Universal Love Welcome to Richmond Adem Yze

Struggled? Huh? The only struggle was performing in finals, other than that he performed extremely well and the improvement was constant other than the steps backwards to start 2014 and then 2016 which were reuired to retool out team and gameplan.

We started be getting rid of the old guys and started his first season 0-9 with wooden spoons bets being paid out on us by round 5 or 6. We then win 5/6 games with our only loss being to the Saints 38 points on their way to a grand final that year. Included wins against Swans (7-6) and Freo (10-4) who were pushing for top 4 and finished 5th and 6th.

It took about a third of the season to turn a team that couldn't get within 50 points of anyone else to one that was competeing with an beating genuine top 4 contenders.

From that 0-9 start we win 6/13 games to finish that year, then 8 the next year, then 10 and then 15 and just miss out on top 4. Weres the struggle? I think most of us would be quite happy if this team imrpoved at that same rate.

But he had young superstars to do that. Hardwick had a team that was building, Yze has a team of players that know they wont be here in 5 years. I would say we are closer to 2004 than 2010 right now. 2004 was the first year in a while we went to the draft, that is what we will do at the end of this season. It took another 9 years to make finals. It should happen faster this time, with free agency available and hopefully only 1 new team joining in that time. We will hit and miss on several high draft picks over the next 5-6 years, but if you just keep going to the draft we will get there eventually.

Yze got here a year too early, given we had no draft picks, we were just playing another season with the same list we knew wasnt good enough anymore. We cant start the rebuild until the end of this season, if we lose Baker, Rioli and with players like Nank, Vlas, Lynch all getting another year older, our best 22 should actually be worse next year. But obviously we will have more young players so it will be more enjoyable to watch even if we don't win many games. We are probably 3-4 years behind Hawthorn and they probably wont play finals yet.

Needs at least 2 full seasons to show what he can do. Season 1 has been a write off due to injury. If after 3 seasons we have not rebounded to a reasonable extent then I would change him out

The club seems a ****ing joke tbh

I am pretty positive i didn't imagine he was moved on early from the club either & him doing an interview for "The Age" basically reflecting on his time at the club etc :tearsofjoy:

Honestly, what was all that about then if he is still at the club acting like a staff member? People alluded to that he was getting senile due to health & old age, maybe he forgot they sacked him and he just keeps coming in like normal & the club was just like "sigh", **** it, just let him stay until the end of the year :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:
WTF are you on about? He's finishing up at the end of the season, why wouldn't 'he still be acting like a staff member'?

:$

WTF are you on about? He's finishing up at the end of the season, why wouldn't 'he still be acting like a staff member'?

You missed his point? What’s the point turning up TT if you’ve been sacked? How would you perform under new conditions set if you’ve been sacked? It’s actually hilarious although it reeks incompetence on how it was done.

There's a big difference between being sacked and not being given another contract beyond this year.

How would I perform in his situation? I think I'd be pretty content cruising into retirement at 72 years of age. **** if I'm still working at anywhere near 72 years old I'll be pissed.

Our contract at work will be up in a few years and I'm not really expecting it to be renewed, but I'll still do my job right up to the line rather than sook up and not do what I'm being paid for.

There's a big difference between being sacked and not being given another contract beyond this year.

How would I perform in his situation? I think I'd be pretty content cruising into retirement at 72 years of age. **** if I'm still working at anywhere near 72 years old I'll be pissed.

Our contract at work will be up in a few years at work and I'm not really expecting it to be renewed, but I'll still do my job right up to the line rather than sook up and not do what I'm being paid for.
Yeah, but you weren’t sacked unexpectedly and told of changes to your role. This is the difference as Balmey is basically been told to stay away from Yze and to do tasks different to what he has been successful in. Balmey was pissed about being sacked and the delivery of it was poor. From my experience when people have been given their marching orders they’re basically out of the place within a month as it’s just a toxic environment.

Neil Balme & Flea too, still attended, talked at the club members functions interstate in 2024 In QLD, Ground zero in March & the Brizy game in May I think

I never make it to them but I assume Balme's not piling on the club for his sacking.

Yeah, but you weren’t sacked unexpectedly and told of changes to your role. This is the difference as Balmey is basically been told to stay away from Yze and to do tasks different to what he has been successful in. Balmey was pissed about being sacked and the delivery of it was poor. From my experience when people have been given their marching orders they’re basically out of the place within a month as it’s just a toxic environment.
How could not being offered a new contract possibly be unexpected at 72 years of age (with severe health issues) and when he began handing over to Livingstone and Hartley nearly 5 years ago?

Balme wasn't involved in selecting Yze, but I don't know where you've got the idea he was told to stay away from. The delivery was fine. Face to face with everyone involved that needed to be.

**** me some of you lot just like to bag the club for the sake of it.

How could not being offered a new contract possibly be unexpected at 72 years of age (with severe health issues) and when he began handing over to Livingstone and Hartley nearly 5 years ago?

Balme wasn't involved in selecting Yze, but I don't know where you've got the idea he was told to stay away from. The delivery was fine. Face to face with everyone involved that needed to be.

Spot on. TI & RJK are absolutely fizzing at the minute. They love the situation we're in right now, take every opportunity to pour shit on the club and individuals.
I just hope they're not like this in real life. Terrible way to live.

Neil Balme & Flea too, still attended, talked at the club members functions interstate in 2024 In QLD, Ground zero in March & the Brizy game in May I think

I never make it to them but I assume Balme's not piling on the club for his sacking.
By your description he has a completely different role , but wasn't he sacked in March? So when did you hear him speak?

It's been done to death that he didn't want to retire by his own admission. Did you actually read the article or are just ignoring facts. I'm done discussing this.

Because the interview they gave was that he was finishing up early

His contract ALWAYS was ending at the end of the year. The story was, the club had approached him about finishing up early/now. lol this was only 2 months ago, how already are you all re-imagining history

The article is now under a paywall - but its there

No one here. NO ONE. Thought he would still be hosting club lunches 2 months later. re-check the thread.the impression was he was gone that week basically

His contract ALWAYS was ending at the end of the year. The story was, the club had approached him about finishing up early/now.
lol this was only 2 months ago, how already are you all re-imagining history

No one here. NO ONE. Thought he would still be hosting club lunches 2 months later. re-check the thread.the impression was he was gone that week basically

No mate, that's wrong. >
In a conversation Balme described as briefly awkward, always caring but ultimately definitive, the Tigers CEO and his football boss Blair Hartley made it clear that season 2024 would be Balme’s last at the club.
I for one never thought he was finishing up straight away and don't recall anyone else saying otherwise.

Some people will see only what they choose to I guess...

For godsake. Just re-read the last 10 pages of the thread & save the guy some of his life.
Keep raging on dude, i'm sure the club will satisfy you again one day and tigerimposter will like a coach again one time this century..............................yeah never going to happen on both counts. :rolleyes:

You both are off chops.

Struggled? Huh? The only struggle was performing in finals, other than that he performed extremely well and the improvement was constant other than the steps backwards to start 2014 and then 2016 which were reuired to retool out team and gameplan.

We started be getting rid of the old guys and started his first season 0-9 with wooden spoons bets being paid out on us by round 5 or 6. We then win 5/6 games with our only loss being to the Saints 38 points on their way to a grand final that year. Included wins against Swans (7-6) and Freo (10-4) who were pushing for top 4 and finished 5th and 6th.

It took about a third of the season to turn a team that couldn't get within 50 points of anyone else to one that was competeing with an beating genuine top 4 contenders.

From that 0-9 start we win 6/13 games to finish that year, then 8 the next year, then 10 and then 15 and just miss out on top 4. Weres the struggle? I think most of us would be quite happy if this team imrpoved at that same rate.
Yes but when Hardwick started he had Dusty Cotch, Jack, Rance who were high draft picks hitting their peak.

Poor look our coach publicly supporting his old side. Should concentrate on winning a game first

I knew someone would be in here to post this. Get a grip on reality mate

His contract ALWAYS was ending at the end of the year. The story was, the club had approached him about finishing up early/now. lol this was only 2 months ago, how already are you all re-imagining history

The interview “they” gave?
You are completely insane. That was a story given to Caro by…guess who? The bloke who wanted it told his way.

Poor look our coach publicly supporting his old side. Should concentrate on winning a game first
I'm a big proponent of giving Yze time to try and implement his ideas.

That being said I can't ever recall Hardwick carrying on at Bombers or Port games. I can't recall Sheedy ever celebrating any of our wins or Malthouse. I can't recall either of the Scott twins getting fired up about the Lions in a close one. Ever see Lethal openly celebrate the Hawks/Lions/Pies when he was still in a job?

It's not a good look being the face of one footy club and outright barracking for another. Fair enough I know blokes have their allegiances and attend reunions but celebrating a 3 point win for your old side against bottom of the ladder just smacks of not having the right priorities given where he's at and the season Richmond is having. Yes he's entitled to enjoy a night with his old mates in the bye but keep it low key and have a few vinos in the bar. Don't behave like whatever that was that I just witnessed.

I'm a big proponent of giving Yze time to try and implement his ideas.

That being said I can't ever recall Hardwick carrying on at Bombers or Port games. I can't recall Sheedy ever celebrating any of our wins or Malthouse. I can't recall either of the Scott twins getting fired up about the Lions in a close one. Ever see Lethal openly celebrate the Hawks/Lions/Pies when he was still in a job?

It's not a good look being the face of one footy club and outright barracking for another. Fair enough I know blokes have their allegiances and attend reunions but celebrating a 3 point win for your old side against bottom of the ladder just smacks of not having the right priorities given where he's at and the season Richmond is having. Yes he's entitled to enjoy a night with his old mates in the bye but keep it low key and have a few vinos in the bar. Don't behave like whatever that was that I just witnessed.

He wasn’t cheering on Melbourne. He was cheering on his mates sons who debuted.

Universal Love Welcome to Richmond Adem Yze