Coach Craig McRae

Only “ever so slightly”?!?!

That’s a bit harsh.

Having a flag in the bank means that we have a coach who has shown that he’s capable of winning it all, capable of coming back from adversity, adapting to conditions, and doing all those things needed to be the very best. And he did it with a list - I love ‘em - but they’re a long way from the best. What Fly has shown he can do is wring everything out them that they’re capable of.

There is no nagging feeling in the back of our mind wondering “Can Fly do this?”

Of course that doesn’t mean he will achieve success again. But we know he will give it a red hot crack.

Unless you reckon Ginnivan was the key to our success?

This game is mostly about the present. The flag is a wonderful memory to warm our hearts unto death but as the season wears on if we are struggling and mid table the sweet aroma of that success will become stale and many will be unhappy and critical.

I agree with you when you say our list is not the best in the competition. All the more to Fly's credit that he has achieved so much in two years.

I have no doubt about Fly's ability to bring us more success.

This game is mostly about the present. The flag is a wonderful memory to warm our hearts unto death but as the season wears on if we are struggling and mid table the sweet aroma of that success will become stale and many will be unhappy and critical.

I agree with you when you say our list is not the best in the competition. All the more to Fly's credit that he has achieved so much in two years.

I have no doubt about Fly's ability to bring us more success.
Flags are resigned to history, it’s the winning them that is the driver on the path forward. We’ll get back there, I’m hoping we are still in this years. I do sense that we may have climbed the hill for now and a little content having reached the peak and still just caught up a little with the view.

I will forever be in debt to Fly and what he has done for this club, but his selection integrity has been baffling to me throughout his whole tenure

I would add his 'in game changes' which seem non existent.

Jeez the knives come out early.
I don't think they are. What is wrong with questioning what we have dished out so far?

Only minor personnel changes from the team that won the grand final.

Sydney smacked us, we looked lost.

Flags are resigned to history, it’s the winning them that is the driver on the path forward.

That becomes a bit problematic …

…. because inevitably we’ll get those who say things like “It’s Fly’s fault we left the cupboard dry and we should have delisted Pendlebury / Sidebottom / Howe / Mitchell years earlier” …

… which becomes all-to-easy to say when we have the 2023 flag in the bank.

That becomes a bit problematic …

…. because inevitably we’ll get those who say things like “It’s Fly’s fault we left the cupboard dry and we should have delisted Pendlebury / Sidebottom / Howe / Mitchell years earlier” …

… which becomes all-to-easy to say when we have 2023 flag in the bank.
I’m taking a flag every day, they’re too hard to come by.

I don't think they are. What is wrong with questioning what we have dished out so far?

Only minor personnel changes from the team that won the grand final.

Sydney smacked us, we looked lost.
I thought we also looked figured out. We couldn’t buy an easy transition out of D50, but we never changed angles. Once we stalled it was all long bombs to the point of the centre square. I think we’ll see more switching this week and taking what St Kilda give us.

Maybe not playing the guy who was a big driver of our transition for over 40 consecutive games has something to do with it.

Agree. Longmire is a good coach and need to give him and his players credit.

One instance has stuck in my mind where I felt sorry for Moore. Majority of our players were upfield, we had the ball then there was a turnover and they quickly moved it toward their goal. Moore had a player in front and one at the back, he went to the one in front. It really didn't matter which one he went to he was done. No-one around to assist.

Our system broke down badly all night.

This is not a knife out situation, merely an observation.

Maybe not playing the guy who was a big driver of our transition for over 40 consecutive games has something to do with it.
Noble? If so I personally don’t rate his ability to hit targets in traffic on transition. I’m looking more at IQ, Howe, Moore, Naicos (early 2023), Jaicos and Steele. All are extremely good users of the ball, but either aren’t getting it in those situations or aren’t executing like they were in 2023. Basically think Maynard’s kick to Howe in the GF to setup Hill’s screamer goal. At our best we routinely hit that target, but v Sydney their pressure took that away and we didn’t switch at all to try to make them defend for longer or open up the ground. I don’t think that’s coaching either there’s enough experience on the field to make that adjustment in game.

By foot he’s average but he was often able to get past his opponent with a side step and hand pass to those better delivers in space. Failing that he was a good territory player. Atm the moment our half backs just skirt around the outside and push the ball wide. The only player in the backLine taking the game on atm is Crisp but he’s getting caught often.

It’s not the sole reason our transition is gone but it’s one of them.

By foot he’s average but he was often able to get past his opponent with a side step and hand pass to those better delivers in space. Failing that he was a good territory player. Atm the moment our half backs just skirt around the outside and push the ball wide. The only player in the backLine taking the game on atm is Crisp but he’s getting caught often.

We were taking territory on Friday and it killed us because they won all of those contests. Beating that first tackle was what we really needed, but Sydney were ruthless and I don’t see Noble beating the tackles Steele and Crisp couldn’t.

FWIW I think there’s a role there for Noble at the expense of WHE if we continue to struggle in transition.

Edit: only a thought, but HH, TJ and Haz could also be options as we build into the season in that role. I suspect they’ll be equally as good defensively, but better ball in hand.

We were taking territory on Friday and it killed us because they won all of those contests. Beating that first tackle was what we really needed, but Sydney were ruthless and I don’t see Noble beating the tackles Steele and Crisp couldn’t.

FWIW I think there’s a role there for Noble at the expense of WHE if we continue to struggle in transition.

Edit: only a thought, but HH, TJ and Haz could also be options as we build into the season in that role. I suspect they’ll be equally as good defensively, but better ball in hand.
I’d add McCreery to that thought as I think having 4 small forwards all of them would struggle to get into the game at the best of time let alone now. I also think he’s being wasted in sub 10 possession role and if the club do view him as a someone who can transition into the middle then I think playing a behind the ball role were he can get some easier possessions at the back of the pack and run forward will help with his development.

I'd play Little John - I'm a fan, but which role player plays the role doesn't move the dial very much.
I’d argue the role players matter more in deciding how the whole team plays as the stars are usually multifaceted enough to adapt to any style.

IMO one of the reasons behind our success recently was the phasing out role players such as Mayne, Phillips, Aish, Thomas and Brown and replacing them with the likes of Hill, Lipinski, Markov/Noble, McReery

We’re not going to have good transition team if we leave out our line breakers for more conservative role players.

Of course though one role player for another isn’t going to make a large change to the team overall.

I’d argue the role players matter more in deciding how the whole team plays as the stars are usually multifaceted enough to adapt to any style.

IMO one of the reasons behind our success recently was the phasing out role players such as Mayne, Phillips, Aish, Thomas and Brown and replacing them with the likes of Hill, Lipinski, Markov/Noble, McReery

We’re not going to have good transition team if we leave out our line breakers for more conservative role players.

Of course though one role player for another isn’t going to make a large change to the team overall.
We've gone for more role specific specialist skills.

And I'd pick Noble too as I think his specialist skills add to our pressure and transition. But at the same time, I'm not going to second guess the coaches to that degree regarding the last role filled and whether we're better off having Noble play the one role he can, or WHEs extra versatility or rotate a mid through the one role JN can play. None of it is a big difference maker. Particularly as changing the angles with the ball is likely to be how we look to get out of our transition funk and that's not Jonny's bag.

I reckon it'll be Mitchell for WHE
And whatever we do with the talls.

i dont think its any coincidence Markov has replaced Noble - at 13kg's heavier amd 8cm taller with equivalent speed it was a no brainer.
Constant broken tackles and inability to break tackles has been a well discussed issue here with Noble.
Of course his endeavour and application is first rate but its really not enough.

That said, if the short back up has effected runners, then I'd say he'll get picked, because we can't compromise on speed.

We've gone for more role specific specialist skills.

And I'd pick Noble too as I think his specialist skills add to our pressure and transition. But at the same time, I'm not going to second guess the coaches to that degree regarding the last role filled and whether we're better off having Noble play the one role he can, or WHEs extra versatility or rotate a mid through the one role JN can play. None of it is a big difference maker. Particularly as changing the angles with the ball is likely to be how we look to get out of our transition funk and that's not Jonny's bag.

I reckon it'll be Mitchell for WHE
And whatever we do with the talls.
Changing the angles isn’t in Noble’s bag but he allows the better users to change the angles when he breaks the lines and links up with them. He was particularly effective at that when Nick Daicos was still at half back.

Back the coaches in. JN became less effective last year as the year went on as teams took storming through the corridor away from us. We can't have only one way of moving it, because whatever the way is is defendable.

I see this week as a litmus test for Fly.

He took a well-drilled defensive-minded squad, added some run and let them loose, giving them confidence, flair and hope. It was brilliant coaching.

Does he now have the ability to right the ship when things are going wrong?

Does he have a hard side like Clarko, Dimma, Horse to challenge the team to perform better, when they are clearly not putting in as much effort or desperation as the last two years?

I certainly hope so.

He took a well-drilled defensive-minded squad, added some run and let them loose, giving them confidence, flair and hope. It was brilliant coaching.

Does he have a hard side like Clarko, Dimma, Horse to challenge the team to perform better, when they are clearly not putting in as much effort or desperation as the last two years?

I certainly hope so.
Fly has openly stated from day one that he is a winner. Any competitive beast is going to do whatever it takes to be at their best and optimize their chances of success.

Fly can be ruthless. Look what he did to Noble.

Finally got to watch Take the Steps (no Hoyt's cinemas in my region) and thought how it was like an unbelievable fairytale come true. The planets all aligned for us and the footy gods were with us. So many incredible aspects to the whole thing - Bruzzy being cleared by the tribunal to play on, only getting to the big dance by one point, Bobby winning Norm after his cancer battle, little Maggie McRae being born that morning, Peter having never won one handing the cup to Darcy, Sidey kicking the longest goal of his career, Nick making a miraculous recovery from injury, Nick and Jordy combining together to create absolute magic, Pendles winning another 13 years after his first.. etc etc.
Fairytales can come true it seems, but unfortunately, oh so, very rarely. Perhaps sub-consciously Fly and the boys have realized that and don't believe it can happen again... I'm just hoping that they can instead focus on simply playing footy for the sheer joy of it, for the satisfaction of playing their roles and helping their team mates, of getting the best out of themselves and each other. In other words, just being the best they can be. That's all I want to see.
Fly and the coaching staff will need to somehow to come up with new themes, mantras, processes and innovations to get that to happen..... a very big challenge.

Hi Fly - it's me

View attachment 1931643.

I'm having a nice time over here - I'm on WhatsApp now and then - thank God there's no pineapple on pizza over here - cheers Wrighty

View attachment 1931645
This.

Fly, don’t forget to drag those bludgers Bolton and Leppitsch out of my office and on to the training field.
We still need them to get Sherrins in their hands more often than lattes.

I certainly hope so.
Tonight was not a good data point.

Coach Craig McRae