Preview Round 19, 2022: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 24th July, 4:40PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Eagles

Votes: 29 59.2%
  • Saints

Votes: 20 40.8%

Aside from the fact that on the most recent form of them both you’d have to pick Long over Windy- if winning is your main objective- I reckon we’ve also missed a trick by not letting Windy play a game alongside Hanners in particular in the midfield for Sandy.

I’m not sure playing another game up forward in the seniors and probably having another sub-10 disposal game is going to do amazing things for Windy’s development, but playing a game or two alongside Hanners and having him instructing you all game long like a playing coach in the midfield could have been seriously worthwhile.
I just reckon it was rude and stupid not to insulate our 1st year players from this game. The emotional fallout from a loss and the plane trip home and so on.
And you point is entirely correct. Shoulda been at Sandy this week.

I just reckon it was rude and stupid not to insulate our 1st year players from this game. The emotional fallout from a loss and the plane trip home and so on.
And you point is entirely correct. Shoulda been at Sandy this week.
I’m not sure a coach can win. You don’t want a young guy to play. Others say just play the young guys as the season is shot. I wouldn’t have played windhanger but only due to form. You could look it another way and that’s a win and they enjoy the plane trip home and have great team bonding.

Were it not the last vestige of our finals chances whilst we're in terrible form, rather than a typical H&A game it wouldn't matter.
Like the OP said, he'd be better served at Sandy this week for several reasons.
I just don't think it's smart management.

I think from here 12 wins would likely get us in.

Obviously all this relies on us turning our form around enormously. That's the huge thing against us but when you look at the run-in we seem as good a chance as anyone to make it which is frankly bizarre.
If this week and next week’s games all go as expected, we will be two games clear in 8th spot with three games to go.

We then most likely only need to win one more game to make the finals. Our season is very much alive, and I’m sure the players haven’t put the cue in the rack, even if some supporters have.

From out perspective, the Richmond- Freo draw was the equivalent of a loss for the Tigers - taking into account their much higher percentage, so that result could see them just missing the 8 and us just making it.

Realist and pessimism seem to be totally different things.
I’m also not sure how you can continue to support the club for years and years without even a small degree of optimism. Otherwise there would be absolutely no joy at all - seriously depressing.

If this week and next week’s games all go as expected, we will be two games clear in 8th spot with three games to go.

We then most likely only need to win one more game to make the finals. Our season is very much alive, and I’m sure the players haven’t put the cue in the rack, even if some supporters have.

From out perspective, the Richmond- Freo draw was the equivalent of a loss for the Tigers - taking into account their much higher percentage, so that result could see them just missing the 8 and us just making it.
The thing is we don't know if they can beat WCE or Hawks , we should but you don't know what they produce on the day like the Tigers getting beaten by Nth.
And expect us to beat one of Cats , Lions and Swans is a big ask the way they are performing.

Anyway hopefully the next 2 games we get the confidence back and they score good wins and knock off one of the better teams like you say.

If we do scrap in to play finals this Saints team could surprise any team on the day they turn up to play.

And how and who gets to decide what is exaggerated. It sounds a bit dictatorish.

Is that a serious question? Those who have the job of moderating do. It’s literally their job.

Like how the job of those who umpire games of footy is to you know, umpire. To make judgement calls on whether actions on the field are against the rules or not.

All those whingeing about how he’s moderating are like those out on the ground who are having a massive sook about having a free kick paid against them.

The rules of the forum are that exaggerated criticism of the club or those involved are NOT ALLOWED. It’s literally written in the rules of the forum, and I’m pretty sure that when we all sign up here we agree to abide by the rules of the forum.

So if you CHOOSE to post here, you’re doing so knowing that that stuff is NOT ALLOWED and as such, if anyone does it, it’s reasonable to expect that there will be consequences of such action.

And they will be taken by- you guessed it- those who’s job it is to make those calls.

I find it staggering that you genuinely asked that question and need it explained to you.

All those having a massive sook about George doing his job are coming across as spoiled little children throwing a temper tantrum in the toy store because their parents won’t buy them the toy they want. It’s embarrassing to read it. Cringe.

Childish af.

Is that a serious question? Those who have the job of moderating do. It’s literally their job.

Like how the job of those who umpire games of footy is to you know, umpire. To make judgement calls on whether actions on the field are against the rules or not.

All those whingeing about how he’s moderating are like those out on the ground who are having a massive sook about having a free kick paid against them.

The rules of the forum are that exaggerated criticism of the club or those involved are NOT ALLOWED. It’s literally written in the rules of the forum, and I’m pretty sure that when we all sign up here we agree to abide by the rules of the forum.

So if you CHOOSE to post here, you’re doing so knowing that that stuff is NOT ALLOWED and as such, if anyone does it, it’s reasonable to expect that there will be consequences of such action.

And they will be taken by- you guessed it- those who’s job it is to make those calls.

I find it staggering that you genuinely asked that question and need it explained to you.

All those having a massive sook about George doing his job are coming across as spoiled little children throwing a temper tantrum in the toy store because their parents won’t buy them the toy they want. It’s embarrassing to read it.

He let people off for bagging players last night after his shit crack but he wants to ban me for doing my thing based on what he decides are exaggerations. He claimed I'd been exaggerating which wasn't even over the top using his example. Go back and find all my terrible crimes and report them instead of having a sook.

The moderators role is voluntary, it's not a job and it's not meant for people to use their power to settle their personal grievances. If George doesn't like someone he can just ban them. I don't think that's what moderation is meant to be.

You would be on his side anyway because you agree with his stance, you are one of the biggest snipers on here. Always having a drive by swing on the way through. Maybe you should take up mod duties, then you could have some more bite in your snipes.

He let people off for bagging players last night after his s**t crack but he wants to ban me for doing my thing based on what he decides are exaggerations. He claimed I'd been exaggerating which wasn't even over the top using his example. Go back and find all my terrible crimes and report them instead of having a sook.

The moderators role is voluntary, it's not a job and it's not meant for people to use their power to settle their personal grievances. If George doesn't like someone he can just ban them. I don't think that's what moderation is meant to be.

You would be on his side anyway because you agree with his stance, you are one of the biggest snipers on here. Always having a drive by swing on the way through. Maybe you should take up mod duties, then you could have some more bite in your snipes.
You could at least come and ask me and I'd be happy to clarify anything for you. You make up a lot of stuff about what people say or think, it's easier to just come and get my view on it. I actually like you and enjoy reading much of what you have to say, and I would like to think we take the piss out of each other in other threads often but it's all just a bit of fun, but part of what I'm doing here is trying to create some kind of objective discussion. Allowing negativity of course, but not letting that become a constant theme or letting it spiral into hysteria that we have seen for the best part of the last month. It seems to me that we never discuss the club with any rationale after a loss. Those that are waiting to find fault with the club take each loss as their opportunity to launch into diatribes about every aspect of the club and there's a fair bit of it that is exaggerated criticism. To me exaggerated criticism is two things. One is just over the top abuse in a single comment, and the other is repetitive, continued criticism. It's not happening anymore.

I'm over people taking it so personally too. It's a rule that's been there for years that hasn't been enforced, now we actually say we'll be doing our jobs and the place erupts. It's completely up to you in how you comment on this forum. If you feel it's overstepping the mark and could get you carded, simply don't post it. In the 4 years I've modded this place I've warned you once. You probably deserved more but I'm not an arseh*le about it, I understand people are frustrated. It seems a bit silly to me that you've reacted this way given you have got off basically scott-free for years. In totality you've been here 11 years and copped 2 warnings. You haven't had one in over a year.

The personal grievances take is complete rubbish and the easiest out for a persons behaviour. I've weeded out most of the actual unhinged posters over the last few years and all warnings get looked at by admin and/or you have the opportunity to go to them if you feel it's unfair, so I've always tried to have adequate reason to card someone before doing it because I have to back it up. I just can't go around suspending people because I don't like them. And why would I want to go around carding everyone when this is the kind of response I get for simply saying I will be enforcing a rule? Imagine actually carding someone. It's not worth the trouble but this kind of hysterical talk about the club and players is over.

You could at least come and ask me and I'd be happy to clarify anything for you. You make up a lot of stuff about what people say or think, it's easier to just come and get my view on it. I actually like you and enjoy reading much of what you have to say, and I would like to think we take the piss out of each other in other threads often but it's all just a bit of fun, but part of what I'm doing here is trying to create some kind of objective discussion. Allowing negativity of course, but not letting that become a constant theme or letting it spiral into hysteria that we have seen for the best part of the last month. It seems to me that we never discuss the club with any rationale after a loss. Those that are waiting to find fault with the club take each loss as their opportunity to launch into diatribes about every aspect of the club and there's a fair bit of it that is exaggerated criticism. To me exaggerated criticism is two things. One is just over the top abuse in a single comment, and the other is repetitive, continued criticism. It's not happening anymore.

I'm over people taking it so personally too. It's a rule that's been there for years that hasn't been enforced, now we actually say we'll be doing our jobs and the place erupts. It's completely up to you in how you comment on this forum. If you feel it's overstepping the mark and could get you carded, simply don't post it. In the 4 years I've modded this place I've warned you once. You probably deserved more but I'm not an arseh*le about it, I understand people are frustrated. It seems a bit silly to me that you've reacted this way given you have got off basically scott-free for years. In totality you've been here 11 years and copped 2 warnings. You haven't had one in over a year.

The personal grievances take is complete rubbish and the easiest out for a persons behaviour. I've weeded out most of the actual unhinged posters over the last few years and all warnings get looked at by admin and/or you have the opportunity to go to them if you feel it's unfair, so I've always tried to have adequate reason to card someone before doing it because I have to back it up. I just can't go around suspending people because I don't like them. And why would I want to go around carding everyone when this is the kind of response I get for simply saying I will be enforcing a rule? Imagine actually carding someone. It's not worth the trouble but this kind of hysterical talk about the club and players is over.

I was arguing over him saying that it's childish to not want someone deciding on their point of view of what is exaggeration or excessive. It still comes down to what mood you are in as to how you enforce it. I'm not a fan of stifling free speech. Pushing shit down and not talking about it never works.

This place has it's own equilibrium, if someone goes too far either way people pull them up. I don't think I go over the top and you couldn't even find a clear example of how I'd broken the rules. General negativity seems hard to quantify to me.

I think we have good banter generally but still don't like the chest puffing stuff. I think the place only blew up when there was threats to ban people for doing the same thing that's gone on here for years. The same thing happened at Saintsational, a guy took over and started to be the hanging judge on what was acceptable behaviour according to his own personal canon. It fractured the place and everybody fights more than ever.

If people expect the place to be happy after the season collapsed, I think they are being unreasonable in their expectations. If by some miracle the side can right the ship it will go back to being positive. It's like you want people to dance at a funeral. It's just not realistic.....and then telling them that you'll fine them for not smiling is just an added layer of annoying.

I was arguing over him saying that it's childish to not want someone deciding on their point of view of what is exaggeration or excessive. It still comes down to what mood you are in as to how you enforce it. I'm not a fan of stifling free speech. Pushing s**t down and not talking about it never works.

This place has it's own equilibrium, if someone goes too far either way people pull them up. I don't think I go over the top and you couldn't even find a clear example of how I'd broken the rules. General negativity seems hard to quantify to me.

I think we have good banter generally but still don't like the chest puffing stuff. I think the place only blew up when there was threats to ban people for doing the same thing that's gone on here for years. The same thing happened at Saintsational, a guy took over and started to be the hanging judge on what was acceptable behaviour according to his own personal canon. It fractured the place and everybody fights more than ever.

If people expect the place to be happy after the season collapsed, I think they are being unreasonable in their expectations. If by some miracle the side can right the ship it will go back to being positive. It's like you want people to dance at a funeral. It's just not realistic.....and then telling them that you'll fine them for not smiling is just an added layer of annoying.
You take it to the extreme with what you assume will be the alternative. I don't know how many times it needs repeating that we aren't after everyone smiling and happy. Lets quit assuming that's what anyone is after.

I think you go over the top, not in one single post but definitely the continued criticism you heap on the club. Half of it is warranted half of it isn't. I can find many examples of how you've broken the rules if you like. The fact you weren't carded doesn't mean you followed the rules, it's been more a case of us not enforcing them as they are written but we will begin doing that now. So again, if you think you've been shitting on the club for a while or are about to make an over the top comment, it's probably best you just don't.

It's hard to see what you're actually frustrated about, you don't really have a legitimate reason to be. You've been posting the same way for a number of years and only received one warning. Granted we've allowed this, but you've been skirting the rules for years. I don't get the uproar.

I like to play devils advocate to balance out discussion. Don’t get too happy don’t get too sad/mad.

You take it to the extreme with what you assume will be the alternative. I don't know how many times it needs repeating that we aren't after everyone smiling and happy. Lets quit assuming that's what anyone is after.

I think you go over the top, not in one single post but definitely the continued criticism you heap on the club. Half of it is warranted half of it isn't. I can find many examples of how you've broken the rules if you like. The fact you weren't carded doesn't mean you followed the rules, it's been more a case of us not enforcing them as they are written but we will begin doing that now. So again, if you think you've been shitting on the club for a while or are about to make an over the top comment, it's probably best you just don't.

It's hard to see what you're actually frustrated about, you don't really have a legitimate reason to be. You've been posting the same way for a number of years and only received one warning. Granted we've allowed this, but you've been skirting the rules for years. I don't get the uproar.

I don't tend to straight out bag players, I have criticised certain staff who's areas are not functioning properly and prosecuted what I think are fair arguments. Same with players, if I criticise a player I think it's fair to explain why. You'll have to dig a bit to find one where I've straight out said derogatory stuff for no reason. Perhaps in a match day situation.

I don't think I'm one that tends to just go and say the club is shit without explanation like some do except in a tongue in cheek way. I think you'll find I'm not a regular flouter of your rules unless you are choosing to take what I'm saying as excessive which I think is subjective.

I think I'm generally negative about our situation but I don't see what is in the rules that says you can't be a downer and a bore. Most of what you and your posse of "positives" claim is negativity recently is them arguing with me saying that the coaches are the cause of our downfall where they think it's the list. I could say you are all being negative because you disagree with me. The guys you think are positive are just as boring and negative as me but have a more acceptable point of view in your mind.

It tends to go me making a statement, them ridiculing the statement, me justifying it and ridiculing back, them knuckling down for a fight and me fighting back. It then goes on and on but you want us to take the blame for it all.

I don't tend to straight out bag players, I have criticised certain staff who's areas are not functioning properly and prosecuted what I think are fair arguments. Same with players, if I criticise a player I think it's fair to explain why. You'll have to dig a bit to find one where I've straight out said derogatory stuff for no reason. Perhaps in a match day situation.

I don't think I'm one that tends to just go and say the club is s**t without explanation like some do except in a tongue in cheek way. I think you'll find I'm not a regular flouter of your rules unless you are choosing to take what I'm saying as excessive which I think is subjective.

I think I'm generally negative about our situation but I don't see what is in the rules that says you can't be a downer and a bore. Most of what you and your posse of "positives" claim is negativity recently is them arguing with me saying that the coaches are the cause of our downfall where they think it's the list. I could say you are all being negative because you disagree with me. The guys you think are positive are just as boring and negative as me but have a more acceptable point of view in your mind.

It tends to go me making a statement, them ridiculing the statement, me justifying it and ridiculing back, them knuckling down for a fight and me fighting back. It then goes on and on but you want us to take the blame for it all.
All good. Excessive criticism will be dealt with the same way regardless if it's at the coach or at the players. Happy to take it to PM if you like.

Playing finals is never a bad thing. For us to make we have beaten good sides so we will be in form. Having said that I think west coast are playing better than us so tomorrow is far from a certain win. I do know one thing though. Today I will umpire worse than any game previously. Got a massive headache. The 4 hash brown 3 dim sims and a no sugar coke to lose weight hasn’t improved the situation.
Are you sure you didn't get some of those 'hash' dim sims by mistake? That would account for the head ache. 😉

I’m not about to read all those long paragraphs, I never do.
But with George and gringo going at it I feel like a kid trying to watch TV while mum and dad are have a domestic in the kitchen.
We'll have make-up sex in a couple days, you just continue watching your show, son.

Yep it’s the game plan for sure. Surely his form is no where near last year. He was AA. Even without injury he isn’t even close to AA. Anyway my point stands. He is certain to be captain unless he leaves the club.

His numbers haven't collapsed so I'd say it's Jack Sinclair going past him, Crouch and Ross both playing like A graders too. Brad Crouch's numbers are top 20 in the AFL in a lot of markers.

4 Saints are in the top 50 player rankings on Footywire. Sinclair at 13 is highest, Steele, Crouch and Ross the others. Cats have 2, Guthrie at 30, Stewart at 35. Mitch Duncan next best on 55 then Selwood at 66.

It shows how much a team game makes a difference. Their personal stats look ordinary but they don't have weak links. Probably doesn't rank LPs high enough because their tall timber is probably their strength.

It will be interesting if they win a flag though. It would be a revolution in footy with a side with a serviceable midfield going all the way.