I reckon it's voice and delivery that makes him sound more sanctimonious than he really is. If Gerard Healy said the same thing, it would sound like his everyday 6:09pm editorial, rather than a sermon
I reckon it's voice and delivery that makes him sound more sanctimonious than he intends
Farkin sh1ts me. I've said before than I find it hard listening to his stilted, grandiose style.Do you like it when he drops the tone a la Bruce McAvaney when he thinks he's spruiking something important?
He's about as sincere as a 3 dollar bill.
That puts a great perspective on it .It doesn't matter how much we complain, Whateley has clout. That's why he could get an interview with Steve Waugh. Imagine what crap we'd be hearing from KB at that time.
thats a bit harsh...KB's passion and knowledge for other sports was above average,the bloke played and coached for over 20 years so to find timeIt doesn't matter how much we complain, Whateley has clout. That's why he could get an interview with Steve Waugh. Imagine what crap we'd be hearing from KB at that time.
The point is that Steve Waugh was interviewed on SEN. That would've never occurred with KB.thats a bit harsh...KB's passion and knowledge for other sports was above average,the bloke played and coached for over 20 years so to find time
for other interests outside his own is phenomenal...i woulda used someone else,less researched as an example,but anyway.
My suspicion is that Whateley might need a few years to get rid of the stench of hanging around with Jon Faine for a long time. If people thing he's pompous now, it's nothing compared to the 10am hour he'd do with Faine on Mondays.seemingly unpopular opinion but I really rate Whateley and he is the best part of the current SEN line up - from 6am till 12 SEN is excellent apart from insane amounts of ads, from 12pm to 5.59am its borderline unlistenable.
seemingly unpopular opinion but I really rate Whateley and he is the best part of the current SEN line up - from 6am till 12 SEN is excellent apart from insane amounts of ads, from 12pm to 5.59am its borderline unlistenable.
When they get into Footy Tinder in the evenings, I have to restrain myself.
I’m sure there are plenty of Dads with young kids listening and the kids ask ‘Dad, what’s Tinder?’
Really family friendly crap radio.
Agree the segment isn't one of my favourites but I think the bigger issue would be to ask ourselves what parent would have their kids listening to SEN evenings at like 8:45pm? And a simple explanation of the concept of Tinder would I'm sure extract the parent from any predicament. Seriously, people just love to be be outraged for the sake of being outraged
So why do you botherThe saturday rub tribute to frawley broadcast on mmm and sen last Saturday was fantastic. I haven't laughed that much listening to the radio probably ever.
Something that stood out for me was when they were mentioning advertising and brayshaw said that the show will run twice as long on sdn compared to mmm, to fit in all the ads into the show.
We are absolute suckers for still listening to sen, which is basically advertising, mixed with live read advertising by the hosts, with a little bit of sports radio intertwined.
Listen to the footy on sen for a quarter and then flick over to the abc for another quarter. You soon realise how overloaded and full of advertising sen is.
Have you ever asked yourself that question?So why do you bother
How many times do you come backHave you ever asked yourself that question?
So why do you bother
One thing that I do admire with Bob Murphy - he's completely unable to hide his total disdain for Sam McClure.
Thursdays at around 5.30, when Andy has to leave early for The Front Bar prep, is now must-listen radio just to see how many words Bob can utter as Sam warbles on and on and on and on.
When Bob does say something - and it's rarely more than a half-sentence through gritted teeth - Sam replies with the fake cackle of a smart-arse prefect before launching into another ramble in between the ads and odds.
Toss-bag of the highest order, and Bob makes us all know it.
When they get into Footy Tinder in the evenings, I have to restrain myself.
I’m sure there are plenty of Dads with young kids listening and the kids ask ‘Dad, what’s Tinder?’
Really family friendly crap radio.
I think this may be the case with Maher as well?