Delisted #20: Henry Slattery - Leaving to "pursue other opportunities"

Re: 20. Henry Slattery

Since coming back from his cheek injury he has backed into two or three similar situations to help out Fletcher or Ryder.

Courageous player, and has backed it up with steady games too!

Who was he on? Forgetten, either way. Been in good touch

im pretty sure he was on didak, probably collingwoods best player imo
he did a pretty good job
didak had 16 posessions 2 goals (was pretty ineffective for the night though which is shown by his supercoach score of 50)
slatts had 11 possessions supercoach score of 67

we are a team that seems to struggle against small forwards, slatts does a good job.... unless tom hislop can start playing great footy then i think slatts role in the team is pretty secure

After losing me at the start of the year he has really turned up his game in the past month or so, he loves the hard contest and has turned into a handy defender. He gives away silly free kicks, but that's his style I guess, I'd rather him go hard all the time and give one away here and there than not go hard at all.

He has won me over and slowly becoming one of my favourites.

Keep it up Slatts:thumbsu:

AA BP next year? shutting down SF's? of the other 15 clubs he could play on:
Crows: Burton
Brizzy: Hooper/Corrie
Carlton: Betts
Collingwood: Thomas
Freo: Farmer
Geelong: Gamble/Chapman
Hawthorn: Rioli
Kangaroos: Thomas/Cambell
Melbourne: Wonnaemirri
Port: Grey
St.Kilda: Schneider
Sydney: Buchanan
West Coke: Wirra
WB: Johnson/Gia

AA BP next year? shutting down SF's? of the other 15 clubs he could play on:
Crows: Burton
Brizzy: Hooper/Corrie
Carlton: Betts
Collingwood: Thomas
Freo: Farmer
Geelong: Gamble/Chapman
Hawthorn: Rioli
Kangaroos: Thomas/Cambell
Melbourne: Wonnaemirri
Port: Grey
St.Kilda: Schneider
Sydney: Buchanan
West Coke: Wirra
WB: Johnson/Gia

I hope i never see him play on Burton again. We would have beaten them in Adelaid if he had done even a vaguely reassonable job. AA, get real!

Slatts has certainly improved this season, but he has a long long way to go to be a good AFL player

IIRC, Burton did most of his damage when Welsh was on him. And the one goal Burton kicked on Slats he did it out of mid-air....

That's BS. But regardless, he had goals kicked on him by pretty much everyone he played on that game, he was awful. Glad he has been playing better lately, and I hope I'm wrong about him.

That's not BS, Slattery did a reasonably good job on him considering what had happened before.

You're well off the mark.

Slattery also did a good job on him the year before.

If we are fair dinkum about getting better as a team and getting out of the bottom lot, players like Slattery need to be replaced with guys with more strings to their bow.

Too slow, unskillful, un natural and ordinary to be part of a side that would challenge for a flag.

Harsh on a bloke that clearly gives everything he's got but he's not good enough.

2 months ago i totally shared your thoughts. however slatts has been really really good since the carlton game. has cemented his spot in our best 22 so good on him

If we are fair dinkum about getting better as a team and getting out of the bottom lot, players like Slattery need to be replaced with guys with more strings to their bow.

Too slow, unskillful, un natural and ordinary to be part of a side that would challenge for a flag.

Harsh on a bloke that clearly gives everything he's got but he's not good enough.

So we should just have skillful attcking players?

You need your hard tough nuts who can negate - every team has em - its only cause Geelong are so good that they don't have to play em all the time.

i like slattery and he's good to have at the club for depth but tend to agree that for ultimate success players in the back half like dempsey and myers will take us further.

slattery has deficincies in skill and pace whereas these guys don't. i'd certainly have slattery getting regular games though as the side should be rotated to reduce the load etc.

If Myers and Dempsey played the roles that Slattery done, any advantages that they have in skill and pace would be negated by the fact that they are playing a hard tag on a quality player.

It's having blokes like Slattery in a side that allows blokes like Myers and Dempsey to become attacking weapons.

How effective do you think Myers or Dempsey would be playing on the oppositions best attacking half forward?

I'd much rather have Slattery in that role thanks.

Hmm well Slatts certainly showed me in the second half of the season.

I was a big critic of his early on but he's come on in leaps and bounds this season I reckon. Has become a very sound defender who also has the capacity to move up forward and bag a goal or two.

One of the most courageous acts of the season running back with the flight of the ball and getting poleaxed by Fev too :thumbsu:

You're making the crazed assumption that the All-Australian selectors actually pick back pockets. More often than not they go with rebounding Gilbee types and (at least) 3 talls

He's also making the assumption that Slattery is good enough to be AA. Possibly the most rediculouse statement i've heard on this board.

Memo to Knights: Please let's see some talent next year playing across our backline and let Slattery have a full season at Bendigo before being delisted at the end of the year.

A sad state of affairs when blokes like Henry Slattery are considered in the better players at our club.

He's also making the assumption that Slattery is good enough to be AA. Possibly the most rediculouse statement i've heard on this board.

Memo to Knights: Please let's see some talent next year playing across our backline and let Slattery have a full season at Bendigo before being delisted at the end of the year.

A sad state of affairs when blokes like Henry Slattery are considered in the better players at our club.

Sorry but your statement is even more ridiculous if you think slattery should be delisted. There is more chance of slattery being AA than being delisted. The club absolutely love having this guy. :confused:

Delisted #20: Henry Slattery - Leaving to "pursue other opportunities"