Certified Legendary Thread 1116 SEN 2025 line up

TA have a core support base, why should it alienate any part of that base? So people hold different views, live with it.

Why should she alienate a portion of TA's support base by being prejudicial and homophobic? So people have different sexual preferences, live with it.

Why cant YOU accomodate both points of view? Its a non event, a tennis player.

Having an opposing point of view (anti gay marriage) and being homophobic and anti gay people are two different things. As for a non-event because she's a tennis player, bigotry is never a non-event no matter who is displaying it.

TA have a core support base, why should it alienate any part of that base? So people hold different views, live with it.
Yep people and organisations have different views and beliefs and can decide if they would like to give people a microphone to represent them at their events. It's pretty simple. If people want the freedom to say whatever they want then people and organisations have the freedom to ignore them. Tennis Australia are not the ABC. They have no charter dictating that they have to give each side of a contentious social debate an equal say. They have the freedom to make a decision. If you don't like it, don't live in a liberal democracy. Deal. With. It

SEN is one part of Pacific Star Network & Hutchy is not the major shareholder - here is an investor presentation from October 1, 2019, if its of interest

Will they bid for the Olympics & sub it out:
For the first time since 1952, the ABC will not have a live radio broadcast of the Olympic Games, with the national broadcaster opting against buying the non-commercial radio rights for Tokyo 2020.

It'll be interesting to see what SEN do.

Whateley would have expected to have been part of the Seven coverage just a few weeks ago, so with a renewed focus SEN may splash out and send him over to cover the main events. If they want to be a serious sports station, they've gotta do it. Send Gary and Tim over as well to do breakfasts and get a few experts. Leave the crap-talkers at home.

The ABC have played this beautifully too, in political terms. The horrendous budget-cuts are only just starting to play out and they've gone with the big bat straight away to let the public know it's serious. I wouldn't be surprised if the political pressure mounts and a few envelopes are found to change the decision.

Worth remembering - Foxtel received $35 million from this federal government a couple of years ago to promote 'women's sporting coverage'. I doubt it would cost the ABC a tenth of the price to cover the Olympics.

It'll be interesting to see what SEN do.

Whateley would have expected to have been part of the Seven coverage just a few weeks ago, so with a renewed focus SEN may splash out and send him over to cover the main events. If they want to be a serious sports station, they've gotta do it. Send Gary and Tim over as well to do breakfasts and get a few experts. Leave the crap-talkers at home.

The ABC have played this beautifully too, in political terms. The horrendous budget-cuts are only just starting to play out and they've gone with the big bat straight away to let the public know it's serious. I wouldn't be surprised if the political pressure mounts and a few envelopes are found to change the decision.

Worth remembering - Foxtel received $35 million from this federal government a couple of years ago to promote 'women's sporting coverage'. I doubt it would cost the ABC a tenth of the price to cover the Olympics.

SEN is a non event low rating station that appeals to a very narrow market.

I've got a dodgy conspiracy theory about why Pickers keeps mentioning Finey on Off The Bench. :D Ratings wise, Hutchy perhaps realises that dumping Finey was his biggest mistake by MILES, and has mumbled stuff to Pickers such as, "hmm, gee, I had no idea the evening audience would plummet so much. Hmm, I dunno about that decision".... etc, and Pickering saying stuff like, "bring back Finey, for God's sake!!" is a way of softening Hutchy's decision to, in fact, bring Fine back.

Pickers saying to bring him back opens the door for Hutchy to say something along the lines of: "ya know, Pickers, after you badgered me over and over about returning Mark Fine, it made me think about it. I decided to listen to you, and have opened discussions with Finey about a possible return to SEN."

So, if Hutchy did bring him back, he could spin it like, "old mate Picks, I've listened to you, and done you a favour,,,,,blah blah", instead of, "I monumentally fakked up sacking Finey and, in a desperate measure to get back the moderate audience he had, I'm admitting I was wrong.

Whadda yooz reckon? :D :p :thumbsu: :mask: :thumbsu:

What months does that cover? Im expecting the old "traditionally ratings drop when AFL season finishes"

Post has been edited with those details (hopefully accurate).

For what it's worth, here are the comparable ratings for Survey 7 in 2017 vs Survey 7 in 2019 (the last year before Finey, KB, Marco & Ox were booted).

Breakfast: 3.5 ---> 3.8
Morning: 4.8 ---> 3.2
Afternoon: 3.3 ---> 2.9
Drive: 3.6 ---> 3.3
Evening: 3.5 ---> 2.1
Weekend: 2.8 ---> 2.6
Total: 3.7 ---> 3.2

Maybe not the best survey period to do a direct comparison, as SEN presenters often take leave after the AFL season ends.

For what it's worth, here are the comparable ratings for Survey 7 in 2017 vs Survey 7 in 2019 (the last year before Finey, KB, Marco & Ox were booted).

Thansk. yep survey 7 starts the day after the GF.

Maybe not the best survey period to do a direct comparison, as SEN presenters often take leave after the AFL season ends.

I'm guessing, but more people would be listening to the ad-free podcasts more now than 2 years ago as well.

I get to an extent what Hutchy says when defending ratings results but regardless to have an overall share of just over 3% is poor no matter which way you look at it.

Breakfast and morning shifts which is where they have their highest paid talent have small numbers.

To have a percentage below 3% in a few shifts would be a worry.

Trade radio would of had an impact but in a commercial sense having a small audiance split across so many mediums is not a good thing. In the end it is still a small audiance.

The current owners got what they paid for. Sports radio is a niche, listened to by a small group of people.

The problem is the small sports market in NSW & Qld wont listen to AFL footy, does SA?

ouch, those are some terrible results but I can't say i'm surprised and i honestly see any way SEN are going to stop the slide of listeners leaving without some serious investment in new 'talent' in 2020. and then some promotion to let the greater public know that SEN still exists.