What Lions Memorabilia have you obtained and how?

Started my collection this year with

1. Black signed team poster
2. Black signed caricature fully framed
3. Black signed mini ball
4. Black signed fully framed #20 guernsey with a plaque on it with details of his 300th game.

All won at Black's 300th vs Geelong. :D:thumbsu:

Has wet my appetite for more but my wife losing her job with the govt has put on hold any further acquisitions at the moment. Will have to take some of my older guernseys down to training to get them signed I think.

Notable stuff

Brisbane Lions -
Original Simon Black signed charcoal (purchased whilst drunk after first heritage match)

Fitzroy
1996 jumper signed by most of the team framed with footy records of last win and last game (both Freo) with 1996 membership ticket.

A heap of other stuff but most of it is worth very due to so much of it being around, like Kevin Murray posters. Quirkiest is probably Dyson Hore-Lacy's book signed by the Dyson Hore-Lacy, with a personally requested comment he was happy to agree too
To Slax(insert my real name)
Screw the AFL
Dyson Hore-Lacy

My christmas present this year has arrived. This is the scarf that I will be rocking next year.

aCmAbl.jpg

Sb63Ml.jpg

rvYjSl.jpg

More patches to be added at a later date.

I have a ears scarf as well, plus a T shirt that amazingly still fits and is not that worn. My real pride is a Centennary banner from 1996- they were hanging on lamp posts down Stanley Street outside the gabba and the team sold them off. Got mine signed by Voss.

Oh my, I imagine it's like this but woollier?

ears.jpg

I was down at the Brunswick St oval after our 2001 win and I bought one of those Lions rubber footies for my son, who was not even 1 yet, we managed to get most of the players signatures that came to the edge of the area surrounding the stage and Leigh's as well. It now sits up above my desk, never kicked to this day.

The next year we got one of those Mini Sherrins signed by Black, this one got kicked around the house a bit, but is still in pretty good nick.

Also a number of caps and guernseys signed by a lot of guernseys and caps signed by lions players at training and family days here in Melb.

The one time we did make it training up in Brisbane, my son got a bit too close to the action behind the goals and copped a footy in the head, he was a bit upset for anwhile but ended up with a huge smile after receiving a pair of smelly socks from Luke Power.

Lions tshirt signed by Daniel Bradshaw from 1998
Paul Roos bottle of Port that was released for his 200th game ( or was it 250th )
Signed football my son won at a Vic family day from memory it was 2007
Signed sheet of paper from Mickey Conlan when he worked at, I think was adidas..
Letter of thanks from Fitzroy FFC, re: Lions Tale and the changing of the emblem

Lotsa stuff, but my 2002 Grand Final player issued Alistair Lynch jersey is the pride and joy. His squiggle on the back across the big #11 and the whole team's on the front.

I also have an Akermanis game worn jersey from the International Rules series in 2000 - according to him one of only two in existence.

A Browny game worn and signed boot and jersey.

A Vossy game worn and signed jersey.

A Daniel Rich game issued jersey from his rookie year.

A Vossy signed Bears jumper and a bunch of others. (30 something jerseys and counting.)

Every Team Poster since 1995 fully signed (aside from 2003 - Help!?!). A bunch of signed posters and photos, cards etc.

A dozen or so footies including a 2001 GF game issued one signed by most of the club (Justin Leppitsch offered me $500 for it when I asked him to sign it some 7 or 8 years ago).

Assorted hats, a Simon Black head photo from his 300th and the 300th shirt (both signed). Bobbleheads, figurines, all the cars since 95, mugs etc.

I could (and according to my wife I do) go on. I've got other photos if anyone is interested... The post wouldn't let me add them for size apparently.

Go Lions.

If the 'Upload a File' button next to the post reply button in the bottom right hand side there isn't working for you or the files that you are trying to post, you could try hosting the images on an image hosting site - I like using imgur.com - copying the image link after you've uploaded them, and entering the image link into the little dialoguie box that pops up when you click this button:

KRPFs.png

Couple photos for the above Post.

Attachments

• Jersey - Alastair Lynch 2002 GF Team Signed Front.jpg
    Jersey - Alastair Lynch 2002 GF Team Signed Front.jpg
    22.2 KB · Views: 190
  • Vossy.jpg
    Vossy.jpg
    25 KB · Views: 140
  • Footy - 2001 AFL Grand Final GameBall Signed 3.jpg
    Footy - 2001 AFL Grand Final GameBall Signed 3.jpg
    21.7 KB · Views: 178
  • Jersey - Aka.jpg
    Jersey - Aka.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 130
That GF Guernsey is an absolute ripper. Not sure if I would have had it signed by the whole team, but far out, not sure if my heart would have handled even having it in my collection!!

Can I ask how you were able to obtain these gems?

Great work!!

The Lynch one was very random. I live in WA and was given an email address one day by a co-worker as the only Lions supporter they knew with the only info that the lady at the other end of the email addy had something cool for sale.

I emailed her with a skeptical & brief 'what is it?' and was told it was a Lynch game issued jersey from the 2002 GF. A few heart palpitations later and I emailed back asking for photos. While I waited for a reply I rang the club to see if replicas or special one off jerseys were sold by the club, and what to look for in a genuine one.

Long story short the woman was an ex of one of the club high-ups who just wanted done with the jersey. I said that it was probably worth more than she was asking and that if she changed her mind all she had to do was let me know and refund the cash and I would (reluctantly) return it.

Never heard from her again.

The jumper actually came fully signed on the front but not the back. I would have preferred just Lynchy also but beggars can't be choosers.

As I wouldn't trust Australia Post I waited a few years until a trip to Brissy to take it to the club for verification. I think it was 2010 or 11, whenever we cut ties with Fev. Anyway I was waiting in the club admin room when who walks by but Alastair Lynch himself, apparently dealing with the Feviasco with the club. I cleared my throat, told him how random it was and asked the nice lady behind the counter if she might have an Artline on hand.

Lynch was gracious enough to sign it and told me there are apparently four in existence as far as he knows. He holds one and two others were sold on auction in the weeks following the GF. Until that point he didn't know where the 4th was.

Being from WA most of my stuff is sourced by keeping an eye out, random occurrences and just sheer luck. I often try to find the stuff first and then hold it off until a footy trip or a game in WA to get stuff signed. Last year I went to the Brissy player sponsor function, that was gold. I plan to try and go this year, but the club won't settle on a date which makes it very hard to book travel far enough in advance cheaply...

The woes of the interstate fan I guess.

That is awesome... you are right, the best bits of memorabilia come when you least expect them.. I have a couple of player issued guernsey's that arrived for me is the strangest ways.

Very impressive Dizzle.

I went to a Fitzroy training session sometime in 96 and got the majority of the players sig's on a brand new Sherrin.

Was my pride and joy, and was confident of one day selling it to buy a large yacht of some description (perhaps overestimating its value at such a young age)

A few months later I went out the front street and found my cousin and his mate kicking it on the bloody road.

Today, can almost make out a few letters of 'Scott Bamford' beneath the asphalt scratches.

Needless to say, I no longer speak to this so called 'cousin'.

Hey guys, bit off topic, but does anyone remember if there was a triple premiership scarf. Or am I just dreaming this.

Thanks
There was a 2003 one with all the players from the team listed on it. Wasn't a triple premiership one really, though it does have most of the big names on it.

Very impressive Dizzle.

I went to a Fitzroy training session sometime in 96 and got the majority of the players sig's on a brand new Sherrin.

Was my pride and joy, and was confident of one day selling it to buy a large yacht of some description (perhaps overestimating its value at such a young age)

A few months later I went out the front street and found my cousin and his mate kicking it on the bloody road.

Today, can almost make out a few letters of 'Scott Bamford' beneath the asphalt scratches.

His name isn't Jason at all? :cool:

Very impressive Dizzle.

Took my son to the '96 family day at the Brunswick Oval...A couple of days prior had organized the late Bill Green (WEG) to do caricatures of fellow workers....WEG had a really good day out and gave me a signed coloured Fitzroy Lions (chamois) poster..top bloke..Not many folk were at the family day so the Son got every '96 players signature & coaching staff on it..... had it framed.

I actually got on TV at the 96' family day.

Got given the VHS by Channel 9 as well, still have it.

Guess that's my memorabilia.

What Lions Memorabilia have you obtained and how?