cantkickoveratin

Jun 25, 2009
West
Gold Coast
Haha Zurek. We have had 5 training sessions so far in pre season and lets just say that both Micka and Steve have trained 5 times more than Zurek ever did.

Bit hard to become a better player when u dont train or play :eek:

I think what pieeater meant was they are both only young and one day will possibly return to Lavo, so doesnt make sense for people from your club to bag em, may as well wish them good luck and hope they do return one day.

Digger, yes Brenden Wallis is new assistant coach :thumbsu:

I reckon I'm pretty safe having a dig at them on bigfooty. Not sure if either of them will be capable of reading what I am writing. But good luck to them, if they want to chase the coin its entirely their own decision and can't really hold that against them. I'm sure they both know what their mates that they both grew up with think of their decision and at the end of the day that is probably all that matters to them.

I still think dp are the team to beat, and if someone is running a book i'm more than willing to put my hard earned on them early. Just hope this time they have the stones to go up if they win it.

Re: Western Region FL - Division Two - Part 2

I reckon I'm pretty safe having a dig at them on bigfooty. Not sure if either of them will be capable of reading what I am writing. But good luck to them, if they want to chase the coin its entirely their own decision and can't really hold that against them. I'm sure they both know what their mates that they both grew up with think of their decision and at the end of the day that is probably all that matters to them.

I still think dp are the team to beat, and if someone is running a book i'm more than willing to put my hard earned on them early. Just hope this time they have the stones to go up if they win it.

if they win it im certian now is the time to go up!!!!

Laverton Magpies started pre-season training last night and we had a very good showing of 43 players on the track including a number of new recruits, some former players return to the club and a recent club best and fairest back at the club.

All positive signs for our club and things are really looking on the up for us. No doubt we need the addition of a Ruckman and CHB to ensure how well we will go this season but I can tell you that we will not be short of pace, endeavour and an increased level of player depth across both seniors and reserves.

I am sure there will be a ruckman or CHB just not up to A Grade or Division 1 or a second stringer that will see the benefit in joining us and taking the mantle of being number 1 ruckman or CHB at our club and with over 4 months to fill these positions, we will be a force to be reckoned with in 2011.

Go Lavo!

Laverton Magpies started pre-season training last night and we had a very good showing of 43 players on the track including a number of new recruits, some former players return to the club and a recent club best and fairest back at the club.

All positive signs for our club and things are really looking on the up for us. No doubt we need the addition of a Ruckman and CHB to ensure how well we will go this season but I can tell you that we will not be short of pace, endeavour and an increased level of player depth across both seniors and reserves.

I am sure there will be a ruckman or CHB just not up to A Grade or Division 1 or a second stringer that will see the benefit in joining us and taking the mantle of being number 1 ruckman or CHB at our club and with over 4 months to fill these positions, we will be a force to be reckoned with in 2011.

Go Lavo!

Any truth to the rumour going around that you may have 'recruited' for want of a better word a high profile albanvale player?? Goes by the name of Paone? :D:D:D

Watching Caroline Springs go threw there paces last week approximately 60 to 65 blokes, great effort by all looks like theyll get the 2 sides up and running. Didnt see any EGOs.

Let me guess you were just driving past.

By the way what does an EGO look like?

heard on the grapevine that the Albanvale coach became extremely abusive when young Paone indicated that he was returning to Laverton. Asked why he would want to return to such a "scumbag" club.

Interesting opinion from someone tied up with the competition for one year and from a person "poaching" key players from a struggilng club in the same division. Maybe Albanvale need to re-assess the qualities of the person that they have in charge, particularly when dealing with young guys that show a bit of integrity

Let me guess you were just driving past.

By the way what does an EGO look like?

Td we have had 65 senior players train so far,awsome effort for a new senior team I rekon
The club has done an outstanding job makeing all feel welcome hence y 90% of players have trained every night. Should be a good year for the club looking foward to it.

heard on the grapevine that the Albanvale coach became extremely abusive when young Paone indicated that he was returning to Laverton. Asked why he would want to return to such a "scumbag" club.

Interesting opinion from someone tied up with the competition for one year and from a person "poaching" key players from a struggilng club in the same division. Maybe Albanvale need to re-assess the qualities of the person that they have in charge, particularly when dealing with young guys that show a bit of integrity

Colbol35, i suggest you check the "grapevine" . Yes Steve has returned to Laverton and yes i was dissapointed in him for going back on his commitment to our club, but thats football. It happens !:thumbsu:

Abusive no, and using the terminolgy of scumbag, please ! Im not that sort of person, maybe check with young Steve yourself.

Anyway i have had enough of the topic as it has been done to death. I would like to put some closeure on this by wishing Steve and the Laverton FC all the best for season 2011 and wish them and Justin ( and choofa of course) all the best in building the club up again and pushing finals footy. :thumbsu:

Colbol35, i suggest you check the "grapevine" . Yes Steve has returned to Laverton and yes i was dissapointed in him for going back on his commitment to our club, but thats football. It happens !:thumbsu:

Abusive no, and using the terminolgy of scumbag, please ! Im not that sort of person, maybe check with young Steve yourself.

Anyway i have had enough of the topic as it has been done to death. I would like to put some closeure on this by wishing Steve and the Laverton FC all the best for season 2011 and wish them and Justin ( and choofa of course) all the best in building the club up again and pushing finals footy. :thumbsu:

another loss for the cobra's.......gold......

ill have $500 on the d/p/cobra game this year knackers.....;)

Wyndham Vale had there first session last night with skill work for 45 minutes then followed up with a 10km run.

colbol35 i hear you cost your cricket team a chance of playing in a grand final last year.......

reason being you had hit the run to tie the game then paraded around like a big spud telling your opposition all about it.......this went on for 5 minuits......then it rained......and you guys lost because of ladder positions.......interesting........any truth knackers:confused:

id say typical laverton......

p.s d/p had 86 players train.......

colbol35 i hear you cost your cricket team a chance of playing in a grand final last year.......

reason being you had hit the run to tie the game then paraded around like a big spud telling your opposition all about it.......this went on for 5 minuits......then it rained......and you guys lost because of ladder positions.......interesting........any truth knackers:confused:

Lol thats not bad considering they havent started yet? Meet the coach is 28th isn't it?

yeah i did do that, i love not playing in grand finals

howd ur team fare?

yeah i did do that, i love not playing in grand finals

howd ur team fare?

we had a great year 1st time in 10 years any snr team has made a final.....

and we 1sts were on the rough end of a decision that if laverton were in they would have left the comp.......;)

west newport love you!!!!

we had a great year 1st time in 10 years any snr team has made a final.....

and we 1sts were on the rough end of a decision that if laverton were in they would have left the comp.......;)

west newport love you!!!!

Great work champ u must be a super coach what an achievement making finals in b turf keep it up...... **** lavo left the comp even though we won the flag we the biggest sooks

Maybe when I see u down the cricket next time u can slag me off in person..... Or maybe not

I understand that the kid is young but its poor form to sign and then walk out:thumbsdown:

Also shows how both the league and AFL Vic have failed to move with the times and keep up with clubs. It is common practice now for most clubs to sign players to contracts. Alot of the signings are done in Sep/Oct/Nov but they can't be made official until a clearance is through in Feb.

Surely it would not be that hard to open up a 2-3 week period in Nov to allow clearances to go through making all contracts signed binding.

looks like the cobas have moved on quickly from the Paone departure with the club securing Altona FC player Shane pace and a very good 18 year old from Sunshine FC.

all things are looking very positive positive with a dozen or so new arrivals for season 2011 with great numbers every training session

looks like the cobas have moved on quickly from the Paone departure with the club securing Altona FC player Shane pace and a very good 18 year old from Sunshine FC.

all things are looking very positive positive with a dozen or so new arrivals for season 2011 with great numbers every training session

lol shane pace must be doing the rounds was down at caroline springs on monday chasing the cash, kozy u cant be bragging about him paone is a way better player then him he will struggle to play 1ns all year.. just like ur self =)

I understand that the kid is young but its poor form to sign and then walk out:thumbsdown:

Also shows how both the league and AFL Vic have failed to move with the times and keep up with clubs. It is common practice now for most clubs to sign players to contracts. Alot of the signings are done in Sep/Oct/Nov but they can't be made official until a clearance is through in Feb.

Surely it would not be that hard to open up a 2-3 week period in Nov to allow clearances to go through making all contracts signed binding.

good idea man, if u knew u couldnt go back to your old club it would probably be better. i should have stayed last year mate i know i know lol

Great work champ u must be a super coach what an achievement making finals in b turf keep it up...... **** lavo left the comp even though we won the flag we the biggest sooks

Maybe when I see u down the cricket next time u can slag me off in person..... Or maybe not

hahahaha!!!!

im sure west newport won the flag.......

im sure ill say g'day next time i see you.......;)

I'm playing the worlds smallest violin for you gbf50 and pieeater. No doubt recruting is tought, but at least you blokes have something to offer your potential recruits. Try putting yourself in Lavertons boots for a day. Can't offer money, your best players are continuously poached by clubs from other leagues or within your own division, and you then have to try to recurit blokes to replace them! And when one 'scumbag' kid, decides it's not all about the money you blokes are up in arms. Suck it up, Paone made the right decision for himself and for his mates. You don't play footy forever so why not stick with the blokes you've grown up with and try and win a few games with them? Do you think Paone wouldn't have been contracted at Lavo if they had any money and were able to contract him?

Local football contracts aren't worth the paper they're written on. If clubs over commit they have no problem not paying blokes or trying to change their contracts so why should players be expected to honour them? If your club ran out of money would you be willing to pay your players out of your own pocket to ensure they received their match payments?

I don't want to make this about Paone but as a general comment I can't see how it is too much to ask that a bloke actually follows through on a contract that he signs. Unfortunatley contracts are now a part of local footy and it is time for the league to change their systems to accomodate this.

It has to go both ways though. If it is still ok for a club to not pay players when finances get tight or because they've got some other expenses that they didn't see arising, I don't think the players should be binded by these pseudo contracts either.