AFL Player # 3: Darcy Parish

I reckon Hinkley and Rutten watched the match and didn’t just check the stats after to come the same conclusion of who was best on ground.

He had a couple of shocking kicks, absolutely. So did heaps of others.

Difference is Parish also played very well around the clearances, better than anyone else by a significant margin.
We are not going to get a player who does what Parish does and also hits every kick, or even 80% of kicks. That player does not exist.
it’s not the kicks that he misses for me it’s that he doesn’t chase or fill a hole. his non defending hurts us bigtime

hinkley is a trash coach so who really cares? rutten is probably contractually obligated to vote his own stars up for fan engagement or something.

Watched replay of first 2-3 qtrs actually thought he ran defensivily quite well in the entirety

Not saying hes good every week with that

Also he was the one pulling the defenders up as they wernt setup in the right positions on a slow kick in

I love that hes challenging others, as long as he keeps running defensivily like he did on the weekend

Btw there are way worse mids defensivily than him and they arent getting 39 disp, 18 CP and clean clearances like him

Watched replay of first 2-3 qtrs actually thought he ran defensivily quite well in the entirety

Not saying hes good every week with that

Also he was the one pulling the defenders up as they wernt setup in the right positions on a slow kick in

I love that hes challenging others, as long as he keeps running defensivily like he did on the weekend

Btw there are way worse mids defensivily than him and they arent getting 39 disp, 18 CP and clean clearances like him
^^This

He is absolutely the least of our problems.

Can't believe the crap he is getting on here.

^^This

He is absolutely the least of our problems.

Can't believe the crap he is getting on here.
Opinions.
He is a conundrum. Plays some really good footy but is also one of our biggest issues defensively . It is fine to have defensive issues if you play at the level of Dustin Partin but Parish is not that level. One of our best players yes but is he replaceable ?

Opinions.
He is a conundrum. Plays some really good footy but is also one of our biggest issues defensively . It is fine to have defensive issues if you play at the level of Dustin Partin but Parish is not that level. One of our best players yes but is he replaceable ?
Sure he can improve defensively but so can the whole side.

He is an elite extractor of the ball. I'd replace 10 players before Parish. He needs players around him to step up.

Sure he can improve defensively but so can the whole side.

He is an elite extractor of the ball. I'd replace 10 players before Parish. He needs players around him to step up.
Can he improve defensively ? they have been trying to make him do that for 3 seasons now.
He is a very good to elite clearance player but what he does is replaceable even though that part of his game is very good.
What he needs to do is step up for the team and do some more defensive work. Right now he is having 40 touches and limited impact on games.
30 touches and a bit more defensive work. Get the tackle average above 4 and stop sheep dogging the ball.
Right now he is a super coach player. All about the cheap stats.
It is like he is just cruising along thinking how great he was last year and he does not have to worry.
There may be 10 others to replace but it does not change the fact he needs to find another lever again and so far this year he has gone backwards.

All coming from the Shiel lovers mate

Trying to make themsleves feel better

Pretty ordinary stuff tbh

Don't know if that's a fair comment. I think all anyone can ask is that Parish buys into the team defense stuff, just like every other player should be doing as well. We're not going to be a good team if we don't get all the players on the same page.

Shiel's in the same basket as far as I'm concerned. He needs to pull his head in and think about defense as well, we don't want to see any player walking around like they're above all that, and from the outside it looks like the whole midfield has been acting that way.

All coming from the Shiel lovers mate

Trying to make themsleves feel better

Pretty ordinary stuff tbh
You would know. Your posts are full of the same.;)
I have been as critical of Shiel as I have of Parish.
At least I do not feel the urge to tag people into match day threads to make myself feel better :eek:

You would know. Your posts are full of the same.;)
I have been as critical of Shiel as I have of Parish.
At least I do not feel the urge to tag people into match day threads to make myself feel better :eek:
Only this year when the world highlighted it to you

Shiel and Parish are poles apart unfortunately

Only this year when the world highlighted it to you

Shiel and Parish are poles apart unfortunately

Last year Shiel was injured most of the year so how can you claim what you where saying. You actually changed your tune pre season anyway. At least I can admit when I am wrong.
Shiel was great in 2019. As good as what Parish is producing now.
Parish and Shiel may be poles apart right now but if you look at their careers side by side year by year they are the same player. That is a fact.
At no stage have I said Shiel was better than Parish in the last 2 years. My only argument was it would not be a good idea to trade Shiel and reduce the midfield depth and that both players should be judged by the same standards. This year Shiel has proven that argument to be wrong as he has not adapted to playing a different role.
At no stage have I said Shiel should be playing the role in front of Parish.

Last year Shiel was injured most of the year so how can you claim what you where saying. You actually changed your tune pre season anyway. At least I can admit when I am wrong.
Parish and Shiel may be poles apart right now but if you look at their careers side by side year by year they are the same player. That is a fact.
At no stage have I said Shiel was better than Parish in the last 2 years. My only argument was it would not be a good idea to trade Shiel and reduce the midfield depth and that both players should be judged by the same standards. This year Shiel has proven that argument to be wrong as he has not adapted to playing a different role.
Definitely different roles. Parish lightning with his hands, Shiel better burst speed.

Parish the extractor, Shiel the receiver. Should be complimenting each other. We need a Boak type that can pressure opposition mids defensively.

Now if they both clean up their disposal by foot they would not get exposed on the rebound.

The best defensive team in the league would struggle with our turnovers. Offensive running wins premierships too. We just need better execution going forward.

I think there are several posters on this board who have talked up Shiel since he was traded to us and games since until probably round 8ish this year defended him

Those posters are now targetting Parish for reasons i didnt rate Shiel and ive not just been talking post 2021. Ive far longer been his critique of hardness and defending.

Zerrett is a far larger issue than Parish imo

Parish disp, score involvments clearances and CP make him an elite player. I dont think his defensive transition is elite but not bad from what ive seen recently. Also think those on the bigger money, higher up rank in leadership and those more experienced should probably be leading the way.

Anyway we leave it there. Its pointless having to continually go over the same stuff everytime with the same posters.

Not sure what tune your sayingnive changed with Shiel. If its trade/not trade? Then i will say hes become so worthless in the market that you may aswell hold and hope he can change his ways and at worst give us an onball rotation or depth in the vfl

I think there are several posters on this board who have talked up Shiel since he was traded to us and games since until probably round 8ish this year defended him

Those posters are now targetting Parish for reasons i didnt rate Shiel and ive not just been talking post 2021. Ive far longer been his critique of hardness and defending.

Zerrett is a far larger issue than Parish imo

Parish disp, score involvments clearances and CP make him an elite player. I dont think his defensive transition is elite but not bad from what ive seen. Also think those on the bigger money, higher up rank in leadership and those more experienced should be leading the way.

Anyway we leave it there. Its pointless having to continually go over the same stuff everytime with the same posters.

Not sure what tune your sayingnive changed with Shiel. If its trade/not trade? Then i will say hes become so worthless in the market that you may aswell hold and hope he can change his ways and at worst give us an onball rotation or depth in the vfl

Can not agree at all with how you are watching Parish in defense. Have never been a massive fan of Merrett in defense either but he has put more effort in than Parish this year.
The only reason I backed over it was you had to have a cheap shot.

Definitely different roles. Parish lightning with his hands, Shiel better burst speed.

Parish the extractor, Shiel the receiver. Should be complimenting each other. We need a Boak type that can pressure opposition mids defensively.

Now if they both clean up their disposal by foot they would not get exposed on the rebound.

The best defensive team in the league would struggle with our turnovers. Offensive running wins premierships too. We just need better execution going forward.
Shiel's elite thing over his career. Clearance. He is not actually a second receiver. Go back and watch his GWS games or 2019. Parish and Shiel are 90% the same players at their best. Trouble is Shiel is now just collecting his pay check because he has not got the number 1 role which he had to prove he could take it back from Parish and he has not.
In fairness to the mids the total lack of forward pressure is more telling than their stuff ups with the defense and zone.

AFL Player # 3: Darcy Parish

Write your reply...