Back from the dead
Sep 14, 2004
Pittsburgh Penguins
Gday fellas,
Figured I'd start a thread on this, rather than it get lost in the season thread.

Here most of the trades that have taken place so far (I've left out a few insignificant ones - although you could argue I've included some here), with the deadline going down at 3pm ET tomorrow (or 7am AEDST Thursday).

medium.png

D Jordan Leopold
medium.png

2010 2nd round pick
--------------------------
medium.png

G Joe Fallon

medium.png

G Hannu Toivonen
D Danny Richmond
medium.png

2010 2nd round pick

medium.png

D Denis Grebeshkov
medium.png

D Nathan Oystrick
2011 conditional pick

medium.png

F Evgeny Artyukhin
medium.png

2010 2nd round pick

medium.png

D Andy Sutton
medium.png

LW Luca Caputi
D Martin Skuola

medium.png

LW Alexei Ponikarovsky
medium.png

RW Aaron Pulashaj
medium.png

RW Matt D'Agostini

P.S. Nice to be back!

Who is this marns person? Never heard of him before ;) Guess you've been busy having a life.. yeah I'd like one of those atm :p
Ha, yeah I got back from Toronto a bit over a week ago, so I should be spending a bit more time on BF. Gotta tell ya, it's strange getting used to games being played in the arvo, though.

Good move for the Pens, Caputi is a decent prospect for the Leafs but Skoula is worthless really.
Yeah, Skoula had to go as a salary dump to fit Poni in under the cap.

Also, not sure how many of you guys know, but a few of the TSN guys are on twitter. Two of the best update quite often, so a good way to stay in the loop-ish:
http://twitter.com/darrendreger
http://twitter.com/TSNBobMcKenzie

Interesting one just done.

Aaron Palushaj (STL) for Matt D'Agostini (MTL). Prospect for current winger.

as for tonight catters, I won't be staying up all night, I'll just do my usual till 2am then get up when everything is done. Learned my lesson from previous years/Soccer deadlines - stuff happens 5 hours after deadlines at time and you just feel incredibly shit the next day!

Yeah been following them (well, looking at them as I dont have a twitter) since late January for trade news.

Why'd you come back to Aus ;) Canada is so much better :p
Haha, I have to finish uni, but once that's done, who knows? I got used to going out to the pub, or wherever and seeing hockey being played everywhere.

anyone staying up tonight?? or maybe getting up early tomorrow..

who do people thnk will be the biggest fish traded?

Yeah, probably not worth staying up tonight, but I plan to get up at about 6-ish, just before it's all done.

Having said that, last year's deadline was a joke, so I'm not willing to get up if it is heading that way. Might get up early, see if much has happened and go from there.

Can I be the first to say, thank god there's no Olli Jokinen watch this year?

I like what Phoenix did today, good to see them go for a playoff push..

picked up Morris and schneider for veteran help on the blue line and Wolski and stempniak for impact up front..

mueller was the only significant loss, but he and wolski seemed to both need a change of scenary..

phoenix still kept both 1st round picks they own too. (depending on how deep they go...morris' conditional pick could end up being a first i think, depending on how well they go)

visnovky picked up last minute for the ducks will improve their power play and the kings added some experience..

looks like Dallas will finish last in the pacific:(

The Caps and Pens got better, but the Sharks and Hawks stood pat. Interesting.

Plenty of trades today, but not a whole too interesting.

For the Avs, we did three things - we traded Wolski for Mueller and Porter, we got Yelle back to retire an Av, and we didn't trade a d-man.

I think the Wolski move is a smart risk. I don't reckon the Avs liked what kind of raise Wojo was after, and at this stage its hard to see him ever being more than a 30/30 player at best, plus he has been benched at times by all of our last three coaches.

Mueller has the better upside, he could be a star, and may just take a change of scenery. He may continue to be poor, but his rookie year he scored more points than Wojo ever has (although he'll top that this year).

Porter, a Hobey Baker winner, will look good with the likes of O'Reilly, Galiardi, McLeod over the next few years too.

Getting Yelle back is great, great veteran for the locker room, and he can retire an Av.

Not trading a d-man suggests we want to leave that till the summer. Let's keep those assests in the playoffs, see how far we can go, then lose one or more of Liles, Salei, Clark.

I don't mind our day, I know Mueller could be a star in this league, probably next to Duchene, and at a lower price than Wojo, Porter has a lot of promise along with our other 3rd line guys, and oh my Yelle has come home.

We didn't really stand pat though jimmy, we had Wallin pre-olympics. Same with Chicago, moving for Johnsson and then Boynton after the olympics.

For the Avs, not sure its the right move. It actually makes you a worse team for now. Wouldn't it have been better to hold onto him and play as well as you can in the playoffs and give Duchene etc experience? Also, you gave up a left wing for two more centres? Duchene and Stastny are already the number 1 and 2 centres, what does that make Mueller?

I meant stand pat as in you didnt make that big splash. Its very even now in terms of SC contenders, one school of thought (probably a wrong one mind you) would've said the Hawks or Sharks make a big splash to get slightly ahead.

That said, you two are killing the west, so its not really neccessary.

Mueller will play wing, no doubt. And Porter will slot in either holding down the fourth line or flanking O'Reilly. We are short on natural left wingers, but we have quite a few right wingers who play left, so in that sense I'm not concerned.

Whilst its a risky move, and one we may well end up losing, I understand why it made sense to Sherman.

Wolski was not fitting under Sacco's system. And he was also going to ask for more than we would want to pay him come the off-season. So he goes. And in return, we get someone who whilst he has been bumming around this season (although he did ask Maloney for a trade, didn't like living in Phoenix, so a change of scenery might be all he needs) Mueller has star potential in this league, and Porter from what I know sounds just like a Sacco kind of player.

We save money, ship out one winger who was in Sacco's doghouse for one with a higher ceiling, and a Sacco type of 3rd liner to add to O'Reilly and Galiardi.

Very optimistic view, but that would've been Sherman's thinking. Buy low sell high.

And I tell ya, Mueller's looking ok so far. Made two passes where one was robbed and one should've been put in, then there was the shot on the PP where he actually scored.

A right handed shot, looks ok on the point on the PP, not too shabby.

One period does not make a career resurrection, but promising signs early from #88.

Tomorrow's game will be interesting. Mueller will be playing his third game in three nights, and be going head to head with Wojo.

But yeah, so far, looks 'ok'.

Great trade deadline! No superstars delt on deadline day, but still alot of fun!

Majority of the trades seemed fair for both sides involved too. The 2nd rd draft pick was popular this season!

The Visnovsky for Whitney + 6th was interesting, I thought a better draft pick than a 6th could come back, espeically if it was a cost cutting trade for the Oilers.
The Corvo trade also seemed a tad over the top, would think Osala + 2nd or Pothier + 2nd would have been enough.

I think WSH did well gaining the help on D and getting some gritty and depth fowards. PHX, I thought, did ok too and didn't give up too much for the players they got. CAR got rid of some veteran guys as expected. Oh, and PIT did well too with the two major trades they made.

Overall I don't any team did noticeably badly. Good trade period all round! :)

Talk about LA stockpiling young talent and them coming on strong with becoming Cup contenders a matter of when not if, if we're not stockpiling some great young talent ourselves than I'll go hee.

10 guys under 25 who are all bonafide NHLers, who with a bit of luck and two or three extra pieces can make an utterly complete set of forwards:

Stastny, Duchene, Stewart, Mueller, O'Reilly, Galiardi, Jones, Yip, McLeod and Porter.

Exciting rebuild in Denver, whilst not to mention Shattenkirk, Holos, Cohen, Gaunce, Barrie, Elliott as prospects on D to add to Quincey, Wilson and Cumiskey already.

Geniuenly exciting.

Talk about LA stockpiling young talent and them coming on strong with becoming Cup contenders a matter of when not if, if we're not stockpiling some great young talent ourselves than I'll go hee.

10 guys under 25 who are all bonafide NHLers, who with a bit of luck and two or three extra pieces can make an utterly complete set of forwards:

Stastny, Duchene, Stewart, Mueller, O'Reilly, Galiardi, Jones, Yip, McLeod and Porter.

Exciting rebuild in Denver, whilst not to mention Shattenkirk, Holos, Cohen, Gaunce, Barrie, Elliott as prospects on D to add to Quincey, Wilson and Cumiskey already.

Geniuenly exciting.

What you said is a reason why i wouldnt mind seeing dallas drop out this year..i will obviously barrack hard for the win each game but if we lose and drop to a top 5, 6 or 7 pick i wouldnt mind..

we have some decent talent 25 or under..

Grossman, Fistric, Niskanen on the blue line are all 3rd year players now and all getting stronger and better each year..

up front we have jamie benn, james neal, loui eriksson, tom wandell and fabian brunnstrom all 25 or under, the first four have all been brilliant this year in either their first second or third years..

with promising prospects scott Glennie, ondrej roman and phillip larsen in ther system we have rebuilt quite well for the future..

the thing we lack is an out an out stud like a duchene or doughty to build around.

If we could drop to get a player like cam fowler in the draft then i think our future will be looking bright..

Yeah it almost pays off to have that one real stinker year to get that top 3, top 5 pick. Last year was a disaster, but it got us Duchene. But you still need the good pro-scouts to find that Weber, tht Lundqvist in the later rounds too.

Happy the Pens got their winger, even if it's just for a few months. Poni isn't a world-beater, but he IS world class.

I don't think he's for Sid's wing though, more likely with Fed-Ex and Geno.

The Pens are flat-out built of playoffs and that's why, regardless of their seed, they are one of the very top teams to beat in the East. Everyone has to come through the 'Burgh, and that's a tough ask.

Caps are terrifying, but one wonders whether the offensive juggernaut will work in a 7 game series. I feel that Messrs Cooke, Rupp, Staal, and co throwing themselves into Mike Green every shift might make the Caps a little nervous.

I cannot see anyone other that the Pens, Caps or Devils getting out of the East.

2010 NHL Trade Deadline