Delisted #19: Shaun Edwards - Rookied by Sydney, now retired from AFL - 22/9

mate you only got him because of sheedy lol

crazy-man-meme-generator-please-tell-me-more-3c75c5.jpg

just got me thinking.... Watson 191cm 95kg, Goddard 189cm 94kg, Hocking 186cm 88kg, Myers 191cm 92kg with chappy doing spells in the middle at 179cm 89kg we have an absolutely beastly midfield.... (all natty i hope :p)
Looks great on paper. Expect Essendon had was towards the bottom end of contested ball in the league despite having the best player in the comp at getting the ball in close. Howlett had minimal impact in the second half of the year. Myers will hopefully be the player within the club to help or freeing up Hocking a bit more might also help.

What you read from those short snippets.. is maybe didn't really fit in at GWS? Bit homesick/too far away.. or maybe just too many young blokes and no strong 'culture' around him?

Looked good in 2012.. so if we can get him settled and back on track.. will be an excellent pick up..

Apparently Nat Rat glowing in his praise.. and has already been feeding him the Red and Black faith..

What you read from those short snippets.. is maybe didn't really fit in at GWS? Bit homesick/too far away.. or maybe just too many young blokes and no strong 'culture' around him?

Looked good in 2012.. so if we can get him settled and back on track.. will be an excellent pick up..

Apparently Nat Rat glowing in his praise.. and has already been feeding him the Red and Black faith..

Nat Rat taking him under his wing me likey.

Not sure if the club has employed NLM now he's retired, but I hope they do as I think he'd be great around the club in some capacity.

I think he was fitting in well at the club, at least socially he was. At GWS however there was probably too many players similar to him for him to breakout and establish himself. He was always going to leave GWS, and was sold on the idea of going to Adelaide, but the Bombers made a late play and obviously he liked what he saw. I don't want to put words in his mouth but I reckon a move to a club like the Bombers would increase his chances of making it as a solid player.

I don't think the extent to which GWS and GC are not particularly good environments for developing kids can be understated. They're going to be able to invest enough and they certainly have enough quality to ensure that it will all work out but there are going to be plenty of young talented guys who do not thrive at those clubs.

I really like the signing of Edwards and Aylett because they've got elite athleticism and skill which are characteristics of high end picks that can't be taught. Not that we are even close being as proven at developing players but Geelong has shown the value in recruiting guys with a few elite attributes and teaching them the attitude based traits of footy such as work ethic and defensive efforts to round out their games.

Delisted #19: Shaun Edwards - Rookied by Sydney, now retired from AFL - 22/9