What are some effects that could've changed a premiership team's season

If Brent Daniels wasn’t pulled from the ground by an AFL offical for a concussion test in their one point loss in the preliminary final against Collingwood in 2023

Umpire not recalling the below the knees free kick to Lachie Neale.... called advantage to Zac Bailey in the last 60 seconds of the 2023 GF.

No way in that cauldron Bailey could have heard the free kick call to Neale, if he had he would of certainly stopped, from the below the knees to the advantage call would have been no more than just over 1 second.

Anything could have happened if Neale had pumped the ball to the top of the goal square with 30 seconds to the siren.

That decision is a little easier to stomach after this year's grand final!! That 50-37 lead late in the 2nd term becoming a 6 point deficit at half time certainly didn't help either.

WC beat Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval in Rd 21 2018 with a mung floater after the siren from Jremny McGovern. Time in front for the game: 0min 0sec.

We finished second on the ladder with 16 wins and a percentage of 121.4. That shot misses and we're 15 wins 121.1 which would've had us finishing third. Finals match-ups unaffected but our QF would've been at the MCG which is a disadvantage. We beat Collingwood at the MCG in the H&A season and in the GF so we may have still won through to a home prelim but each contest was close and two home finals is a different prospect to playing 3 times at the MCG in 4 weeks.

WC lost to Richmond at the MCG in Rd 22 2019 by 6 points and finished 5th with 15 wins 112.5%. Get over the line in that game and we finish 3rd, Richmond 5th. Huge repercussions for the finals series.

The Saints events are obvious:

The Milne Bounce has been mentioned.

The Toe-Poke was insane. Could have gone wrong 10 different ways that result in a stoppage at worst or the Saints taking the ball away, and probably a Saints win.

The crowd in 2004 - If Gehrig kicked his 100th the week before that could have gone differently.

2005 we had the lead at 3/4 time...

So many "could have been" moments.

Brent Daniels missing in front of goal in the 2024 Semi Final vs the eventual premiers Brisbane with the Lions storming home from 44 points down.
C Cloke or Rocca doesn't get suspended in 2002 and 2003
Max Holmes doesn't do his hamstring in the 2024 Preliminary Final vs Brisbane
The giants could/should potentially have 2 premierships. Outplayed by a team desperate for success in 2016 and really choked it up last year. They’ll be thereabouts in 2025 you would think. I’d actually quite like to see them win a flag. The players that have stuck fat deserve one.

Brent Daniels missing in front of goal in the 2024 Semi Final vs the eventual premiers Brisbane with the Lions storming home from 44 points down.
C Cloke or Rocca doesn't get suspended in 2002 and 2003
Max Holmes doesn't do his hamstring in the 2024 Preliminary Final vs Brisbane
Collingwood doesn’t get 17 home games in 2023.

Collingwood lose the semi or prelim by a point.

Daicos isn’t gifted 3 free kicks for dropping the knees.

The sun doesn’t get in Starcevich’s eyes.

Berry doesn’t tackle Sidebottom after the mark.

No advantage is payed for the free kick that was awarded only just as Bailey was tackled under pressure and kicked the ball forward, with the noise of 100000 people to contend with.

That would be a loser talking, dwelling on the past.

But no, WE ARE REIGNING PREMIERS BABY!

Warm dry day in the 2002 grand final: Brisbane wins by nine goals instead of nine points.

The Rocca goal aside everything went our way, the conditions, the bounce of the ball. Would've been an epic steal if we won.
This is a very balanced view! The weather made me very nervous that day. For what it's worth there was a pretty soft free to Lynch in the last quarter. Much more consequential than the Rocca 'miss' I reckon.

2023 - I think on balance the pies were clearly the better side on the day. Lions had some self-inflicted wounds eg Berry, plus completely playing into Collingwood's hands with that ridiculous slow play late in quarters. Towards the end of the third quarter I thought we were going to lose by 5 goals - it looked like we had no answers. We did well to hang in there. I think what hurt so much was getting in front via the Cameron goal, and daring to dream so deep in the quarter, and then conceding straight out of the centre clearance. But maybe that's just the fact we were a bit weaker in there with Lyons on who was clearly just hanging on.

That advantage call late was dumb - but at the same time it's generally pretty easy to kill a long kick in to 20m out when a kick has been called back. Would have been plenty of tall timber!

The Pies also had to deal with Murphy being knocked out - could have been a blow but Hipwood had a very poor game. Lions were missing Ashcroft which in hindsight was a big blow considering his calmness / determination that was on show in the 2024 finals. BUT i would argue the Pies had more to contend with given McStay was crucial in winning the prelim the weekend before then missed the granny. Huge structural player.

Pies were better in the big moments. Got their tactics much better with use of the wings and nullifying Andrews. And i think played the best footy of the year, in particular the first couple of months.

We definitely COULD have won but would have felt like we half pinched it.

This is a very balanced view! The weather made me very nervous that day. For what it's worth there was a pretty soft free to Lynch in the last quarter. Much more consequential than the Rocca 'miss' I reckon.

2023 - I think on balance the pies were clearly the better side on the day. Lions had some self-inflicted wounds eg Berry, plus completely playing into Collingwood's hands with that ridiculous slow play late in quarters. Towards the end of the third quarter I thought we were going to lose by 5 goals - it looked like we had no answers. We did well to hang in there. I think what hurt so much was getting in front via the Cameron goal, and daring to dream so deep in the quarter, and then conceding straight out of the centre clearance. But maybe that's just the fact we were a bit weaker in there with Lyons on who was clearly just hanging on.

That advantage call late was dumb - but at the same time it's generally pretty easy to kill a long kick in to 20m out when a kick has been called back. Would have been plenty of tall timber!

The Pies also had to deal with Murphy being knocked out - could have been a blow but Hipwood had a very poor game. Lions were missing Ashcroft which in hindsight was a big blow considering his calmness / determination that was on show in the 2024 finals. BUT i would argue the Pies had more to contend with given McStay was crucial in winning the prelim the weekend before then missed the granny. Huge structural player.

Pies were better in the big moments. Got their tactics much better with use of the wings and nullifying Andrews. And i think played the best footy of the year, in particular the first couple of months.

We definitely COULD have won but would have felt like we half pinched it.
Mate I was proud of us just being there in 2002/3, same in 2018. We've lost plenty, is that Brisbane's second defeat? 4 from 6 is pretty damned good.

Your mob has a very hard row to hoe just to make top 4 let alone make the GF.

As for 2023, you had a few things go wrong but the coach and players refused to lie down, Bailey's goals and Charlie's and the other little fella were superb.

Very proud of the 23 flag but I think everyone outside Sydney felt 2024 was a very just outcome.

Mate I was proud of us just being there in 2002/3, same in 2018. We've lost plenty, is that Brisbane's second defeat? 4 from 6 is pretty damned good.

Your mob has a very hard row to hoe just to make top 4 let alone make the GF.

As for 2023, you had a few things go wrong but the coach and players refused to lie down, Bailey's goals and Charlie's and the other little fella were superb.

Very proud of the 23 flag but I think everyone outside Sydney felt 2024 was a very just outcome.
True 4/6 i should not complain. The long drought between GFs was pretty brutal though!

It's interesting that we could so easily have not made the granny let alone win it in 2024, and yet looking at the past few years, we have been so consistently good it was clearly a deserved flag. Never a guarantee that happens though, just ask Port, Saints etc.

I have a good mate who supports the Pies. He was totally broken after 2018. Losing them is horrible. But i still think getting there is such a good ride and significant effort.

True 4/6 i should not complain. The long drought between GFs was pretty brutal though!

It's interesting that we could so easily have not made the granny let alone win it in 2024, and yet looking at the past few years, we have been so consistently good it was clearly a deserved flag. Never a guarantee that happens though, just ask Port, Saints etc.

I have a good mate who supports the Pies. He was totally broken after 2018. Losing them is horrible. But i still think getting there is such a good ride and significant effort.
You get used to it, but also you get a more mature veiw as you get older.

I was filthy in 2002 "bloody cheats, COLA" but my bro in law pointed out how badly Bridbane had been treated since 1987. He's a Pie and disliked Fitzroy but had a sift spot fir the Bears/Lions.

I had a think about it, and after 2004 when Eddie led the charge to strip the COLA with short notice and did nothing as bout the crooked home final rule I realised VICBIAS was real.

I was happy Port won, and the Dogs. I support the Pies but I try not to be irrational. When we lost in 2018 I shook the hands if the Eagles around me, and found my nephews (with Eagles) to congratulate them. I know how good it is to win.

Umpires correctly calling a hold to Ash Sampi instead of a mark to Leo Barry

View attachment 2135964
This, and BBB getting off after slugging a bloke in the guts in the PF, add up to the biggest gift in VFL/AFL history. Unbelievable.

AFL desperate for a Swans fairytale flag that year.

Warm dry day in the 2002 grand final: Brisbane wins by nine goals instead of nine points.

The Rocca goal aside everything went our way, the conditions, the bounce of the ball. Would've been an epic steal if we won.
Did you leave the game at 3/4 time??
The free that wasn't paid to Tarrant for over the shoulder and holding the man by Daryl White? It would have put us 2 goals ahead. Then the free that was paid to Lynch after he did an Olympic worthy dive. So glad to knock off Brisbane in a close GF, more so with a dose of controversy. Karma for 2002.

The Toe-Poke was insane. Could have gone wrong 10 different ways that result in a stoppage at worst or the Saints taking the ball away, and probably a Saints win.

The crowd in 2004 - If Gehrig kicked his 100th the week before that could have gone differently.

Saints also lead at half time in the 1997 AFL grand final. You would want that 2nd half back.

Did you leave the game at 3/4 time??
The free that wasn't paid to Tarrant for over the shoulder and holding the man by Daryl White? It would have put us 2 goals ahead. Then the free that was paid to Lynch after he did an Olympic worthy dive. So glad to knock off Brisbane in a close GF, more so with a dose of controversy. Karma for 2002.
Yeah I was there, pretty crap seats high up in the Ponsford.

Wakelin held onto Lynch most of the day, did a good job disguising it: he could've got 5. I guess Lynch is less pretty than Curnow is, that bloke never misses out.

We thumped a few Lions, did Burns knock Brown out? Some poor umpiring decisions both ways, it was more about the decisions they didn't pay and I felt we came out ahead.

I felt cross at the time but I'm retrospect we got a good run and all those long range goals dropping in was good luck too.

2003 we went in with a much more skilled side and got brutalised. On paper we were s better chance though.

Saints also lead at half time in the 1997 AFL grand final. You would want that 2nd half back.

According to Nathan Bourke, Stan Alves gave his players a spray at half time despite being 2 goals up. I could understand a spray if you're 5-6 goals down at half time in a grand final but not when you're 13 points up at half time.

the scoreline was Saints 7.11.53 to crows 5.10.40 at half time. Imagine if Saints kicked 10.8.68 at half time?

What are some effects that could've changed a premiership team's season