Player Sponsorship 2013 Travis Varcoe Sponsorship

Thanking everyone for the support and kindness.
Yes has been a little rough lately and still not out of the woods yet but at least I can now visit the site again.
Was very thankful for the Travis sponsorship and anyone can PM their details for reimbursement.
Thank you all for the consideration. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yes has been a little rough lately and still not out of the woods yet but at least I can now visit the site again.
Was very thankful for the Travis sponsorship and anyone can PM their details for reimbursement.
Wont speak for anyone else but its all good here. We are square. Just consider it a bit of Cats cheer for the year for ya.

Be well and keep punching.

Go Catters

No reimbursement required mate, happy to do it :thumbsu:

By the way Jim Boy who won the prizes.:)
Yeah apologies for the delay, there has been one person who has been tardy in paying up. This has had an affect on what is available and who is eligible as well as the club not being clear on certain things (eg number of people who can attend inner sanctum training), but I can announce the following - the rest will follow this week:

1 - The Cat's Teeth (Signed jumper)
2- Inner Sanctum (Training/Second jumper)
3 - SmackAdder (Premiership Club)
4- Catters4Me! (sason launch)

Yeah apologies for the delay, there has been one person who has been tardy in paying up. This has had an affect on what is available and who is eligible as well as the club not being clear on certain things (eg number of people who can attend inner sanctum training), but I can announce the following - the rest will follow this week:

1 - The Cat's Teeth (Signed jumper)
2- Inner Sanctum (Training/Second jumper)
3 - SmackAdder (Premiership Club)
4- Catters4Me! (sason launch)
Congrats to the winners so far:thumbsu:

Greetings fellow TV Sponsors...

Season launch was amazing most notable for Joel Selwood's captains speech and Stevie J's eerie absence. Room looked amazing, the Cat faithful hanging off every word from the skipper, the prez and Gerard Whateley's presentation of the clubs tribute to the passing of the club legend Fred Flanagan. Fantastic video footage of the great man and tributes from past greats of the early 50's was moving. If you get a chance, get on CAT TV on the club website the tribute appear there as well as the blood pumping 9 minute 'super doco' on the last five minutes of the Geelong v Dawks game last year where Toma kicks it after the siren. The audience went ballistic. If you didn't you are not a Catter. Worth a look before Monday's game. The theme of the night was "The Geelong Way". Pre season for the new kids:they were shown and taught 'The Geelong Way': Veteran players during the preseason did it 'The Geelong Way'. Colin Carter talking about our off field culture, links to the community and interacting with all our stakeholders...." The Geelong Way". Its not about just winning.....It's winning "The Geelong Way". Great to hear and the faithful were extremely receptive. Trav was great company (photo below with a fan), very buoyant about the upcoming season compared to his 2012 where his metatarsil was the topic of discussion. Interesting to note that he injured it initially not in Geelong during preseason, but during his Christmas break running on hard surfaces back in SA!!! Moral of the story...no extra sessions over Christmas on your own Trav. Pizza's, Barbies, a couple of beers, DVD's and the beach like the rest of us!!! Trav outlined that he will be running off the Half Back, spending 5 minute spells on the ball at a time, on the wing and pinch hitting up on the forward line this season. He is excited about playing alongside Boris, Lonergan and Mack down back and believes the kids including Georgie Hyphen and Josh Caddy will have breakout seasons. Billy Brownless interviewed the newbies including Hamish and Rivers and he mentioned that he had to rush from a Ellen D function to get to Crown. Laugh of the night was when Billy claimed to have 'turned' Ellen after half an hour with her. He also mentioned that wife Portia (Geelong born and raised) used to play Mummy's and Daddy's with David Mensch when they were kids..(LOL). Overall a great launch and the focus turns to Monday and Hawthorn. It's time to get excited. Strap yourselves in Cat fans...let's enjoy the ride!!!;)

Go Catters!!!

Attachments

• TravLaunch2013.jpg
    TravLaunch2013.jpg
    369.9 KB · Views: 40
Greetings fellow TV Sponsors...

Season launch was amazing most notable for Joel Selwood's captains speech and Stevie J's eerie absence. Room looked amazing, the Cat faithful hanging off every word from the skipper, the prez and Gerard Whateley's presentation of the clubs tribute to the passing of the club legend Fred Flanagan. Fantastic video footage of the great man and tributes from past greats of the early 50's was moving. If you get a chance, get on CAT TV on the club website the tribute appear there as well as the blood pumping 9 minute 'super doco' on the last five minutes of the Geelong v Dawks game last year where Toma kicks it after the siren. The audience went ballistic. If you didn't you are not a Catter. Worth a look before Monday's game. The theme of the night was "The Geelong Way". Pre season for the new kids:they were shown and taught 'The Geelong Way': Veteran players during the preseason did it 'The Geelong Way'. Colin Carter talking about our off field culture, links to the community and interacting with all our stakeholders...." The Geelong Way". Its not about just winning.....It's winning "The Geelong Way". Great to hear and the faithful were extremely receptive. Trav was great company (photo below with a fan), very buoyant about the upcoming season compared to his 2012 where his metatarsil was the topic of discussion. Interesting to note that he injured it initially not in Geelong during preseason, but during his Christmas break running on hard surfaces back in SA!!! Moral of the story...no extra sessions over Christmas on your own Trav. Pizza's, Barbies, a couple of beers, DVD's and the beach like the rest of us!!! Trav outlined that he will be running off the Half Back, spending 5 minute spells on the ball at a time, on the wing and pinch hitting up on the forward line this season. He is excited about playing alongside Boris, Lonergan and Mack down back and believes the kids including Georgie Hyphen and Josh Caddy will have breakout seasons. Billy Brownless interviewed the newbies including Hamish and Rivers and he mentioned that he had to rush from a Ellen D function to get to Crown. Laugh of the night was when Billy claimed to have 'turned' Ellen after half an hour with her. He also mentioned that wife Portia (Geelong born and raised) used to play Mummy's and Daddy's with David Mensch when they were kids..(LOL). Overall a great launch and the focus turns to Monday and Hawthorn. It's time to get excited. Strap yourselves in Cat fans...let's enjoy the ride!!!;)

Go Catters!!!

Sounds like you had a ball!

Sounds like a great time....

Will win that bloody thing one of these years......

TV sounds again just like to top class bloke.....

GO Catters

Speaking of winning.... When are the rest of the prizes getting announced/handed out? If we are still waiting on one person who hasn't paid then simply don't include them in the draw.. It's been long enough

G'Day all,

Today I had the pleasure of attending the 'inner sanctum training' as part of the sponsorship, along with Jim Boy and Bangers and Mash (I didn't actually meet or talk to either of these guys as I didn't know who they were... pretty sure i picked one of you out :) )

Started out with a bit of mucking round and waiting as Scotty finished his Tuesday presser and the #tweetthecoach thing, then we were greeted by Troy Selwood who took us into the auditorium where he introduced himself and another fella who's name has escaped me. Was involved in opposition analysis..
They then showed us a presentation which the players had been shown 30 mins before which looked at what to expect from Richmond and what we needed to do to beat them. Troy explained that each of the coaches are assigned a few opposition clubs to look at over the year. The tigers are Rahilly's.
They showed us a series of clips which provided examples of the things the tigers do and what we need to do to stop them.
They discussed the different camera angles they use and also mentioned that our VFL club is the only club that has the down the ground camera at every single game, something that is obviously a massive advantage for our kids development.
We had explained to us the run down of todays training, today a light session after the weekend with Thursday the main session. The training is tailored to focus on the specific areas addressed in the presentation.

After this we quickly shown the players locker room... apologies to BigFooty but apparently I am the one sponsoring Trav (not bigfooty) according to the little tag that was stuck on. (Bit of a mix up when SJ passed my name on as an attendee)
One thing that stood out particuarly to me was Tom Hawkins locker, and the 6-7 pairs of identical footy boots stacked neatly on top. After resisting the temptation to swipe one of Mitch Duncans training jumpers that was half hanging out of a container for washing I managed to have a laugh at a couple of things on certain players lockers. Bundy being a massive melbourne heart fan had a clipping from the paper taped to his with strapping tape by the boys I am assuming as it was simply a picture of a heart player with the season rating of D+, also Chappy has a series of Jimmy Bartel footy cards on his, all with porno mo's drawn on in permanent texta.

We then made our way up to the back of the bottom level of the premiership stand (via the boardroom) and sat in the stands and watched the boys training, as much as I was trying to watch the drill that was specific for the weekend I was much more interested in the work our ruck stocks were doing. Westy and big Daws both completed in some ruck work with the big pill Ottens, Hmac was doing sprints along the wing on the other side of the ground.
After the main drill had finished Westy and Daws were forward contesting in a marking drill with each other, before the big padded bag came out and they were doing some marking deep in defence on that.
In the mean time Harry Taylor was taking quite a few set shots from about 40+ out, and Walks was doing a drill wrapping up Otto in tackles. Boys being boys Jimmy was attempting to kick a footy from the boundary up into and through an open window up the top of the Brownlow stand that Troy Selwood was hanging out of... and then from the grandstand into the container the footys were in... he didn't have any success but came bloody close to having success going from ground to window on his 2nd kick.

Then we were taken down into the players warm up area and joined by the players who had their sponsors there, clearly a rapport is built up between player and sponsor as I was impressed to see every one of the boys giving their female sponsors a kiss hello on the cheek. As Trav wasn't there Jordan Murdoch was brought over to us to have a chat. Very friendly well spoken kid, had a really good chat about how he likes it, what his week involves, what the rest of the day involves and stuff like that. He is deceptively tall, and just a lean ball of muscle, had a compression bandage on one knee, one on his other thigh and also was sporting a bit of a shiner.

I hope this is readable as I haven't proof read it :p
The worst thing about it was that I had to go to work when it was all finished...

Hopefully the other lads can add more :cool::thumbsu:

Thanks a lot shaneo....really great read for a Cat fan half a world away.....:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Hopefully it made sense, have a habit of waffling :D

One other thing I meant to add is that I was surprised how lean the players were, I was expecting big monsters but they weren't that at all, also when we were in the locker room big Blitz ducked back in to grab something, said a very friendly 'g'day fellas' to me and my mate, also had no shirt on and christ there was not an ounce of fat on him, if i had a couple of sticks on me I could have played his abs like a xylophone... was very impressive..... prick... lol

Murda also mentioned to us that the 'academy boys' (guessing this is rookies and 1/2 year players) were in a loading phase, doing a lot of leg and core work aimed at increasing speed and explosiveness later in the year.

Hopefully it made sense, have a habit of waffling :D

One other thing I meant to add is that I was surprised how lean the players were, I was expecting big monsters but they weren't that at all, also when we were in the locker room big Blitz ducked back in to grab something, said a very friendly 'g'day fellas' to me and my mate, also had no shirt on and christ there was not an ounce of fat on him, if i had a couple of sticks on me I could have played his abs like a xylophone... was very impressive..... prick... lol

Murda also mentioned to us that the 'academy boys' (guessing this is rookies and 1/2 year players) were in a loading phase, doing a lot of leg and core work aimed at increasing speed and explosiveness later in the year.

Terrific mate, very informative and enjoyable.

These Tom's Boots Shaneo48 ?:D

BJFH0vaCQAAF4CI.jpg

These Tom's Boots Shaneo48 ?:D

BJFH0vaCQAAF4CI.jpg
lol yes (turns out it was only 4)..... were you there as well? also what happened to no photos!
I would have taken one of my name on Travs locker and claimed it otherwise!

lol yes..... were you there as well? also what happened to no photos!
I would have taken one of my name on Travs locker and claimed it otherwise!
Nah mate wasn't there wish I was, Mitch Duncan posted that to his Twitter during the day;)

Player Sponsorship 2013 Travis Varcoe Sponsorship