2009 Draw

Sure, then I understand having top-8-heavy home fixtures, but give us some slack for the Away, surely? Don't have us play the Hawks, Cats, Saints AND Pies twice each. Maybe Hawks, and Pies? But not all four!

Check this analysis out. Man did the Swans get shafted in this draw :( VERY top heavy. But don't worry, finishing bottom will give us picks in the draft - Oh, yeah, that's gonna be compromised too.

Time to dig out some AFL conspiracy theories again.;) EDIT : Just had a look at the other club's draws. The AFL has more or less declared that Carlton & Richmond don't have to play anyone to get to the finals this year. Fair enough too. They have been down for soooooooo long.

Ladder position 2008, team & round(s)

1 Cats 7 & 20
2 Hawks 2 & 11
3 Dogs 10 (AWAY)
4 Saints 1 & 18
5 Crows 13 (AWAY)
7 Roos 14
8 Pies 12 & 21

9 Tigers 6 & 19
10 Lions 3 & 22
11 Blues 4 & 16

12 Bombers 15
13 Port 9
14 Freo 5
15 WC 8
16 Demon 17

22 games - 11 v teams making the 8, and 11 v teams not making the 8 not really so unfair.

Fair point and maybe the AFL guys hoped people would see it that way, but it's not as simple as that.;)

There are 15 other teams. We play the top 7 of those teams 11 times and the bottom 7 just 9 times. The 'middle' placed of those 15 teams are the Tigers whom we play twice. OK, that's a bit unfair but we could deal with it, only it gets worse. We play 7 games against the top four teams and just 4 games against the bottom four.

You savvy ? We've been had.

ps. My mum struck a blow against the AFL by knitting my boys a couple of non-AFL-approved Swanneees scarves. We should all do the same.:thumbsu:

We play 7 games against the top four teams and just 4 games against the bottom four.

You savvy ? We've been had.

The top four teams are Victorian; three of the bottom four teams are outside Victoria. If Sydney wanted six Melbourne games in 2009 (and if I understand correctly, it's something the club pushes for), it was always going to tend towards having to play the top teams twice.

Saturday arvo games at the SCG? That's a little strange. One of the Manuka games is also on Saturday afternoon. Weird.
Saturday Arvo footy wierd? The way it should be. Also Manuka is much more preferable to Sundays. Don't have to rush backafter the game

Weird in the sense that when was the last time we played on Saturday afternoon at the SCG?

Im guessing terryo is from melbourne and older than 30...
Fair enough, but does anyone actually know the last time? I'm sure it hasn't happened since I've been watching about 9-10 years ago. I remember the occassional Friday night game, but it's definitely been Sunday afternoon or Saturday night for as long as I can recall.

The top four teams are Victorian; three of the bottom four teams are outside Victoria. If Sydney wanted six Melbourne games in 2009 (and if I understand correctly, it's something the club pushes for), it was always going to tend towards having to play the top teams twice.

What bollocks ! You only need to play a Melbourne team once to play them in Melbourne. Geelong is not even in Melbourne.

Seriously, with all due respect to the Tasmanian commentators here, sucking up to the AFL is not going to get you a team of your own. In fact, it's likely to have quite the opposite effect. The AFL get mostly flak from Sydney-siders and yet they're trying to shove another team down our throat whether we want it or not.

Stop trying to undermine a perfectly good conspiracy theory with your rational apologist stance. Tell the AFL to get stuffed and you might just get to see the Tasmanian Scallops enter the AFL in 2023.:D

What bollocks ! You only need to play a Melbourne team once to play them in Melbourne. Geelong is not even in Melbourne.

OK, we'll only play the Victorian teams in Victoria. At home we'll play Brisbane, West Coast, Fremantle, Port Adelaide and Adelaide twice and have a bye. Sounds pretty reasonable :rolleyes:

Ouch, not a pretty '09. Cats/Hawks/Pies x 2 is an almost guaranteed 6 losses (at this stage anyway). At least we only play Adelaide once.

The Saturday arvo games at the SCG should be interesting. Can't see us drawing big numbers, but it'll be a nice, novel experience.

2009 draw :(

i'm probably not going to watch the collingwood games... for the benefit of the game, we shouldn't be playing them, let alone let it be a showcase game

OK, we'll only play the Victorian teams in Victoria. At home we'll play Brisbane, West Coast, Fremantle, Port Adelaide and Adelaide twice and have a bye. Sounds pretty reasonable :rolleyes:

I like your thinking :thumbsu:

Now get everyone in Tassie to write to the AFL telling them you don't want a team. Tell them you can't see how you can support a new team, ask them where they think the fan base will come from and why they think you should have games played in a stadium with no soul. Make it clear you think they're nuts.

That should get you a new team just in time to join the other new teams for 2023, along with several relocated teams.

Round 1 2023

Sydney Swans v. Bathurst Bogans
Cabramatta Westies v. Gold Coast Bikinis
Geelong Cats v. Tassie Scallops
Whyalla Magpies v. Bendigo Bears
Bega Blues v. Cairns Cockroaches
Ballarat Bulldogs v. Port Lincoln Penguins
Wagga Wagga Wallabies Wallabies v. Margaret River Eagles
Townsville Tigers v. Kalgoorlie Kangaroos
Alice Springs Crows v. Greater Adelaide Power
Perth Dockers v. Hobart Hawks
Dandenong Demons v. Wollongong Saints
Sydney Ducks v. SE Queensland Lions
Darwin Dogs v. Canberra Koalas
Falls Creek Falcons v. Buller Budgies

I like your thinking :thumbsu:

Now get everyone in Tassie to write to the AFL telling them you don't want a team. Tell them you can't see how you can support a new team, ask them where they think the fan base will come from and why they think you should have games played in a stadium with no soul. Make it clear you think they're nuts.

That should get you a new team just in time to join the other new teams for 2023, along with several relocated teams.

Round 1 2023

Sydney Swans v. Bathurst Bogans
Cabramatta Westies v. Gold Coast Bikinis
Geelong Cats v. Tassie Scallops
Whyalla Magpies v. Bendigo Bears
Bega Blues v. Cairns Cockroaches
Ballarat Bulldogs v. Port Lincoln Penguins
Wagga Wagga Wallabies Wallabies v. Margaret River Eagles
Townsville Tigers v. Kalgoorlie Kangaroos
Alice Springs Crows v. Greater Adelaide Power
Perth Dockers v. Hobart Hawks
Dandenong Demons v. Wollongong Saints
Sydney Ducks v. SE Queensland Lions
Darwin Dogs v. Canberra Koalas
Falls Creek Falcons v. Buller Budgies

Funny..

HI all,

I've written a tool to generate calendars for importing for any team (or all teams), with custom reminders etc.
It produces CSV and ICS (iCal) files, as well as PDF (no reminders obviously!).
It works with Outlook, iCal, Google Calendar etc etc.

It can be found here:
http://www.thismonkey.com/afl/2009/aflfixture-2009.shtml

Please take a look, and leave comments, ideas etc if you like.

Thanks
Scott

Does anyone have any times for all the matches??

This is what im expecting

Blue = Win
Red = Loss
Black = To close to call

Round 1 vs St Kilda (A)
Round 2 vs Hawthorn (H)
Round 3 vs Lions (A)
Round 4 vs Carlton (H)
Round 5 vs Fremantle (A)
Round 6 vs Richmond (H)
Round 7 vs Geelong (A)
Round 8 vs West Coast (H)
Round 9 vs Port Adelaide (H)
Round 10 vs Western Bulldogs (A)
Round 11 vs Hawthorn (A)
Round 12 vs Collingwood (H)
Round 13 vs Adelaide (A)
Round 14 vs North Melbourne (H)
Round 15 vs Essendon (H)
Round 16 vs Carlton (A)
Round 17 vs Melourne (A)
Round 18 vs St Kilda (H)
Round 19 vs Richmond (A)
Round 20 vs Geelong (H)
Round 21 vs Collingwood (A)
Round 22 vs Brisbane (H)

So i have

12 wins
9 losses
1 undecided

Blue = Win
Red = Loss
Black = To close to call

Round 1 vs St Kilda (A)
Round 2 vs Hawthorn (H)
Round 3 vs Lions (A)
Round 4 vs Carlton (H)
Round 5 vs Fremantle (A)
Round 6 vs Richmond (H)
Round 7 vs Geelong (A)
Round 8 vs West Coast (H)
Round 9 vs Port Adelaide (H)
Round 10 vs Western Bulldogs (A)
Round 11 vs Hawthorn (A)
Round 12 vs Collingwood (H)
Round 13 vs Adelaide (A)
Round 14 vs North Melbourne (H)
Round 15 vs Essendon (H)
Round 16 vs Carlton (A)
Round 17 vs Melourne (A)
Round 18 vs St Kilda (H)
Round 19 vs Richmond (A)
Round 20 vs Geelong (H)
Round 21 vs Collingwood (A)
Round 22 vs Brisbane (H)

So i have

9 wins
13 losses

2009 Finish 9 - 11th. Considering the run you have had and the age of many of your stars this is about right IMO. Jolly is very important and so is Goodes due to 1) being a star and 2) having an injury rehab interupted pre season, expect him to play half forward and FF early on.

2009 Draw