Worst Footy Ground you have been to

Hoggy said:
nillumbikovaldiamo.jpg

Nillumbik Park Diamond Creek folks.

(and yes it might have been during last weeks floods)
That's what Gisborne's ground looked like in 1991 when the creek running next to it flooded .....

Rosco5 said:
That's what Gisborne's ground looked like in 1991 when the creek running next to it flooded .....
Gisborne's ground never looked THAT GOOD,a Shyte pile if i ever saw one.

Rosco5 said:
Good old Creek couldnt happen to nicer bunch, probaly the biggest ground I have ever played on bloody massive!

Grovedale in the Geelong league...very uninviting...

known as Burdoo reserve, renamed Bird Poo reserve becuase it smelt like sh@# and no matter what the weather was around the district, it always rained and a blew a gale.

And the rooms were that small you couldn't swing a cat....

Adelaide Uni Oval in the early 80's was a mud heap all winter. Four goals would be a winning score.

Glenunga when it rained. Water would cascade down the stairs into changerooms. Only dry place to change was "up" into shower recess. Fine before the game, but not so crash hot afterwards!

Memorial Oval at Port Pirie. Rock hard, with harder bike track some 1 metre from the boundary line.

St Dominics Oval in Adelaide. Postage stamp sized & rock hard. Injuries aplenty.

Any ground in Brisbane. Rock hard - in fact harder by a factor of 10 than anything else I've played on. Dust bowl's too. If it actually rains in the early part of the season & gets a tad damp underfoot, games are cancelled!! Not so good for old timers used to the one-paced boggy tracks!!

Rosewater. Wasn't too bad apart from the old chook on the outer wing who really used to give it to you. She even managed to take the field with her umbrella on occasions!

Adelaide Oval - great "carpet", but too bloody big for players such as myself with a small fitness problem! :D

Fatty

Crowked said:
Elizabeth Oval is unfortunately much the same as Alberton. Not a place to take your children. I will never stand on the outer side again.
Very sad to hear you say that. I've been taking my kids to Elizabeth Oval for years along with all the other SANFL ovals. It's a perfectly safe place for kids - I wouldn't take them otherwise. And we sit behind the goals where all the alledged violence is supposed to occur. In fact, you won't find a more kid-friendly environment in the SANFL. And no other SANFL ground can boast as many kids kicking footies on the oval at half-time. :)

On the other hand, if you're a big-mouthed **************** who likes to "have a go", then Elizabeth Oval is NOT the place to go. :)

My worst footy ground is the Snowy Mountains Oval in Cooma. Nestled next to the cemetery, I'm sure they just shoo the cows off the ground just before the game. After a -10 night in Cooma the playing surface is frozen solid and it's like playing on concrete with a few big clumps of grass scattered about. However the locals are friendly and good blokes to have a beer with after the game.

cam said:
Very sad to hear you say that. I've been taking my kids to Elizabeth Oval for years along with all the other SANFL ovals. It's a perfectly safe place for kids - I wouldn't take them otherwise. And we sit behind the goals where all the alledged violence is supposed to occur. In fact, you won't find a more kid-friendly environment in the SANFL. And no other SANFL ground can boast as many kids kicking footies on the oval at half-time. :)

On the other hand, if you're a big-mouthed **************** who likes to "have a go", then Elizabeth Oval is NOT the place to go. :)

I happen to stand with that group... and we look down on the real trouble makers, of which one person in particular got what was coming to him after trying to mix with us and then wrecked the roof of a car in the Eagles club car park. We left him to his own devices. There are still a couple of guys in the group that we merely tolerate... but their time will come.

We have a typical ribbing session with the Magpies cheer group, and I happen to get on with a couple of them no problems.

AFL CAPRICORNIA GROUNDS

BOYNE TANNUM COUNTRY CLUB (BITS): OK facilities and decent area to warm up (there's a soccer field behind the sheds). Hate having to cross the road to get onto the ground, particularly when it's narrow and often a car passes whilst leaving the ground. Ground itself is fairly large, although the centre cricket pitch area is a rock, particularly early in the season.

CLINTON OVAL (GLADSTONE): Sheds are pretty good, with a large shower and toilet area. Good clubrooms, but the footy club has to share with the soccer (football) club. Fans are total idiots who with a sniff of alcohol become ferals, particularly in night matches. Not too bad a ground but can get cold given the close proximity to Gladstone Airport.

Ground is crap really. The pockets at the airport end are a lot bigger than those at the clubhouse end. The field has more markings on it than a blueprint for an atomic bomb (blame the soccer/football for that). The lights for night games are more suited for soccer/football than footy, and often you have trouble reading the scoreboard. The siren also breaks down often.

SWAN PARK (YEPPOON): Reasonable rooms, with a good setup with bar and canteen seperate (not that the service is good, you'd have to wait for the hot-dogs or dim sims to be cooked). The ground itself is shocking. There's often more sand and sewerage than grass, and there's a ditch behind the benches seperating the ground from the adjoining caravan park. You may also step on a sprinkler box. Add the seabreeze and you'd be glad to head to KFC after the game.

ROCKHAMPTON CRICKET GROUNDS (PANTHERS): They have improved the player facilities immeasurably. Sure the rooms are small but at least there's no chance of the rooms getting flooded. Plenty of stands and standing room although a lot of the fans like to sit/stand under the tree between the visitors rooms and the female toilets. They always run out of food which is a big worry, particularly when Panthers need the cash big time.

As for the ground, it's not too bad to play on when it's dry. However when it's wet the cricket pitches often turn to mud and the outer (racecourse) wing is often a pool of water. It's often muddy anyway, and the dew factor in the night games comes into play.

STENLAKE PARK (GLENMORE): Reasonable sized rooms although you can get a little cramped as the visiting team. However, the tradeoff is that the visiting team has a better warm-up space than the home team. The rest of the ground though is shocking. The ground is often dry and a little large for my liking. The stand that they have is too far from the arena (and provides little shade to boot). THey put a permanent roof near the canteen for shade (good canteen BTW) which blocks the view for those who want to see the Splitters Creek end from the Carlton Street end. Ground is good for the kiddies as there is a playground.

VICTORIA PARK (BROTHERS): Thank God we're moving to a new ground. Let's just leave it at that.

Have to agree with Keilor Park, Roo9699. I remember we were getting flogged there one day and it was pouring with rain. I spent most of the day in the forward line freezing and plane watching.

Also agree with Mansfield in the GV. I recall their first year and having to drive across from Rochy at 6.30am to play 3rds. You could see the snow on the mountains and the oval is shocking. If you stand on the boundary line, you can't see a person standing on the other side.

Other shockers are Castlemaine. I think it has a tree growing out of the ground on the fence and roots grow a few metres inside the boundary.

The worst location is Nullawill, which is half way between Bendigo and Mildura. The oval is incredibly dry and in the middle of farmland. Fun.

Bomber Spirit said:
Gore Hill got so rock-hard and dusty that North Shore had to abandon it late last year and move the rest of their home games to Alan Davidson. Olds Park and Wagener Oval weren't much better.

I played junior footy for St Ives there. It was a complete quagmire, I can tell you. Only Trumper Park was worse in the wet. (Well Ok, Acron Oval St Ives wasn't brilliant either.)

Are the goalposts still bent Teal? Whenever I watched a game there there was a decided tilt to at least one of the posts, especially at the Hwy End. A kick would be goal anywhere excet Gore Hill oval.

I recall watching the Swans playing an Ansett Cup match in Wagga against the Doggies. I think it was Maher Oval. The facilities were atrocious, everyone just had to stand up on the hills in 38 degree heat. The footies went flying out of the ground onto the main street, where several opportunist young brats would duly run away with them. I think the game had to be stopped because of all the footies lost.

JF

Most of the grounds in the NEFU in north east Tassie are very poor. The worst atm would be Bridport, which is built on the side of a hill on an old tip. Being near the sea it can blow a gale, is an absolute quagmire in winter and is the size of a marble rink. The opposition changerooms are so small that you can't fit the whole side in there at oce and of course there is no hot water.

Ringarooma is another funny ground that has a hill in one pocket and a cowbell for a siren. Changerooms are also diabolical.

Branxholm (My home ground and home of the mighty Wanderers) is covered knee deep in wallaby sh1t.

Winnaleah has disgusting changerooms (red mud doesn't help). The ground is often cold and windy but is generally pretty good. (apart from the fact its about the same size as subiaco which makes it hard for country footy seconds players)

and i could go on..........

davefromjerra said:
My worst footy ground is the Snowy Mountains Oval in Cooma. Nestled next to the cemetery, I'm sure they just shoo the cows off the ground just before the game. After a -10 night in Cooma the playing surface is frozen solid and it's like playing on concrete with a few big clumps of grass scattered about. However the locals are friendly and good blokes to have a beer with after the game.

Go the Cats :D

We used to reckon Snowy Oval was worth about five goals. With the demise of the Mountains Lions :(, it's now the highest football venue in Australia.

There was a team that played at Berridale at one time, which is even higher, grounds in those days were 'interesting'.

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
Are the goalposts still bent Teal? Whenever I watched a game there there was a decided tilt to at least one of the posts, especially at the Hwy End. A kick would be goal anywhere excet Gore Hill oval.
They're in line at North Sydney Oval these days, but here's one from Drummoyne Oval where they certainly are bent.
BALNO13.jpg

Having said that, Drummoyne Oval's a nice ground and the locals are friendly. It's a great place to watch footy.

Colac and District FL had some poor grounds
Alvie Recreation Reserve on side of hill, Ditto S Purrumbete ,
and Gellibrand on top of hill ( the wings dropped away.)
Beeac was always underwater in winter

Don't know what it's like now but back when i was playing Red Hill in the MPNFL as it was then was not only bitterly cold with crap change rooms bereft of any lasting hot water in the showers but also seemed to be on about a 25 degree incline .Perfect for long term knee & hamstring injuries.

bradrowe#32 said:
Have to agree with Keilor Park, Roo9699. I remember we were getting flogged there one day and it was pouring with rain. I spent most of the day in the forward line freezing and plane watching.

Agree with you here, that is probably the only good thing about being in B-grade, that we don't play at Keilor Park.

Worst Footy Ground you have been to