Review Grand Final, 2024 - Sydney vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Sydney?

Congrats Lions, what an inspirational win! Up there with the Western Bulldogs 2016 for mine. After being written off, those finals comeback, and then such a dominant gf performance. I'm sure it makes it all the sweeter. True, Sydney weren't great, but imo we can't ignore the fact the Lions were frighteningly good today. Just a great footy story all round. Enjoy it and soak it up.
This ^^^
Any numptie that wants to detract from the Lions' GF performance by suggesting that they won easily because the swans were bad, can gagf.

I've seen a lot of footy both on and off the field over many years and "the Lions were frighteningly good..." yesterday.
Just an incredible team performance. We know about the talent up forward and that they can be high scoring, but I'm in awe of how our defence and midfield played yesterday. Almost football perfection.

The Lions best is indeed the best.

For twenty years we (or at least) i have been comparing our team to the three peat side. That side was special and likely never to be repeated but it is fantastic to reforge a new legacy and chapter and do it their way.

I felt that that first win in 2001 allowed us to draw on the Fitzroy history and say 'and now we are adding to it', this feels a little like that.

We are worthy of our own history again.

I was :)

I tipped us by 10 goals last Monday :D

They just looked hungry and were riding a wave....Sydney, to be frank, relied on their midfielders kicking goals as their forward line was young and a work in progress......and it's hard to win GF's by relying on midfielders to kick a bag.
This is what I thought. All of our defenders won their positions. Harris was a rock in the first quarter and the rest all won crucial contests continually.

I wanted to give all my votes to defenders but Neale was so good I had to put him in.

1st off congratulations on the win. That 2011 to 2018 period was tough.

From 2014 until 2018, it was dire. 5 years in a row of bottom 4 finishes.

Brisbane made top 4 in 2019.

People bagged out Brisbane in 2020 because they didn't make that grand final at the Gabba.

Not to mention falling short in 2021 and 2022.

Then Brisbane had that heartbreaking grand final loss last season. I was cheering for Brisbane And wanted them to win last year's grand final.

Finally In 2024, Brisbane finally got that elusive flag.

Elixuh , scoman and Toffee Lion , take a bow, you deserve this win.

I would love to know how many Brisbane posters were on here in 2014 when it was really bleak. There was a fair few.
Signed up as a member in 2002 after going and watching the Granny at the piazza back in 2001 with a mate and his old man. Up until then Aussie Rules was a fleeting interest.

First few years were unreal obviously and as a kid I remember being devastated back in 2004 after we lost the GF, thinking that that wasn’t meant to happen with this club.

Little did we all know the best part of the next 15 years were going to be as bad as they were.

As I said on Friday I reckon there were games back between 2011-18 we would’ve sat with less people there then what we had rock up to training Friday arvo.

After sitting through all those beltings during those years it makes days like yesterday that much sweeter though.

The 2nd and 3td quarters were some of the most elite footy you could ever see both offensively and defensively.

Delivered on the biggest stage, so so happy, makes all those years of sitting at the Gabba watching us getting flogged and ridiculed worth it.

Off to Brunswick Street Oval this morning.
:brisbane::trophy:

Firstly congrats Lions.
That win got my grand ma drunk as 10 sailors as last night, she's an old Roy boys supporter.
Was good to see Fages so happy which got me thinking Port have got Hinckley & the $wines still have longmire .....2 miserable looking ppl
Anyway have a good day
P.S no yas can't have Hodge's kids 😉

Enjoy 👍One of the more dominant GF displays you will see . From a neutral ( was wanting you guys to win though ) it was a complete performance.
Nothing's a given in sport but fair to say your consistency over the last years deserved one .
Well done Fagan too , great scenes .

Neales finals performance one on foot will go down in legend when the dust settles .

Just here to read all the reactions.

That was as perfect a game as you can ask / dream for. One day later and I'm going to watch my third rerun of the granny.

Thank you Fagan and the entire squad, support staff, trainers and the whole club. You've made our day ! 🙏🙏🙏

Just flicking through the stats for the first time this morning

Their “3 headed monster” which was touted as their biggest advantage combined for 59d, 7clr, 2g. With our 3 big combining for 86d, 18clr 1g, that was an absolute flogging from the get go.

Grundy vs Fort, I’m a little suprised at Grundys raw statistical advantage. I thought live, Fort pretty much nullified Grundys impact.

If I was told at the start of the year that Joe, Charlie, Hippy, Cam And Bailey would combined for 5 goals in the Grand Final, I would have presumed we got flogged. The emergence of Kai throughout the year and Cal during the finals push was huge for us.

To me there was absolutely no passengers during the game, everyone contributed greatly as evident by Hippy being our only player with single digit disposals.

The defense was so well organised and only caught out a couple of times. We have a few unsung hero's there, Froggy got some credit from the broader public last week after that exceptional game. But the player who doesn’t get the credit I think he deserves, even members from our supporter base is Answerth. His ability to lock down on that dangerous second small is invaluable to us. These are the players that have typically got a hold of us at different stages, Hill last year, Jones in the Rd22 had a big say. He’s a great pairing with Starc.

That goal from Hipwood was ridiculous. He even had the presence of mind to go
the Akka celebration which was beautiful.

How good was Logan Morris though. First year key forward and he was taking contested grabs on Grand Final day.

So many good performances across the board. My meltdowns earlier in the season are nothing short of embarrassing.

That goal from Hipwood was ridiculous. He even had the presence of mind to go
the Akka celebration which was beautiful.

How good was Logan Morris though. First year key forward and he was taking contested grabs on Grand Final day.

So many good performances across the board. My meltdowns earlier in the season are nothing short of embarrassing.
I'd estimate that most of us died in the wool supporters were guilty of a meltdown or three during parts of the season - so don't feel too bad about it now. It's only because we love this club so much!

Anyone who thinks Sydney pooped the bed wasn't watching. There's not a team from the last 20 years that could have withstood that performance. Absolutely clinical on the biggest day on the biggest stage.

Young Will Ashcroft, what a star! Goal of the year in his first year, does an ACL and breaks all of our hearts. Then comes back with a handful of games to become a Norm Smith medalist and premiership player. This kid has literally been waiting 8 years for this!

To Fages, who held strong with his method, our playing group and what sometimes felt like a detriment shows the kind of coach he is. Just so pleased for him to get the premiership.

For Zorks and Froggy, two players that saw our darkest of days and held strong, I'm so glad to see them with a medal around their neck.

To Joey, please don't let this be it, but if it is, thank you for some truly entertaining and inspiring footy.

To Choc and Andrews, the best co-captains a team could ask for, you lead us through a fantastic season that looked done at the halfway point. Playing through adversity and injury, couldn't be prouder of our leaders.

To Big O, who won't get the public's attention but is such a fundamental part of our club - I hope we get you back there next year to get your own deserved medal, along with Kiddy, Dizzy and Linc.

Thanks BigFooty for being a place to share this passion, pain, and amazing thing that brings such a joy to my life.

Let's get flights booked for Sep 25 🦁🦁🦁

Does anyone know what time this year the Lions will be at the Brunswick street Oval

Apparently they are flying back to present the cup to fans after the AFLW game, reckon they will need to leave Brunswick St by about no later than 1pm to achieve that

Review Grand Final, 2024 - Sydney vs. Brisbane Lions