Player Watch #17 Maurice Rioli Jnr Re-Signed 2026

TBH, credit should go to whoever decides to switch Sonz, Bauer, Cumbo & MRJ from the forward roles in the VFL. Morris & the AFL coach?

Its great if you have a day like Bobby Hill but its starvation corner usually. MRJ neither a pressure machine nor a scoring threat. He has some traits but has deficiencies.

If Yze wants less small pressure forwards, our glut of 181 players will have to adapt.

Sadly for our father son record, but I'm forseeing a Paddy Naish like exit from the club. Father son is hit & miss. RFC is on the miss end mostly.

For that reason no gifting Pickett to get to 100 games.
Where does it mention that the new coach wants less pressure forwards? Everything I’ve read or heard from him says he thinks this facet of our game has disappeared or dropped off severely and he wants it reinstated to get us back to a game style that works.
Make no mistake, great defence wins flags. I mean, look at some of the absolute duds that won a medal yesterday. Sat there at the ground watching it and still cannot believe some of those spuds managed to get a premiership medallion.
Good coaching can overcome player’s deficiencies, McRae proved that yesterday as I reckon there’s at least 5-8 players in that side I wouldn’t rate as being worthy of getting a game.

Where does it mention that the new coach wants less pressure forwards? Everything I’ve read or heard from him says he thinks this facet of our game has disappeared or dropped off severely and he wants it reinstated to get us back to a game style that works.
Make no mistake, great defence wins flags. I mean, look at some of the absolute duds that won a medal yesterday. Sat there at the ground watching it and still cannot believe some of those spuds managed to get a premiership medallion.
Good coaching can overcome player’s deficiencies, McRae proved that yesterday as I reckon there’s at least 5-8 players in that side I wouldn’t rate as being worthy of getting a game.
I haven't read or heard any interviews with Yze.

I'm putting 2 (Dimma and Minis lowering of the 3 small fwds to 2) + 2 (Melbourne's use of small fwds, 1 Kosi??) = i'm hoping like hell we ditch this part of the game plan.

I did rewatch some finals of ours from 2017. Dusty, Cotch, Lambert, Edwards, Caddy, Prestia were insane. As were Rioli and George and Butler (a bit less) George's pack marking. Rioli's so dangerous. Kicking goals. Dan Rioli should maybe move back to the fwd line.

Change of personnel, George + Higgins, Aarts in 2020. MRJ in the club

In front of my eyes at Metricon By 2022 George's form was terrible. Never a great goal kicker but never got dropped/rested. Poor player/person management. A shift to the wing may have saved him.

MRJ quite good that day and Cumbo came on as sub and played like a Fritcsh. I hope Yze sees that in Cumbo.
Both MRJ and Cumbo lost form and their positions in 2023.

The shape he comes back in will tell me a lot about his 2024 and career prospects.
He’s apparently saying all the right things in this regard. I just hope the penny has dropped with Maurice and he gets back in great condition to have a strong pre season. He’s got the right attributes to be a more than decent footballer imo.

Was about eight players on both sides who contributed bugger all yesterday

I've been spruking the same message for quite some time too. Small forward pressure is crucial to our pressure, ball movement and turnover game. They create speed, opposition confusion, doubt and link up play from stoppages and turnovers. This is what we built our success on.

MRJ could be an important piece of the pie but he can't do it alone. He needs another pressure/X-Factor player to work off. Bolton, Dusty and Cumberland are offensive forwards. You can't have them in the forwardline with Lynch, and Ryan/Kozy. That gives you five or six offensive forwards and one defensive forward. Completely unbalanced.

Only one of Bolton & Dusty can play forward at one time. Cumberland can only play as a High Half Forward. Ryan/Kozy or Lynch plays up the ground when the other is playing deep. The rest of the forwardline should be small/mid-sized pressure forwards who can crumb and provide X-Factor goals at ground level.

So the structure should be -

FF: Small Forward (D. Rioil?) Lynch Bolton/Martin
HF: Small Forward (???) Ryan/Kozy Small Forward (M. Rioli?)
HFF: Cumberland/Clarke
So in the two grand final sides yesterday, who was their defensive forwards?
It certainly wasn't Elliot or Bobby Hill.
For Brisbane? They don't have one either. But they have a core of very good offensive forwards.

This concept of not being able to play a fully aggressive offensive forward line is one of the reasons we finished where we did. Cumberland tackles and is very aggressive at the contest, Bolton can tackle well and just his presence adds pressure because like Martin if you make a mistake you are done. Martin also bully's every contest he goes into. MRJ is obviously defensive, but he would be a much better player if he was offensive first, defensive second.

Almost guarantee that Bobby Hill would not be getting a game at Richmond because he doesn't do the pressure running required.
He had 11 games of between 3 and 9 disposals, pretty average but that is the lot of a small forward. Every now and again you have a day out and that is why you get a game every week. One quiet week and our small forwards are back in the VFL.

Apart from his dazzling speed and great turnover inducing pressure and tackling you mean.

A few people on here would do well to remind themselves what this guy actually has got:

2021?
I could find nothing from 2023 either.
These highlights have Tarrant playing for North

So in the two grand final sides yesterday, who was their defensive forwards?
It certainly wasn't Elliot or Bobby Hill.
For Brisbane? They don't have one either. But they have a core of very good offensive forwards.

This concept of not being able to play a fully aggressive offensive forward line is one of the reasons we finished where we did. Cumberland tackles and is very aggressive at the contest, Bolton can tackle well and just his presence adds pressure because like Martin if you make a mistake you are done. Martin also bully's every contest he goes into. MRJ is obviously defensive, but he would be a much better player if he was offensive first, defensive second.

Almost guarantee that Bobby Hill would not be getting a game at Richmond because he doesn't do the pressure running required.
He had 11 games of between 3 and 9 disposals, pretty average but that is the lot of a small forward. Every now and again you have a day out and that is why you get a game every week. One quiet week and our small forwards are back in the VFL.
Hill made 5 tackles yesterday as well.

2021?
I could find nothing from 2023 either.
These highlights have Tarrant playing for North
You’re a very tough judge if you’re looking for 2021 highlights. Geez, he was an 18 year old pick 51 in the draft. You’d be really disappointed with young Steely Green too then? Not having a go, just think you’re being more than a touch unfair.
This past season, for sure, he came back lacking condition and deserves a little criticism but he’s still a 20 year old kid, he will either learn from that or he won’t have a career, his choice. Let’s see how he presents himself in early November when they get back into it.

EDIT: Just turned 21 last month

Cumberland had 8 tackles against Sydney and 6 against WB yet he is considered by many as a purely offensive player.
Was a huge Noah fan when he was drafted and really thought he was going to be a very good player for us when he finished so strongly at the end of last season.
Lost total faith in him now after watching him play a number of games live this past season. Strikes me as not being all in on team philosophy, as he appears to play his own game. I’m really hoping that he was totally at sea with what the coaches were asking of him and that Adem Yze can sort him out and give him the defined role I think he needs.
He’s got a ton of ability but unless he gets a role that suits his attributes, and he plays well in that role that the new coaches ask of him, he will be a wasted talent, like Stackey before him😔. Geez, Stack could have been anything, saddens me how it’s all gone south for the kid.
Oops, this is the MJR thread😬

Hill made 5 tackles yesterday as well.
Hill averages 1.4 goals (above average) 2.3 tackles which is average.

4 goals probably won them the game.

The Prelim, Hill kicks 1 goal but deGoey has a blinder.

Hill kicks 3 in their first final 4 tackles

Had a very good finals

I saw the 2022 Qld games of Noah C & MRJ. Neither had great games in the final. We went with Dusty first game back after a big break, fail; Cotch not great either; Lost Prestia to injury. Pickett ran with him a bit but didn't really tag Lachie Cowboy Neale; Sonz quite good; Miller 46% game time; Gibcus ok ish; he ran a lot.
Dying seconds 5 to 1 in their goal square and we couldn't mark it or punch it over the line, Daniher snags a goal. That summed up our season.
TT & JH seemed inspired players to bring in. But Graham & Prestia getting more fwd didn't work.

Gibcus & Sonz preseason injuries; Cumbo loses his spot to Mansell.

You’re a very tough judge if you’re looking for 2021 highlights. Geez, he was an 18 year old pick 51 in the draft. You’d be really disappointed with young Steely Green too then? Not having a go, just think you’re being more than a touch unfair.
This past season, for sure, he came back lacking condition and deserves a little criticism but he’s still a 20 year old kid, he will either learn from that or he won’t have a career, his choice. Let’s see how he presents himself in early November when they get back into it.

EDIT: Just turned 21 last month
Not my youtube clip. Its MRs.

Nothing from 2023

Please find some for me

Was a huge Noah fan when he was drafted and really thought he was going to be a very good player for us when he finished so strongly at the end of last season.
Lost total faith in him now after watching him play a number of games live this past season. Strikes me as not being all in on team philosophy, as he appears to play his own game. I’m really hoping that he was totally at sea with what the coaches were asking of him and that Adem Yze can sort him out and give him the defined role I think he needs.
He’s got a ton of ability but unless he gets a role that suits his attributes, and he plays well in that role that the new coaches ask of him, he will be a wasted talent, like Stackey before him😔. Geez, Stack could have been anything, saddens me how it’s all gone south for the kid.
Oops, this is the MJR thread😬
Not sure Cumberland knew he if he was Arthur or Martha at stages of the season. Obviously he had to do some 'learning,' but when you have the talent that he has, and the what the team needs, some x-factor, you sometimes need to treat them a bit differently and trust they will come good. I guess it is game sense/team sense, that should come. Plenty of footballers have had that over the years and come good. Second year blues is not made up, just ask Sonsie.

100% on Stack, I don't think I have seen a more complete first year player ever. Travesty he couldn't get it together.

One of the biggest factors in our flag success was that Dimma designed a game plan to suit the players he had. He played to their strengths, he didn't try and exclusively coach to their deficiencies.

Cumberland plays his best football as a 'floating forward'. He uses his tank to run up the ground and be a link up player. He wheels around to find a deep forward in space or run back into the F50 to mark and kick for goal. But...he's not a small forward. He doesn't get most of his goals from tackles, turnovers and pressure. He gets them from playing like a KPP. I think that makes him a perfect high half forward. It's playing to his numerous assets rather than trying to turn him in something he is not.

Hill, Elliot, Cameron etc are all weapons in the forwardline because they are small forwards. Not defensive forwards. Not crumbing forwards. Not attacking forwards. They are all of these things. We need players who can cause panic and chaos in the forwardline. Dusty, Bolton, Cumberland, Lynch and Ryan are all looking to create space for them selves to win the ball and score. That's awesome but it also means we have too many similar players who leave their defenders space so they can rebound away.

To me, its all about balance. We need players who can play both ways. If we know Lynch and Martin are purely offensive weapons then we need other players to be defensive monsters to balance the F50 out.

If the sprint was 10m MRJ would've won. He's explosive.

Considering every single time he takes off with the ball he gets caught and he's never got clear to get his possession much less take a bounce I don't believe he is.

So Close Nbc 90Th Special GIF by NBC

Not sure Cumberland knew he if he was Arthur or Martha at stages of the season. Obviously he had to do some 'learning,' but when you have the talent that he has, and the what the team needs, some x-factor, you sometimes need to treat them a bit differently and trust they will come good. I guess it is game sense/team sense, that should come. Plenty of footballers have had that over the years and come good. Second year blues is not made up, just ask Sonsie.

100% on Stack, I don't think I have seen a more complete first year player ever. Travesty he couldn't get it together.
One thing Noah desperately needs to get sorted is his goalkicking. That hop skip and jump is just horrendous. That’s one aspect of his game that needs immediate attention in my opinion. He needs to convert at a decent rate when opportunity knocks, and he absolutely didn’t do that this season just finished.

We'll always have the Viney bump.:fire:

One thing Noah desperately needs to get sorted is his goalkicking. That hop skip and jump is just horrendous. That’s one aspect of his game that needs immediate attention in my opinion. He needs to convert at a decent rate when opportunity knocks, and he absolutely didn’t do that this season just finished.
Agree - up there with George spinning the footy and with similar results. Hope they make him work on it because no-one seemed to make George in all the years he was on the list.:$

He has always been lazy in his preparation. He roomed with Ugle-Hagen at Scotch College and Jamarra would often have to be on MRJs back about prep and professionalism. He was not seen as a draft prospect for most other clubs.

Needs a huge pre season. Has the talent, needs the attitude.

He has always been lazy in his preparation. He roomed with Ugle-Hagen at Scotch College and Jamarra would often have to be on MRJs back about prep and professionalism. He was not seen as a draft prospect for most other clubs.

Needs a huge pre season. Has the talent, needs the attitude.

Surely Daniel helps him out.

One of the biggest factors in our flag success was that Dimma designed a game plan to suit the players he had. He played to their strengths, he didn't try and exclusively coach to their deficiencies.

Cumberland plays his best football as a 'floating forward'. He uses his tank to run up the ground and be a link up player. He wheels around to find a deep forward in space or run back into the F50 to mark and kick for goal. But...he's not a small forward. He doesn't get most of his goals from tackles, turnovers and pressure. He gets them from playing like a KPP. I think that makes him a perfect high half forward. It's playing to his numerous assets rather than trying to turn him in something he is not.

Hill, Elliot, Cameron etc are all weapons in the forwardline because they are small forwards. Not defensive forwards. Not crumbing forwards. Not attacking forwards. They are all of these things. We need players who can cause panic and chaos in the forwardline. Dusty, Bolton, Cumberland, Lynch and Ryan are all looking to create space for them selves to win the ball and score. That's awesome but it also means we have too many similar players who leave their defenders space so they can rebound away.

To me, its all about balance. We need players who can play both ways. If we know Lynch and Martin are purely offensive weapons then we need other players to be defensive monsters to balance the F50 out.
Name another side that plays defensive forwards exclusively. Do you think Mansell would get games in the forward line in any other side. The two are not mutually exclusive. We did not play defensive forwards in our premiership years, Castagna, Rioli and Butler were very attacking players who happened to do the defensive work as well. They kicked a lot of goals. Jack Riewolt did a power of defensive work. It was only in our last 3 years, 2 of which were pretty average that we have asked small forwards to forget about attacking and concentrate on defence.

All forwards have to do both. Lynch is the obvious one who doesn't have to as much, but if we are going to succeed we will need Martin and Bolton as aggressive forwards, both attacking and defending. Cumberland has kicked quite a lot of goals out of nowhere because he attacks the contest and the ball hard and causes spillage. MRJ might be our crumbing forward if he was allowed to, he is certainly dangerous when he does it, when he is not chasing arse.

Player Watch #17 Maurice Rioli Jnr Re-Signed 2026