet convinced he is a 10 year player.

Clarko towards the end chose to play favourite's like TOB & Ceglar .
Stratton in the last 2 years looked liked he didn't enjoy the game but kept getting a game every week.
Keeping him Capt in those years was very strange.
Agreed he did play the kids early on as the list was low on talent and big on contracts $$$
This is Conor's thread and i will finish off by wishing Conor a great game against Port.

Whether we are high on Nash, realistically hopeful on Nash or pessimistic on Nash - can we all unite to maybe tone down the semen talk just a tad?
I'm really not sure how we got to that in the first place!

Jesus, I am not even bagging the guy.

But for a team that will likely finish in the bottom 4, you'd reckon all of the "elite" players we have are underachieving somewhat, wouldn't you?

It's more pressure on the guy running around calling him elite than it is to just let him grow into his role. He played well enough and did his job but he hasn't even consolidated a long term position in an ordinary team yet.
Not too many are saying that Nash is elite. It is more that he adds a point of difference. His tackling is elite, he has great athleticism and versatility and also has quick hands. He has to get more of the ball and do more with it to reach elite level. He could get there.

BTW conservatism and intelligence are orthogonal.

Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn - Conor Nash. Extends to 2029!