2009-2010 Off season player movement/recruiting

matty smith to Coach central hawks
heard from a mate that brennen savage from launceston to clarence
gilmore from uni to glenorchy
have heard that hutchins have picked up a couple not sure who though

I reckon smith will take a few new norfolk players with him

Plapp's just quit as Burnie coach.

That'll leave another club with no coach, North Launceston, South Launceston, North Hobart and Lauderdale all on the hunt for coaches next season, might be a few possible playing coaches running around next year.
Hobart have advertised for a senior coach in the papers recently, but the good oil is Graeme Fox to continue on next season.
According to the Mercury today Matt Geappen's knee op was a success so he'll possibly play on next year, although the rumour is, not with North Hobart.
Likely to be at the Roos under his brother's coaching.

That'll leave another club with no coach, North Launceston, South Launceston, North Hobart and Lauderdale all on the hunt for coaches next season, might be a few possible playing coaches running around next year.
Hobart have advertised for a senior coach in the papers recently, but the good oil is Graeme Fox to continue on next season.
According to the Mercury today Matt Geappen's knee op was a success so he'll possibly play on next year, although the rumour is, not with North Hobart.

Big loss for Burnie. Plapp gave everything he had.Interesting to read where the president Peter the undertaker Vincent came out and said that they weren't looking at Max Brown because he was from the old school Vincent would be better of presiding over the snake box he has under him instead of involving himself in matters that he has got no idea on. Good luck to the next coach. You are going to need it. Still involved at the club are the ones that knifed Bourne Keogh and Plapp.

And you can add Launceston to the list, have heard that Adam Sanders is gone to AFL Tas with Anthony Taylor the likely replacement.
Did hear from the grapevine Adam Derbyshire and Brian Finch to Bridgenorth...

And you can add Launceston to the list, have heard that Adam Sanders is gone to AFL Tas with Anthony Taylor the likely replacement.
Did hear from the grapevine Adam Derbyshire and Brian Finch to Bridgenorth...

Well in the Southern part of this country, i have heard Savage to Clarence and also Matt Geappen to Clarence as his brother's assistant. Are Clarence getting Salary Cap concessions like Brisbane and Sydney use to so they can retain draftees? Anyway good luck to them.
In the Middle i heard Plapp has been interview by the Northern Bombers and Reggie "Eddie" Lyons is keen to get him. Sanders to and AFL tas part time position with Anthony taylor to take over. My mail was they were groom Brian Finch or Scotty Stephens for the job, either three though i think more than capable of filling the role, although Finchy would have to cut back on his bicep curls. I think Devonport will be the big movers over summer, have all ready had a meetin with matty Smith and Jason Ling for next season. At this stage they don't look like losing anyone.

if smith goes 2 dev it would be a win 4 the club heard were he goes reeves his 32nd/ cousin an up and coming onballer will be there 2 .... any truth in craig french 2 coach burnie ?
..... davis 2 take over south burnie

if smith goes 2 dev it would be a win 4 the club heard were he goes reeves his 32nd/ cousin an up and coming onballer will be there 2 .... any truth in craig french 2 coach burnie ?
..... davis 2 take over south burnie

Nearly 98% sure Smith is done and dusted. Think Reeves is his 34th Cousin. Craig French has been linked to Burnie's u/19 side with Kent jackson the front runner for head coach.

if smith goes he will take his partner in crime billy the kid along with reeves 3 really handy pick ups for the black and white army

Big loss for Burnie. Plapp gave everything he had.Interesting to read where the president Peter the undertaker Vincent came out and said that they weren't looking at Max Brown because he was from the old school Vincent would be better of presiding over the snake box he has under him instead of involving himself in matters that he has got no idea on. Good luck to the next coach. You are going to need it. Still involved at the club are the ones that knifed Bourne Keogh and Plapp.

Yes that what it looks like. Burnie wll miss Plapp. Manny Lynch to coach Burnie?

Brian Finch to coach at South Launceston?

Clinton Brown to coach at North Hobart if he doesnt coach Burnie.

Also heard that Manny Lynch to Burnie or North launceston

Brian Finch to coach at South Launceston?

Clinton Brown to coach at North Hobart if he doesnt coach Burnie.

Also heard that Manny Lynch to Burnie or North launceston

Manny Lynch would be their best option to keep players and attract new. Highly respected.

TASSIE Mariners coach Manny Lynch is interested in returning to club coaching and is to be interviewed for the vacant Burnie Dockers job over the weekend.

Burnie president Peter Vincent confirmed that Lynch was one of "a couple of guys" whom the club would be talking to.

Another prospective coach Burnie is understood to be interested in is Kent Jackson.

Jackson coached Smithton for three years in the late 1990s and later coached Wynyard from 2004-06.

Assitant coach Mark Fagan is unsure of his future while coaching director Dale Perry has been interviewed for the Penguin coaching position.

Prominent players Clinton Brown and Matthew Smith could both end up playing with Devonport next year.

Brown is understood to be considering an assitant coaching role with the Magpies and Smith has indicated he will be looking for a new club in 2010.

WHATS HAPPING AT BURNIE? NO PLAPP, NO DOCKERS? BROWN AND SMITH WOULD BE MASSIVE PICK UPS FOR DEVONPORT. HOW WOULD THEY GO WITH CLEARANCES?

Well if Brown took up the Assistants role there would be no clearance fees as he would be taking up a coaching position. As for Smith, his postcode where he lives falls within the Devonport zone. He has resided at that location for more than 18 months, there is a rule within the constitution that states once this is met you do not require a transfer fee. Devonport would get him for nothing! I"m led to believe that when the Troy Dean deal was done, one of the points of agreement was that Devonport could apporaoch any player from Burnie under 50 games and if he agreed to there terms he could leave without any hassel. Zane Murphy anyone!

As I understand it Smith would have a transfer fee attached unless he is
appointed as an assistant coach, but I will stand corrected on that one.
As for the Troy Dean issue I dont think any such deal was done because his clearance was ultimately determined by the appeals board and not through negotiation between the clubs. I cant imagine the appeals board inserting such a clause as was mentioned above.

As I understand it Smith would have a transfer fee attached unless he is
appointed as an assistant coach, but I will stand corrected on that one.
As for the Troy Dean issue I dont think any such deal was done because his clearance was ultimately determined by the appeals board and not through negotiation between the clubs. I cant imagine the appeals board inserting such a clause as was mentioned above.

Very true Hawkboy, one of the conditions that Devonport agreed to was that they could approach any player under 50 games within the Burnie zone, if agreed to go there would be no clearance fee, 100% sure of this. There is also a rule in the constitution that states if you have lived in a particular poste code for 15 months plus and you play in another zone, you can leave with no fee, but there are stipulations to that rule

TASSIE Mariners coach Manny Lynch is interested in returning to club coaching and is to be interviewed for the vacant Burnie Dockers job over the weekend.

Burnie president Peter Vincent confirmed that Lynch was one of "a couple of guys" whom the club would be talking to.

Another prospective coach Burnie is understood to be interested in is Kent Jackson.

Jackson coached Smithton for three years in the late 1990s and later coached Wynyard from 2004-06.

Assitant coach Mark Fagan is unsure of his future while coaching director Dale Perry has been interviewed for the Penguin coaching position.

Prominent players Clinton Brown and Matthew Smith could both end up playing with Devonport next year.

Brown is understood to be considering an assitant coaching role with the Magpies and Smith has indicated he will be looking for a new club in 2010.

WHATS HAPPING AT BURNIE? NO PLAPP, NO DOCKERS? BROWN AND SMITH WOULD BE MASSIVE PICK UPS FOR DEVONPORT. HOW WOULD THEY GO WITH CLEARANCES?
Jacko also coaches the NTFL rep side and the State under 23 side. Good coach who knows his stuff. If Browny and Smithy go to D'Port they will sure strengthen them up abit. I also have heard that Browney has got a few mates that want to play under him so he could attracked a few more players aswell

Very true Hawkboy, one of the conditions that Devonport agreed to was that they could approach any player under 50 games within the Burnie zone, if agreed to go there would be no clearance fee, 100% sure of this. There is also a rule in the constitution that states if you have lived in a particular poste code for 15 months plus and you play in another zone, you can leave with no fee, but there are stipulations to that rule
Can anybody tell me where Burnie's zone finishes and D'Ports start?

Jacko also coaches the NTFL rep side and the State under 23 side. Good coach who knows his stuff. If Browny and Smithy go to D'Port they will sure strengthen them up abit. I also have heard that Browney has got a few mates that want to play under him so he could attracked a few more players aswell

Who would these mates be, or are they young guys? Burnie apparently going to name a coach in the next three days.

I reckon Manny Lynch would be a good fit for Burnie.
They will be losing a lot of older players but have pleny of talented youngsters in the club and he has a good record coaching young players.
Manny is widely respected in football circles and he is just the man to
start the rebuilding process at the Dockers after this year ended with
the side underperforming in the last few roster games and the finals.
As for the stories going around about players leaving the Dockers my attitude is if they dont want to play they are not worth worrying about and should move on.

I reckon Manny Lynch would be a good fit for Burnie.
They will be losing a lot of older players but have pleny of talented youngsters in the club and he has a good record coaching young players.
Manny is widely respected in football circles and he is just the man to
start the rebuilding process at the Dockers after this year ended with
the side underperforming in the last few roster games and the finals.
As for the stories going around about players leaving the Dockers my attitude is if they dont want to play they are not worth worrying about and should move on.

I think he would be good for Burnie aswell. What older players do you speak of Hawkboy? And whats his good coaching record with young players you speak of? Although i must argue with you in regards to underperforming. They got beat by dev in the wet when they had 7 players out, beat by North hobart by a goal who were last years grand finalists in the SFL, beat Launy by 10 goals in the wet up in Launy, got smashed by Glenorchy which they were very poor in, and got beat by Clarence with a chance to win after the siren. Big call that, or is it because they hadn't lost a game for so long that they then underachieved, maybe they won games during the year they should not have but were lucky to get away with them???? And as for what you hear, i wouldn't believe what you hear around the traps, unless it's from the horse's mouth.

2009-2010 Off season player movement/recruiting