1.21 Jigadollars

Snoochems

Apr 7, 2007
Orange, NSW
GWS
With the last TV broadcast deal of $780 million, the AFL were said to have a "war-chest" to start expanding into QLD and NSW.

Well, now it's $1253 Million.

So, would we expect more expansion in 5 years time, or will the AFL basically try and stabilise and build on the existing 18 clubs?

Personally, I would like to see an AFL club in Taz... and dare I mention it, New Zealand. But then again, the GC/GWS teams, and a number of other existing teams (Port, North) are pretty weak, and could do with with some financial assistance.

greatscott1128454971618281250.jpg

Enough of the expansions for awhile.

Move a struggling club to Tassie.

After Brad Scott has his way with North they will be begging for Tassie.

Its an interesting point. If $750m was enough to put teams in the Gold Coast and Sydney (two of the toughest big markets to crack), what will happen with $1.21 Jigadollars? I thinking 16 new teams; based in Cairns, Townsville, Ipswich, a second team in Brisbane, Newcastle, Wagga Wagga, Byron Bay, Cronulla Shire, Canberra, Bendigo, Ballarat, Mildura, Fitzroy, Horsham, Mt Gambier and Sydney.

While this will cause some dilution amongst the quality of players, there is a second part to this plan. Build a delorean, travel back in time, and bring back the best players from history. There might be an adjustment period for some of them, but imagine how awesome the draft would be:

With the first pick of the 2013 draft, the Wagga Wagga Stallions draft... local boy Wayne Carey from 1993
With the second pick of the 2013 draft, the Byron Bay Grass draft... 1921 Gordon Coventry
With the third pick of the 2013 draft, Richmond draft... 2004 Richard Tambling all over again...

etc.

And rightfully so too.....

dont really agree.... just because the AFL has come into some money does not mean everybody should start putting their hands out.... id rather see the money invested into the game either at grass roots level or expansion or even wipe out north and ports debt... rather than giving it to guys who already earn upwards of 5 or 6 times the average wage.

To an extent, yes. But let's also not forget that the 'average wage' earner can also stay out as late as he wants on the sauce after work.

We can't hold our players to a higher standard and then refuse them their due remuneration. I'm unsure if you're aware, but the 27% that they ask for wouldn't all end up in the players' pockets. The abolishment of the rookie system to include those players on the list and better structured superannuation are two initiatives that I've heard that I really like. To me, the more that we can insulate these guys from their own stupid decisions, the better. Looking beyond the superstars, at players 28-40 on each list, is where I think the AFLPA is most interested in creating benefit.

The AFLPA are looking athe way to support past players with a pension scheme, which from listening to Luke Ball yesterday where a large portion of the extra money that they want would be directed towards. The players deserve their fair share of the pie, they are the ones who put on the show that we all watch. If the AFL are getting more, the players deserve to get more.

To an extent, yes. But let's also not forget that the 'average wage' earner can also stay out as late as he wants on the sauce after work.

The poor things. So, because they have to go to bed early, they deserve to be earning many times more than that of a doctor? They contribute absolutely nothing to society, and yet get paid more than 99% of society.

Spread it out amongst the players, junior development programs (especially in QLD & NSW), country footy clubs, new/upgrade stadiums, overseas recruiting programs, and keep the rest for emergencies.

I reckon you need to give the NSW and QLD kids a good reason to want to play footy. I think they should set up a paid under 17's and under 21's league. For under 21's pay each player $500 and then split $2000 for BOGs ($1000 for first, $600, $250, $100, $50 etc). Not sure of the regions but probably split them up into 8 areas/teams. Have them play about 20 games. So thats (($500x22 players)+$2000) = $13,000 x 8 teams x 20 rounds = 2,080,000 x 2 states = 4,160,000 x 5 years = 20,800,000

Do the same for an under 17's league but pay half = 10,400,000 for the 5 years.

That's $31,200,000 over 5 years for a lot more kids playing (and you'd think supporting) footy.

Its an interesting point. If $750m was enough to put teams in the Gold Coast and Sydney (two of the toughest big markets to crack), what will happen with $1.21 Jigadollars? I thinking 16 new teams; based in Cairns, Townsville, Ipswich, a second team in Brisbane, Newcastle, Wagga Wagga, Byron Bay, Cronulla Shire, Canberra, Bendigo, Ballarat, Mildura, Fitzroy, Horsham, Mt Gambier and Sydney.

While this will cause some dilution amongst the quality of players, there is a second part to this plan. Build a delorean, travel back in time, and bring back the best players from history. There might be an adjustment period for some of them, but imagine how awesome the draft would be:

With the first pick of the 2013 draft, the Wagga Wagga Stallions draft... local boy Wayne Carey from 1993
With the second pick of the 2013 draft, the Byron Bay Grass draft... 1921 Gordon Coventry
With the third pick of the 2013 draft, Richmond draft... 2004 Richard Tambling all over again...

etc.
You win.:thumbsu:

1.21 Jigadollars