Teams 2013 Rate my Dream Team

Nice
44162635.jpg

First crack at picking a team, far from a finished product I know, Need to have a further look into Macaffer,Rischa, Varcoe, and a couple others closer to the season but yeah. What do you guys think? :)

Very nice team for a first picking mate! Macaffer should be pretty good this year, im all ready on board with that one, Varcoe has plenty of ability and is playing a half back role i think now, and Rischa has the potential to be one of the pick ups of the season if he produces form from a few seasons ago!

Keep it up!

Here's my early draft....I'm purposely going for a stronger midfield that the standard 4 or 5 premo setup. I know my backline is weaker as a result. Am hoping to get decent rookie or cheap options appear for backmen in the NAB Cup!

Def: Goddard, Gibbs, Broughton, Staker, Goodes, Docherty (Stevenson, Terlich)

Mid: Swan, Ablett, Cotchin, Pendlebury, Deledio, Stanton, Crouch, O'Meara (Hrovat, Viney)

Ruc: Sandilands, Leuenberger (Grundy, Moller)

Fwd: Cox, Zorko, Rockliff, Varcoe, Mayes, Daniher (Menzel, Lee)

Thoughts??

Here's my early draft....I'm purposely going for a stronger midfield that the standard 4 or 5 premo setup. I know my backline is weaker as a result. Am hoping to get decent rookie or cheap options appear for backmen in the NAB Cup!

Mid: Swan, Ablett, Cotchin, Pendlebury, Deledio, Stanton, Crouch, O'Meara (Hrovat, Viney)

Thoughts??

Solid team mate! id say your forwards are really risky, Daniher wont play the full season, Hird said he will be eased in, Varcoe returning from injury, and i cant really see Lee playing a great deal, but other then that, a really nice team!

Thoughts??
Doesnt look to bad. Maybe you could look at downgrading either deledio or Stanton, and use the cash else where. Probably your only concern at this stage are your bottom 3 starting forwards and backman. This is where the best usually get it right, and therefore reep the rewards.

Feb1st_zps1623b066.png

Just after a little bit of feedback guys, first team for 2013 picked. Tell me whats needed to make stronger, my weak points? Open to it all so fire away :)

How about something worth adding to the thread?

Instead of 6 year old emoticons, what about a breakdown on the deficiencies you see in his team and why.

Remember there is no real correct starting lineup and each to there own, seems to be a lot of tyre kickers that hang around here waiting for the hindsight and 'I told you so' remarks.

you seriously can't see the issue with that team? isn't it too obvious for words?
I won't be saying I told you so...who gives a toss about where you or I failed it's always about preparation for the next game...geez NT you've got a little precious here haven't you? cue the emoticon....:p
:footy:

Feb1st_zps1623b066.png

Just after a little bit of feedback guys, first team for 2013 picked. Tell me whats needed to make stronger, my weak points? Open to it all so fire away :)

You'd be better off starting 2 rooks instead of Fisher & Bock. Neither will average any higher 70 this year IMHO.

you seriously can't see the issue with that team? isn't it too obvious for words?
I won't be saying I told you so...who gives a toss about where you or I failed it's always about preparation for the next game...geez NT you've got a little precious here haven't you? cue the emoticon....:p
:footy:
Maybe I am a little precious, seems to happen hanging around the main boards this time of year.....Seems you and JuddMagic have a few things in common in addition to emoticons LOL!

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/re...eyes-long-career/story-fnelctok-1226552669349

has 211 hurt himself recently? NT... he had a minor corrective opp the other day but apart from that
all indications are that he is flying on his modified program...
yeah, seems a number of reports have him flying but surgery none the less for a 211cm injury prone ruckman means i'll keep an eye on him until preseason. A number of better options in value for money anyway IMO. Injury prone may be a little rough, but has had his fair share of issues these last few years.

I was just alluding to the corrective surgery and nothing more that's all.

44162635.jpg

First crack at picking a team, far from a finished product I know, Need to have a further look into Macaffer,Rischa, Varcoe, and a couple others closer to the season but yeah. What do you guys think? :)

Backline : Very strong. Good premium selections of Goddard, Grimes, Gibbs, Heppell and Broughton. I would get rid of Gilbert though. Just isn't a DT premium player and I don't see the upside. Apparently backline rookies/value picks are fairly high so by spending so much on your backline you are potentially missing out on Pittard/Stevenson. The obvious solution would be to downgrade Gilbert to one of them. If both Pittard and Stevenson have good preseasons then it may be worth downgrading one of your premiums as well.

Midfield : Short on premiums. Priddis may or may not be good enough for one of the final spots of your midfield at the end of the year but around the same price are other midfielders with more potential to step it up another level and be value (Fyfe, Shuey, Greene, Barlow). At the end of last year Worsfold also mentioned adding more pace to our midfield which could see less midfield time for Priddis. I'm not keen on Ball. I think he might average around 80 odd and is awkwardly priced.

Overall I see you needing at least 5 midfield premiums to be brought in. Possibly 6. You will need a lot of those midpricers to work out to bring them in early enough. If you ended up downgrading Gilbert in your backline i would advise using that money to upgrading Ball to a safe, top end premium.

Rucks: All good.

Forwardline: Not a fan of the Taylor Walker pick. Key forwards just aren't that great in DT these days unless it's a freak like Franklin. He will get the number 1 key defender every week and will have some very, very quiet weeks. Needs to kick a bag to be DT relevant. I would turn him into a safer selection. I like the Christensen pick. It's risky (another reason to change Walker to a safer selection) but there is upside there. Could be a very good unique. Would also recommend keeping an eye out for Byrnes and Knights over the preseason as i believe they will be better options that Krak.

Overall, a very midprice approach which goes against the typical BF teams at the moment. Nothing wrong with that but i believe you have a few too many. By the end of the year you want the top scorers from each position to fill your team so the less you start with means more work to bring them in. You may leak too many points in the mean time.

Hope this advice helps :thumbsu:

Feb1st_zps1623b066.png
:thumbsu:

Pretty solid team. Defense is reasonable strong but Bock is pretty unlikely to play early on from what I’ve heard, Heppell will avg a bit closer to the 100 mark this season IMO. Really strong midfield having Swan, Ablett and Selwood and from All accounts Toby Greene has been absolutely training the house down and been one of GWS best preseason performers (You would know more than me) Fyfe a jet and good value in Luke Ball. 4 rookies in your midfield all AFL ready players, Jaeger will do big things, Lonergan will play around 15 games and Viney should get a lot of inside ball and play most games. Like what you have done with your rucks, Burger for obvious reasons and Vardy should have a fairly big role with Geelong. For the forwards Cloke should bounce back, Martin will continue to improve and Broughton, Lecras and Macaffer all good value. Well picked team mate

Forwardline: Not a fan of the Taylor Walker pick. Key forwards just aren't that great in DT these days unless it's a freak like Franklin. He will get the number 1 key defender every week and will have some very, very quiet weeks. Needs to kick a bag to be DT relevant. I would turn him into a safer selection.

Hope this advice helps :thumbsu:

keep your eye on Tex this year he will bag plenty... especially in the Crows DT window R18-22

Pretty solid team. Defense is reasonable strong but Bock is pretty unlikely to play early on from what I’ve heard, Heppell will avg a bit closer to the 100 mark this season IMO. Really strong midfield having Swan, Ablett and Selwood and from All accounts Toby Greene has been absolutely training the house down and been one of GWS best preseason performers (You would know more than me) Fyfe a jet and good value in Luke Ball. 4 rookies in your midfield all AFL ready players, Jaeger will do big things, Lonergan will play around 15 games and Viney should get a lot of inside ball and play most games. Like what you have done with your rucks, Burger for obvious reasons and Vardy should have a fairly big role with Geelong. For the forwards Cloke should bounce back, Martin will continue to improve and Broughton, Lecras and Macaffer all good value. Well picked team mate
Cheers mate, some nice feedback there, yeah Vardy will hopefully be good this season, many seem to have gone around him!

keep your eye on Tex this year he will bag plenty... especially in the Crows DT window R18-22

Yeah i think he will have a very good year but i just don't believe he is a good DT selection. Not to begin with anyway. Could very well get him cheap later on in the year after a quiet game or two.

Cheers mate, some nice feedback there, yeah Vardy will hopefully be good this season, many seem to have gone around him!

I've been seeing Vardy in a lot of teams (on a different DT website) can someone please explain why you think he will go from being a 50 average player to premo scoring (90+) starting DT ruck?

I shouldve tried to have kept Sandi under wraps. yes suregery cant be good for him :D

Vardy is one that ive missed he could potentially be a great pick. He could well be the number one ruck or even a starting forward who rotates into the ruck heavily. Has plenty of ability might just be to many better picks (Sandi, Goldy, Cox, Leuy ect)

Team:

Defenders: B Gibbs, P Duffield, Broughton, B Reilly, C Pedersen, B Staker
Bench: B Goodes, Docherty

Midfield: Ablett (c), J Selwood, S Mitchell, M Murphy, L Ball, Whines, O'Meara, J Viney

Bench: J lonergan, K Mitchell

Rucks: Goldstein, Leuenberger
Bench: Daw & McBean

Forwards: L Franklin, D Cox, T Rockliff, D Martin, T Cloke, B Macafer
Bench: S Mayes & T Lee

Thoughts?

Any thoughts appreciated....
Not the typical BF team and a lot of mid-priced risks however I think guys like Geary, Fyfe, Mundy, LeCras etc. aren't as much of a risk as others might. I do think that could get heaps of value out of this team.

Defence: Goddard Gibbs Duffield Geary J. Pittard Docherty (B. Goodes, Terlich)
Midfield: Ablett (c) M. Murphy S. Selwood (vc) Fyfe Mundy Scully Kavanagh Viney (O'Meara, Crouch)
Ruck: McEvoy Leuenberger (O'Hailpin, Gorringe)
Forwards: Rockliff Broughton Breust Cloke LeCras Byrnes (Macaffer, Staker)
$0 in the bank is my main concern.

Teams 2013 Rate my Dream Team