Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:

When was the last time a sub 170cm player was drafted inside the top 5?
Never. A player would have to be undeniably elite, as in 30+ touches and multiple goals a game, for that to happen. Watson will slide a lot compared to where people think he is now IMO.

I dont want Reid. If we get Reid then we have finished last as nobody is trading out pick 1. That means we are far, far further back in the rebuild than is comfortable and we will be continuing well into the Tassie years.

We should be aiming to finish higher than this year. We dont need to bottom out any more. The core of the group is great and we've added plethora of early picks (and Nuke) in recent years. DGB, Day, Stephens, Ward, CMac, CMac, Butler, Weddle, Hustwaite and Newcombe is a fantastic group to go with the 'older' guys.

This group can challenge for a flag, the time to move up is now. I am hoping to see a 2006 like year, hopefully better. Challenge for finals in 24, start adding pieces to the puzzle in 25 via free agents and trades (and that will come hard, more players will request Hawthorn before you know it. 3 players requested to come to Hawthorn this year and we were shite) and contend for the following 8-10 years with a group that know each other backwards.
I can see a scenario where North, Essendon and Adelaide jump us with slightly more seasoned bodies, the Saints and Dogs decline a little but not enough to fall past us and we end up with pick 3 ahead of the Eagles and GWS.

Trade pick 3 and something big (maybe future 1) for Reid and then overtake the aforementioned sides in 2024 to push for finals ahead of a wondow opening from 2025

177cm and drafted at pick 12.

The closest would be Kozzie Pickett at 171cm, who was Pick 12 back in 2019. He was only picked that early because Melbourne were desperate for a player in that role.

I dont want Reid. If we get Reid then we have finished last as nobody is trading out pick 1. That means we are far, far further back in the rebuild than is comfortable and we will be continuing well into the Tassie years.

We should be aiming to finish higher than this year. We dont need to bottom out any more. The core of the group is great and we've added plethora of early picks (and Nuke) in recent years. DGB, Day, Stephens, Ward, CMac, CMac, Butler, Weddle, Hustwaite and Newcombe is a fantastic group to go with the 'older' guys.

This group can challenge for a flag, the time to move up is now. I am hoping to see a 2006 like year, hopefully better. Challenge for finals in 24, start adding pieces to the puzzle in 25 via free agents and trades (and that will come hard, more players will request Hawthorn before you know it. 3 players requested to come to Hawthorn this year and we were shite) and contend for the following 8-10 years with a group that know each other backwards.
Look mate, no one wants to be the worst team in the league. But when it comes down to our list, there's every chance we run out of gas early, the kids get outplayed in crunch time, or we flat-out just aren't good enough and we end up losing a lot of games. Does that mean we're doomed? No, we can weather a year or two down in the depths while our young players get experienced. I'd be happy to end up around the pick 5 mark, but there is every chance this is the year we are rubbish and get walloped to oblivion. If that happens, then we end up with Reid. Let's let everyone have a little bit of light going into what could be a very dark season results-wise while still being a fun and enjoyable ride as we watch the team build together. If your expectation for the next few seasons is finals runs you're just setting yourself up for disappointment. Start with pick 1, then get pleasantly surprised when we end up at 10th after a good run to finish the year off.

Hes mated me!! I want trying to stop others have some light, sorry if I came across abrasive, didn't mean to.

You are right, we are in a win/win situation, especially given ask the talented forwards available early. I personally don't think it will be a dark season

Also, im 41. I'm a big boy, I don't mind being set up for disappointment! I've always been a pretty optimistic person and it's served me well.

Being rubbish and getting walloped would be a massive failure. No one should temper their expectations to that level. That would indicate some huge coaching and list management errors that we wouldn't return from easily.

Last couple years we have found/developed a few players in that 22-26 yo bracket that will be striving to become the new leaders of the club. And recently instead of drafting some kids we have drafted some young men which should fast track our development. Remember hearing Mitch during an interview soon after the departures of Tom/JOM talking about us having the nucleus of a side that will bring us back into contention again and I think this was before the 22 draft crop.

If we end up bottom next year I would be extremely disappointed and there would be no positives for me. It would rather create a little bit of doubt which I would prefer not. However if we end up with 7-9 wins with a pick 5-8 it would show that we are on the right track.

Imagine we finish last but the AFL give North a priority pick......pick 1
Staring Episode 2 GIF by The Office

Well done mate. The huge key to developing our team is CHF. If Kosi or Jeka take a decent stride fwd then a lot of (so called) journalists will be making excuses.

Hes mated me!! I want trying to stop others have some light, sorry if I came across abrasive, didn't mean to.

You are right, we are in a win/win situation, especially given ask the talented forwards available early. I personally don't think it will be a dark season

Also, im 41. I'm a big boy, I don't mind being set up for disappointment! I've always been a pretty optimistic person and it's served me well.

I don't mind us finishing last IF we have lost a lot of games by one or two kicks. 👍

Watson will be the first. He's a certainty.
I'll believe it if the hype is there at the end of next season.

As it sits, there are always late bloomers who come from almost nowhere to early pick calculations. This year alone was MacKenzie, Cadman, Phillipou and Ginbey who were nowhere near it at the start of this season but all top 10 with a bullet at the end. If Watson stays sub 170cm I reckon he slides.

Watson will be the first. He's a certainty.
Dylan Moore was touted as #25 - #40 prospect and after a very solid season played really well at the 2017 Champs. Yet he fell to #68 (thankfully), as the clubs all went cold on his height.

Not saying Watson won’t appeal as a first rounder, and possibly top 10, but it would seriously buck the trend if it happens.

if people are interested in my early reads for the 2023 draft or even the 2024 and a couple for 2025 then i have some names and general information in my thread in the draft section of bigfooty, i have a top 50 plus 34 others to keep an eye out for next year(also heights and weights, clubs and a little blurb of thoughts for each player), i have a top 25 or so for 2024 draft ect as well.

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread