2010 All-Australian Team (Part 2)

Re: 2010 All-Australian Team

Anyone considering Jolly as an all australian is kidding themselves. Was probably the worst ruckmen in the league in the first half of the season. Seriously, next thing i will hear Leigh Brown as all australian

Even i agree with this.

If his 1st half was as good as his 2nd half of the season he'd be All Australian ruckman on the bench behind Sandilands, but no chance after his first 11 games.

Has Deledio really been that good this year? I know he was poor vs Melbourne and I have watched more Richmond games than just that but I never thought he was in the league of Enright, Malceski, Gilbert etc. He's wasted at half back imo.

lol yes.

He's probably been better than all of Malceski, Gilbert and Enright.

He may get a "Dane Swan half forward" spot but Green and Le Cras have been far better this year as genuine forwards. I wouldn't want to see Harvey take their spots. Bench or nothing in my opinion.

I dunno, if Boomer rips it up in the next three games I think he has a serious shot.

He's an outside bet though.

I think playing well in the first half of the season and well in the second half makes you much less likely to make AA than the inverse of that.

If you storm home in the last 5-8 rounds having massive impact in just about all these matches you'll be discussed in the same breath as people who have played well all season. For this reason I don't find the Jolly possibility all that unlikely (although I don't really agree with it).

Another example is Luke Hodge - played roughly 11 awesome games in the middle of the season (a few quiet ones at the start when he was playing ruck/ff/chb/all over) and has played a couple of quiet ones in a row now. He may just be relegated to the bench or out of the team - would not surprise me.

The coaches dream..a champion utility that produces his better footy at the business end...year after year.

Now if he would only jump for a cpl of taps this weekend we can all slot him in on the bench as the pseudo #2 ruckman...and make the AA team so much stronger than making a half arsed choice between a few average rucks this yr. Probably a good yr not to bother with a #2 ruck at all.

My pick this yr for the "Joel Bowden at CHB/Leon Davis WTF" award is Daisy. I reckon he's been damn good and very much in consideration. Like Green for a run on slot, Deledio/Harvey/Bartel perhaps in the squad but i reckon not good enough for the 22..dont see Enright's season as anything too special but they love him and is at least squadworthy too.

At the bounce
Foll: Sandilands..Hayes..Swan
with your choice of Boyd or Selwood at centre.

Hall and Jack Riewoldt in run on. LeCras, Chapman, Didak, Selwood, Boyd, Taylor, Goddard, Ablett, Hodge, Green all hell yes i reckon.

Some squadworthy definties and on edge of final team selection...Pendlebury, Gilbert. Malceski, Thomas, Mundy, Boyd, Goodes, Cooney, Montagna, Franklin.

Be nice to pick Hodge and Goddard in any position but the reality is they'll probably slot them both as HBF'ers to fit more mids in the team.

Forgot Judd...squad borderline run on. Fractionally behind guys like Pendlebury for mine. Johncock a solid squad chance too. Dont rate Pav's season good enough but they will pick him in the squad anyway.

Judd wont be borderline, i can guarantee he will be starting rover. I dont think the selectors buy into some of the stupid bigfooty belief about Judd no longer being one of the top few players. They know Judd is absolutely elite and appreciate how hard he works with few other carlton players willing to go in an under to help him out yet he has still carried the team to numerous wins this year.

Starting rover? The brutally honest truth is that Judd would be lucky to make the initial 40.

Big few weeks for AA chances coming up really, the team is not settled at all (bar the midfielders). Word is Fletch could be out for the year with this hammy so from my team any of Frawley, Gilbert or Malceski could step up to take his spot. Hall, Riewoldt, Pav & Buddy not locked in either, I think there's 3 spots for those 4.

Judd will almost certainly get into the side, not that he deserves to, the selectors still buy into his hype. He's had an average year, no matter what you put it down to. Welln, not 'average' he's played some damn good games, but there are plenty of midfielders lining up ahead of him like Swan, Ablett, Hodge, Hayes, Montagna, Selwood, Pendlebury, etc.

Judd has had a good year and hating Judd seems to be in fashion. Borderline for the team but definitely in contention. He does get overrated but in the end he seems to be underrated overall. Top inside mid who has had some average disposal games but that's no different to Boyd this season.

Normally agree with what you say Bollox but I don't see how LeCras or Hall are any more deserving than Pav when they have probably played the same amount of non-influential games.

I admit i may bit a little bias here but i really do believe that Green and Frawley should be garunteed (hate spelling that word) selections for the AA team. Jamar also is worth the consideration when you look at the lack of ruckmen he has to compete with. Behind Sandilands he has been the next most influential hence, is well deserving for that #2 Ruckmen spot.

I don't reckon there will be two ruckmen this year. I think the selectors have decided to only go with one from now on unless the second in line has performed around say the best 30 players for the season. Jamar has had a very good season but no good enough to get the spot over other different types of players. He may find himself in the squad though which is a great effort.

Green is a certainty now I reckon but Frawley isn't. He would make my team but there is plenty of competition for defensive spots that aren't full back. If Frawley plays brilliantly this next three weeks he may even be given CHB now that Taylor is crook and may miss another couple of games.

Jamar also is worth the consideration when you look at the lack of ruckmen he has to compete with. Behind Sandilands he has been the next most influential hence, is well deserving for that #2 Ruckmen spot.

Mitch Clark had a better year last year than Jamar this year but didn't get a spot.

2010 All-Australian Team (Part 2)