Apr 19, 2005
The Pub
Brisbane Lions
UQ AFC (My only true team)
Thread for the formally known State Association Division 1.

Not too long to go before the first games. Personally going in hopeful that my boys go one better this year in the seniors after a pretty bad day against a very tough Kings outfit (I trust the footage was alright? :) )

Whats news around the clubs?

Re: 2012 SEQAFL Division 2

Because of the change of name for the Division, let's start things off by listing the clubs involved so that others have a better idea of who is involved.

In SEQAFL Division 2, we have:

Alexandra Hills
Aspley
Caloundra
Coorparoo
Kedron
Kenmore
Robina
University of Qld
Wynnum
Yeronga South Brisbane

I have heard that Alex Hills has recruited very well for season 2012. A couple of NEAFL players from 2010 that didn't play last year due to work committments are joining up with some mates.

Hey all, just after some info on the clubs around the Brisbane area? Coming up north from Vic, played in the Vic Ammos a few years back and looking to have a kick with a club that wants to win but has a good time going about it. Looking likely to be setting up camp around South Bank or the Valley areas. Any info/insight would be good. Cheers

G'day mate,

UQ Red Lions would be keen to grab you. We aren't too far away from Southbank at all, just the other side of the river. Shoot me a private message if you want details and I can get you in touch with the head coach.

Cheers

G'day Bulldogg,

You are very welcome to come along to Yeronga & have a run at training. Each Tuesday & Thursday night, all new players are welcome.

And Southbank is vitually walking distance from our ground (well, I walk it home most days after work anyway).

I'll send you a message with more details. Hopefully, we may see you soon.

Which Ammo's side did you play for Bulldog?

Caloundra have lost around 20 players from last year, only small numbers at training, lots of players moving away for work. and did speak to the league about dropping down a div and where told it's either div 2 or go back to div 4 with one team.

Interesting goalkicker - I know the coast is struggling with employment - lots of tradies taking the mining option if they can get it. First time for a while that we have had negative population growth.

Caloundra will be calling the league today and asking to drop down a league and if that can't happen. Then they will only have one team in 2012, as they wont continue in div2. As voted by the club last night.

Thats no good at all Goalkicker. Werent you guys touted as PHC possibilities only a year ago? Shame things gone south so quick. Will dropping down divs see you potentially lose some of your better players who wanted a higher standard?

Yeah most blokes will stay if we go down one level, as we feel we might be able to get few older blokes to go around again, but if we go to one team then most will head to other clubs. Phc talk was only from people outside the club, we have never been in position to move up.

know the feeling.

Maroochydore had a very tough season last year, however we took pride in the fact we didn't forfeit any games and even though we copped floggings all year, everyone stayed positive and as a result have come out the other end a much better club, with a culture never seen before.

hopefully for Caloundra's sake they can work through there issues this year, and be back next year bigger than ever.

Good to see a new forum old one was dead.
first why has the comps name changed?
What happened up the bruce hwy ? calounda no more?
what happens to the fixture then.?
S36 New players from alex ? names ?

I suspect the name change is for re-branding purposes.

By from I've gathered from PIES11, employment opportunities have dried up around Caloundra and the player base has had to move away for work. Another victim of the economic climate I suppose.

My bet in regards to the draw, when the league confirms that Caloundra have dropped out, two less games for each club I'm guessing with UQ receiving a bye first.

Good to see a new forum old one was dead.
first why has the comps name changed?
What happened up the bruce hwy ? calounda no more?
what happens to the fixture then.?
S36 New players from alex ? names ?
Who comes up into this comp now? Ipswich, Nambour???? Shame to see the panthers go ;(

Yeah not good news but think they have to look even deeper and that is at their juniors where there is only one team in each division - numbers are lower than a club like Kawana. Its an odds game - build your juniors, more kids flow thru to seniors.

Wow what a big turn around for the Panthers, only just a few years back there was big talk about them being pushed up to the PHC, Sad news I wish them all the best!

Hey mate you would be more than welcome at Kenmore Bears fantastic club who also enjoy goood times too call Mumf our president and he can give you the details, I guarranty youll enjoy yourself as they have a great bunch of blokes too cheers.

G'day Bulldogg,

You are very welcome to come along to Yeronga & have a run at training. Each Tuesday & Thursday night, all new players are welcome.

And Southbank is vitually walking distance from our ground (well, I walk it home most days after work anyway).

I'll send you a message with more details. Hopefully, we may see you soon.

Wouldn't recommend going to this club if John Corless is still involved - ask first. I played there for 6 years and this individual took the club so far backwards it is hard to see them progressing at all. We were in the SQAFA (current PHC) and competed very well against the Aspley's and Mt Gravatts. It was always a great contest between us 3. Where are they now? where is Yeronga? Steer clear of this club if anyone called Coreless is involved.

A not so neutral observation mate!! Very harsh - Tom stuck with Yeronga when times got tough unlike many others. was a great football club during the 90's but like many (Mayne, Maroochydore, Calooundra presently) clubs go thru tough times.

know the feeling.

Maroochydore had a very tough season last year, however we took pride in the fact we didn't forfeit any games and even though we copped floggings all year, everyone stayed positive and as a result have come out the other end a much better club, with a culture never seen before.

hopefully for Caloundra's sake they can work through there issues this year, and be back next year bigger than ever.
A culture never seen before?Hope DJ todd is still part of such a wonderfull culture.

SMY - if you spent 6 years or more at this club like I did, let me know and I will bow to your better judgement - if you didn't then please bow to mine.

A not so neutral observation mate!! Very harsh - Tom stuck with Yeronga when times got tough unlike many others. was a great football club during the 90's but like many (Mayne, Maroochydore, Calooundra presently) clubs go thru tough times.

6 years at a shithouse club in your opinion - your tolerance levels must be remarkable (or you couldn't go anywhere else). Pretty poor form slagging off a specific individual unless of course you put up your hand at some stage to run the club??:eek: