• Finn O'Sullivan

• Sam Lalor

• Jagga Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

View attachment 2163935

Port Adelaide will not nominate any of its four father-son candidates for next week’s national draft but a Next Generation

Academy prospect could find his way onto the Power’s list.

With the player pool considered to be one of the strongest in years, the Power has given up automatic access to Woodville-West Torrens halfback Rome Burgoyne (Peter), North Adelaide utility Louie Montgomery (Brett) and West Adelaide defender Ky Burgoyne (Shaun) – all sons of 2004 premiership players.

Roosters midfielder Oliver Francou’s dad, Josh, was runner-up in the Brownlow Medal at Port Adelaide in 2002.

Rome – the brother of Power wingman Jase Burgoyne – is the highest rated of the four and it is understood a couple of other clubs have shown interest in him ahead of the draft.

The Power can still select any of the four with its picks, if they are still available, but cannot match any selection from rival clubs.

Port Adelaide has not nominated Rome Burgoyne as a father-son selection in the national draft. Picture: Cory Sutton

Port has already announced Francou will play for its SANFL side in 2025 if he is not picked up by another club next week.

After playing 11 games for North Adelaide’s Under 18 in 2024, averaging 24.2 disposals. 6.4 clearances and 4.9 tackles per game, Francou said he was excited about the prospect of having a crack for the Magpies in the SANFL.

“I’m really excited to play for the same club my dad had an AFL career at,” Francou told Port’s website.

“If the draft doesn’t go my way this year, I want to give myself the best chance to develop in a SANFL system at an AFL club.

“I hope I can contribute to the club well, and I can’t wait to get started.”

Power NGA prospect Benny Barrett at the SA draft combine. Picture: Mark Brake/AFL Photos

While the Power has not nominated any of its four father-son prospects, Next Generation Academy member Benny Barrett could find his way to Alberton next week.

If the South Adelaide prospect’s name is not called during the national draft the Power can automatically add him as a rookie.

The 174cm left-footer, of Papua New Guinean heritage, has been touted as Port’s best academy prospect this year.

Impressing in the Panthers’ reserves and under-18s this year with his x-factor, Barrett is viewed as a potential small forward at AFL level.

He has also played through the midfield and won the best-and-fairest for the SANFL under-16s in 2022.

Adelaide has nominated Tyler Welsh, son of ex-Crows forward Scott Welsh.

The Power has picks No. 13, 29, 36 and 50 while the Crows have No. 4 and 64.

Originally published as AFL Draft 2024: Port Adelaide won’t nominate Rome Burgoyne, Louie Montgomery, Ky Burgoyne and Oliver Francou as father-sons in the national draft
the wolf of wall street idgaf GIF

Ok here's my Phantom Draft without the bid picks.

ROUND ONE
1 Richmond - Sam Lalor
2 North Melbourne- Alixzander Tauru
3 Carlton- Jagga Smith
4 Adelaide- Sid Draper
5 Melbourne- Josh Smilie
6 Richmond - Finn O'Sullivan
7 St Kilda- Bo Allen
8 St Kilda - Harry Armstrong
9 Melbourne - Jobe Shanahan
10 Richmond - Harvey Langford
11 Richmond - Taj Hotten
12 West Coast - Xavioir Lindsay
13 Port Adelaide - Murphy Reid
14 Fremantle - Joe Berry
15 Greater Western Sydney- Toby Travaglia
16 Greater Western Sydney- Luke Trainor
17 Western Bulldogs- Cooper Hynes
18. Richmond - Jack Whitlock
19 Sydney- Christian Moraes
20 Richmond- Matt Whitlock
21 Greater Western Sydney- Jesse Dattoli
22 Sydney- Tim Gross
23 Richmond- Alex Dodson
ROUND TWO
24 Richmond- trade

I've done a 180 on Dodson, he's a proper talent. I know rucks take forever but he looks blue chip, we're in a good position to invest in him now and it may pay real dividends. No idea if the go-home factor is an issue though

The ‘go home factor’ should be completely ignored. If he’s no good and wants to go home, who cares? If he’s average and wants to go home, who cares? If he’s awesome and wants to go home, then we get quality draft picks in a trade for him in the future, much better than the pick in the 20’s we used originally.

Imagine if we didn’t draft Bolton due to the ‘go home’ factor…. after 8-years and 2 flags we get picks 10 & 11 when we originally used pick-29…. lucky we didn’t worry about homesickness that often affects indigenous players more acutely as it did for Bolton.

Pick the best players … ignore the ‘go home’ factor.

Ok here's my Phantom Draft without the bid picks.

ROUND ONE
1 Richmond - Sam Lalor
2 North Melbourne- Alixzander Tauru
3 Carlton- Jagga Smith
4 Adelaide- Sid Draper
5 Melbourne- Josh Smilie
6 Richmond - Finn O'Sullivan
7 St Kilda- Bo Allen
8 St Kilda - Harry Armstrong
9 Melbourne - Jobe Shanahan
10 Richmond - Harvey Langford
11 Richmond - Taj Hotten
12 West Coast - Xavioir Lindsay
13 Port Adelaide - Murphy Reid
14 Fremantle - Joe Berry
15 Greater Western Sydney- Toby Travaglia
16 Greater Western Sydney- Luke Trainor
17 Western Bulldogs- Cooper Hynes
18. Richmond - Jack Whitlock
19 Sydney- Christian Moraes
20 Richmond- Matt Whitlock
21 Greater Western Sydney- Jesse Dattoli
22 Sydney- Tim Gross
23 Richmond- Alex Dodson
ROUND TWO
24 Richmond- trade
Wouldn’t have thought We’d get FOS at 6.

One thing recruiters should consider more is the age and the degree of physical maturing to come.
Players like Richard Tambling had reached their near peak in juniors whilst players like Franklin and Dustin still had much more physical development to come.
I'm not sure if you can ask 'when did you start growing pubic hair' but I know that I my school Peter Caccavello was 2 years ahead of everyone else and didn't grow after age 16.

One thing recruiters should consider more is the age and the degree of physical maturing to come.
Players like Richard Tambling had reached their near peak in juniors whilst players like Franklin and Dustin still had much more physical development to come.
I'm not sure if you can ask 'when did you start growing pubic hair' but I know that I my school Peter Caccavello was 2 years ahead of everyone else and didn't grow after age 16.
They already do.

is this your first draft?

We will be trading #10 to Port for #13 + #29 or #36 we want to slide back to get a later pick in the draft

#13 - Jack Whitlock as our Tim Lunch replacement
#18 - Matt Whitlock as a KPD that can pinch hit in the foward line
Only makes sense if we are flipping a pick into next year. Otherwise you just pick the guy at 24.

Didn’t click until yesterday but one of my good mates actually played at the same club as lalor and helped out doing some coaching back when he was younger

My mate played for the seniors but did some coaching on the side for the younger groups

Asked him about him this morning and he said he’s from a ripper family, older brother who’s a decent footy player and gun cricketer as well

Said he remembers running drills with Sam and even when he was young he thrived on the contest

And even at that age he was also a super talented cricketer

Didn’t really have anything super insightful because it was around 2017 when Sam was still a jr but interesting all the same

Didn’t click until yesterday but one of my good mates actually played at the same club as lalor and helped out doing some coaching back when he was younger

My mate played for the seniors but did some coaching on the side for the younger groups

Asked him about him this morning and he said he’s from a ripper family, older brother who’s a decent footy player and gun cricketer as well

Said he remembers running drills with Sam and even when he was young he thrived on the contest

And even at that age he was also a super talented cricketer

Didn’t really have anything super insightful because it was around 2017 when Sam was still a jr but interesting all the same
If you say so...

Russell Westbrook Reaction GIF by NBA

Don't need Dodson if we take Whitlock as a ruck/forward.

Berry instead of Dodson

7th pick to go on Oliver

8th pick, take or trade, depending on Colina's situation
And if we were going to take a punt on another tall, with the rumours of Whitlock potential being a target, why wouldn't we have a crack on Gerreyn instead of Dodson. I think Gerreyn offers a bit more.

How do they know when they first reached puberty?
Dare say it’s part of the various medical checks draftees would undergo, paediatricians are trained to map that type of stuff based on bloods, growth (both height, weight, bone age & decency, ect) and use mapping to gauge potential future development

Mods- can we get a poll on which player we would most like a 6.

Lalor is a lock so let’s move to the most interesting pick of the draft.
I’ll try and find some time today to put together a list of realistic players that could be available at 6