2013/2014 Regular Season

Pens starting to fall over at the wrong end of the season
The only difference between this and recent years is that it happened a little earlier than usual. With the team as it is (and coaching staff as it is), we're not going to do anything in the post-season.

Ryan O'Reilly ends his run of 0 PIM on the season care of a playing with a broken stick penalty. What a way to ruin that.

Congrats to Colorado on officially making the playoffs. What a season.

How do playoff match ups work?

is it the top overall seed play the 2nd wild card, the 2nd overall seed the 1st wild card.

Then 2 v 3 in each division play each other?

or is it top seed v 2nd WC, 2nd seed v 1wc, the remaining match ups are based on 3v6 and 4v5 point seedings?

They just tried explaining it.

I think what they were saying is the two number 1s get the wild cards. The division winner with the most points plays the wild card with the fewest of the two. Wild card teams can swap divisions with this method.

So using the west as an example..

Division winners:
Blues 107
Sharks 103

Wild cards:
Wild 85
Yotes 84

So the playoffs would be

Blues v Yotes
Sharks v Wild

I think! If I'm wrong this was a waste of time posting it

The only way for a Montreal team to win these days is to hang on by the skin of their teeth in the part of the game that actually requires team brilliance, and make it to a shootout where their diving narcissists can dance around uninterrupted.

The Habs get lucky again tonight! Have got lucky five games in a row, eight times from nine games they've hung on by the skin of their teeth for a victory (just the once going to a shootout, mind you...)

The Leafs have lost eight straight in regulation for the first time since 1985!

Going to be interesting to find out how this save from Quick wasn't very good...

Good block, but its not going in so technically not a save. Also, good goalies don't get themselves in that position in the first place.

You are a joke mate.

The Habs get lucky again tonight! Have got lucky five games in a row, eight times from nine games they've hung on by the skin of their teeth for a victory (just the once going to a shootout, mind you...)

The Leafs have lost eight straight in regulation for the first time since 1985!

Reminds me of the epic collapse of the Cannucks one year (thing it was 05/06 just after the lockout).

Avs-Hawks is going to be an absolute cracker of a first round match up.

Really wish we were not playing them. They've looked so much quicker then us this year and have dominated us having won 4 times against us this year.

Playoffs a different beast I reckon - and you have heaps more experience of it than they do.

Injury to Toews. F**king hell.

2013/2014 Regular Season