2014 Positional Changes

With the H&A season over, it seems like a good time to start this thread. In bold are the near definite changes, in normal formatting are probable changes, and italics will be the outside chances.

Adelaide:
Dangerfield: MID -> MID/FWD (spent a lot of time as a HFF this year, but will probably be kept as a mid just to avoid everyone picking him)
Otten: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Mackay: MID -> DEF/MID

Brisbane:
Rockliff: FWD/MID -> MID (hope not, but it's a possibility)
Hanley: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID
McGrath: DEF/FWD -> FWD
Karnezis: FWD -> MID/FWD

Carlton:
Simpson: MID -> DEF/MID (hope so, I'll probably be picking him if he gets DPP)
Walker: FWD/MID -> DEF
Gibbs: DEF/MID -> MID (hope not)
Yarran: DEF -> DEF/FWD or FWD
Waite: FWD -> DEF/FWD (only played a few games in defence)

Collingwood:
O'Brien: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID
Reid: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Macaffer: FWD -> MID
Seedsman: MID -> DEF or DEF/MID
Lynch: FWD -> RUC/FWD
Sinclair: FWD -> DEF/FWD or DEF
Thomas: FWD/MID -> DEF/MID or DEF/FWD (played mostly at HB when he did play this year, but it was only 5 games so that might not be a big enough sample size to change him)
Martin: CTR -> CTR/FWD

Essendon:
Heppell: DEF/MID to MID (hope not, but I didn't see him play much defence this year)
Myers: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID
Carlisle: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Ryder: RUC/FWD -> RUC
Bellchambers: RUC -> RUC/FWD
Kommer: MID -> FWD
Hurley: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Colyer: MID -> MID/FWD

Fremantle:
Pearce: DEF/MID -> MID
Hard to think of any others, Lyon hasn't changed a whole lot this year

Geelong:
Bartel: MID/FWD -> DEF/FWD or DEF
Stokes: FWD -> MID
Johnson: MID/FWD -> MID
Taylor: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Motlop: FWD -> MID/FWD
Podsiadly: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Blicavs: MID/RUC -> RUC
Varcoe: FWD/MID -> DEF/MID
Vardy: RUC -> RUC/FWD
Murdoch: DEF -> FWD

Gold Coast:
Stanley: DEF -> DEF/MID
Shaw: DEF -> DEF/MID
Broughton: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Russell: DEF -> MID/FWD or FWD (no idea why he was ever listed as a defender in the first place)
Day: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Dixon: DEF -> FWD
Boston: MID -> FWD or MID/FWD
J. Hall: RUC -> RUC/FWD

GWS:
Hampton: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Haynes: MID/FWD -> DEF/FWD
Williams: MID -> DEF/MID or DEF
Sumner: MID -> MID/FWD
Whiley: DEF -> MID

Hawthorn:
Mitchell: MID -> DEF/MID (hope so)
Hodge: MID -> DEF/MID (probably slightly more likely than Mitchell)
Duryea: MID -> DEF

Melbourne:
Sylvia: FWD/MID -> MID
Grimes: DEF -> DEF/MID
Gawn: RUC -> FWD/RUC
Dunn: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Fitzpatrick: RUC -> FWD or RUC/FWD
Kent: MID -> MID/FWD

North Melbourne:
Mullett: MID -> DEF
Hansen: FWD -> DEF
McMillan: MID -> DEF
Daw: RUC -> RUC/FWD
Jacobs: DEF -> MID
Kennedy: FWD -> DEF

Port:
Wingard: MID -> MID/FWD
Westhoff: FWD -> FWD/RUC
Hartlett: DEF/MID -> MID (really hasn't spent much time in defence this season)
Broadbent: MID -> DEF/MID
Cassisi: MID -> DEF/MID
Heath: DEF -> DEF/FWD
P. Stewart: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Mitchell: MID -> MID/FWD
Neade: FWD/MID -> FWD
Newton: FWD -> MID (if they've been paying attention to the SANFL. If there's a rookie from your club who's had a clear positional change in the reserves this season, mention them and I'll add them in)

Richmond:
Martin: FWD/MID -> MID (hopefully his high goal tally will keep him available as a forward)
Deledio: MID -> DEF/MID
Ellis: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID (very much hope he keeps DPP)
Petterd: FWD -> DEF/FWD
White: MID -> MID/FWD or FWD (another who was classified incorrectly this year)

St Kilda:
Siposs: FWD -> DEF/FWD
I've probably missed heaps here, because I hate watching the Saints.

Sydney:
McVeigh: MID -> DEF/MID
Rampe: MID -> DEF
B. Jack: MID -> FWD

West Coast:
Naitanui: FWD/RUC -> RUC
Schofield: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Lycett: FWD -> RUC (classified incorrectly last year)
Cripps: MID -> FWD (ditto)

Western Bulldogs:
Cooney: MID -> DEF/MID (has spent a fair bit of time on the HBF this year)
Goodes: DEF/MID -> DEF
Dahlhaus: FWD -> MID/FWD
Roughead: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Picken: MID -> DEF/MID
Markovic: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Campbell: RUC -> RUC/FWD

Anything you disagree with? Have I missed any?

With the H&A season over, it seems like a good time to start this thread. In bold are the near definite changes, in normal formatting are probable changes, and italics will be the outside chances.

Adelaide:
Dangerfield: MID -> MID/FWD (spent a lot of time as a HFF this year, but will probably be kept as a mid just to avoid everyone picking him)
Otten: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Mackay: MID -> DEF/MID

Brisbane:
Rockliff: FWD/MID -> MID (hope not, but it's a possibility)
Hanley: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID
McGrath: DEF/FWD -> FWD
Karnezis: FWD -> MID/FWD

Carlton:
Simpson: MID -> DEF/MID (hope so, I'll probably be picking him if he gets DPP)
Walker: FWD/MID -> DEF
Gibbs: DEF/MID -> MID (hope not)
Yarran: DEF -> DEF/FWD or FWD
Waite: FWD -> DEF/FWD (only played a few games in defence)

Collingwood:
O'Brien: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID
Reid: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Macaffer: FWD -> MID
Seedsman: MID -> DEF or DEF/MID
Lynch: FWD -> RUC/FWD
Sinclair: FWD -> DEF/FWD or DEF
Thomas: FWD/MID -> DEF/MID or DEF/FWD (played mostly at HB when he did play this year, but it was only 5 games so that might not be a big enough sample size to change him)

Essendon:
Heppell: DEF/MID to MID (hope not, but I didn't see him play much defence this year)
Myers: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID
Carlisle: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Ryder: RUC/FWD -> RUC
Bellchambers: RUC -> RUC/FWD
Kommer: MID -> FWD
Hurley: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Colyer: MID -> MID/FWD

Fremantle:
Pearce: DEF/MID -> MID
Hard to think of any others, Lyon hasn't changed a whole lot this year

Geelong:
Bartel: MID/FWD -> DEF/FWD or DEF
Stokes: FWD -> MID
Johnson: MID/FWD -> MID
Taylor: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Motlop: FWD -> MID/FWD
Podsiadly: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Blicavs: MID/RUC -> RUC
Varcoe: FWD/MID -> DEF/MID
Vardy: RUC -> RUC/FWD

Gold Coast:
Stanley: DEF -> DEF/MID
Shaw: DEF -> DEF/MID
Broughton: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Russell: DEF -> MID/FWD or FWD (no idea why he was ever listed as a defender in the first place)
Day: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Dixon: DEF -> FWD
Boston: MID -> FWD or MID/FWD
J. Hall: RUC -> RUC/FWD

GWS:
Hampton: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Haynes: MID/FWD -> DEF/FWD
Williams: MID -> DEF/MID or DEF
Sumner: MID -> MID/FWD
Whiley: DEF -> MID

Hawthorn:
Mitchell: MID -> DEF/MID (hope so)
Hodge: MID -> DEF/MID (probably slightly more likely than Mitchell)
Duryea: MID -> DEF

Melbourne:
Sylvia: FWD/MID -> MID
Grimes: DEF -> DEF/MID
Dunn: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Fitzpatrick: RUC -> FWD
Kent: MID -> MID/FWD

North Melbourne:
Mullett: MID -> DEF
Hansen: FWD -> DEF
McMillan: MID -> DEF
Daw: RUC -> RUC/FWD
Jacobs: DEF -> MID
Kennedy: FWD -> DEF

Port:
Wingard: MID -> MID/FWD
Westhoff: FWD -> FWD/RUC
Hartlett: DEF/MID -> MID (really hasn't spent much time in defence this season)
Broadbent: MID -> DEF/MID
Cassisi: MID -> DEF/MID
Heath: DEF -> DEF/FWD
P. Stewart: FWD -> DEF/FWD
Mitchell: MID -> MID/FWD
Neade: FWD/MID -> FWD
Newton: FWD -> MID (if they've been paying attention to the SANFL. If there's a rookie from your club who's had a clear positional change in the reserves this season, mention them and I'll add them in)

Richmond:
Martin: FWD/MID -> MID (hopefully his high goal tally will keep him available as a forward)
Deledio: MID -> DEF/MID
Ellis: DEF -> DEF/MID or MID (very much hope he keeps DPP)
Petterd: FWD -> DEF/FWD
White: MID -> MID/FWD or FWD (another who was classified incorrectly this year)

St Kilda:
Siposs: FWD -> DEF/FWD
I've probably missed heaps here, because I hate watching the Saints.

Sydney:
McVeigh: MID -> DEF/MID
Rampe: MID -> DEF
B. Jack: MID -> FWD

West Coast:
Naitanui: FWD/RUC -> RUC
Schofield: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Lycett: FWD -> RUC (classified incorrectly last year)
Cripps: MID -> FWD (ditto)

Western Bulldogs:
Cooney: MID -> DEF/MID (has spent a fair bit of time on the HBF this year)
Goodes: DEF/MID -> DEF
Dahlhaus: FWD -> MID/FWD
Roughead: DEF/FWD -> DEF
Markovic: DEF -> DEF/FWD
Campbell: RUC -> RUC/FWD

Anything you disagree with? Have I missed any?

quality post!
just a couple of the top of my head
Greene-> B/C
Savage-> M/F
Murodch -> B/F
Martin -> C/F

Can't see Greene getting changed. Savage I did consider. Which Murdoch and Martin?

I had Kommer as a forward, and I've already changed Mullett. I will give DPP status to Picken and Gawn though.

Greene did play as a lockdown defender/tagger between the middle part of the season (about Rd 9-when ever he got dropped (19?)), about 70% confident of him getting it.
yeh sorry about the ambiguity Murdoch from the cats, and Kyle Martin (hasnt played enough AFL but he was always in the forward line even in the VFL)

Picken, Gawn, Murdoch added. I would've had Murdoch in before but I didn't realise CD had him listed as a defender.

you reckon Blee will be DEF/MID? Dont think Champion Data will notice him though

I don't think Blee will be on an AFL list for it to be an issue. And he's only played in defence at AFL level, so even if he is I doubt they'll change him.

Probably wishful/perhaps inaccurate, but from Freo:

Clanceeee Pearce MID-> MID/DEF or DEF (quite likely)
Sandiiiiiilands RUC-> RUC/FWD (unlikely)
Suban DEF->DEF/MID or MID (most likely)

Seems like a fair few Geelong players may become MID-only :oops:

(extended letteeeeeeeeeeeeeeers are a BT reference :))

Defence mids looking juiccccy

Simmo
Ellis
Lids
McVeigh
Bartel
Mitchell
Hodge

To add to Gibbs/Goddard - surely god cannot lose his def tag, he's been there his entire career ;)

I reckon about half that list will make it
Goddard looked MID only to me - of course will be in everyone's side again if DEF/MID. McVeigh, Gibbs, Hodge and Bartel all surely DEF eligible, Lids unlikely, maybe Prestia to pick up DEF eligibility?

Wingard highly likely for FWD/MID, Rocky and Dusty spent enough time there to warrant DP - there's 3 places gone.

Stevie J to be MID only - farewell to a DT god?

Goddard looked MID only to me - of course will be in everyone's side again if DEF/MID. McVeigh, Gibbs, Hodge and Bartel all surely DEF eligible, Lids unlikely, maybe Prestia to pick up DEF eligibility?

Wingard highly likely for FWD/MID, Rocky and Dusty spent enough time there to warrant DP - there's 3 places gone.

Stevie J to be MID only - farewell to a DT god?
Why? I can't recall anything which would warrant it.

(Prestia) Why? I can't recall anything which would warrant it.
Okay, I'm happy to defer to you, given your avatar.

I based it on :

(1) He was given back DP eligibility in Ultimate Footy part way through this year. I'm not sure on what basis, but assume its similar to Champion Data, which I think is at least partly done on field starting position at centre bounces (so starting at half back, at least early in the season?)

(2) He was ranked fairly high in rebound 50s for the season (per Footywire). Not a definitive measure I'll grant, but he had more than Goddard, Sam Mitchell, Bartel, Hodge, Mackie, Robert Murphy and Duffield, to name a few. Surprising to see that Deledio was quite highly ranked in the same list.

Having the highest average for 2013 provides justification for picking him (SJ) in the midfield.
True, but will also be highest price ... as kierez4ever pointed out, he misses too many games for my liking, as much as I love having him in my side.

i wouldnt start with him personally and he normally misses quite a number of games throughout the season

True, but will also be highest price ... as kierez4ever pointed out, he misses too many games for my liking, as much as I love having him in my side.

I didn't say I would start him, but then again I didn't say wouldn't. If his early fixture includes a few easybeats, it may be hard to pass up. Either way, I think he will be featuring in my side at some stage next year even if he is changed to mid only, which is the point I was trying to make.

More DPP! I don't care if the players deserve it, just make more players DP. At the moment there is just not enough variety in amongst forwards and backs (and rucks) in the high end. Solution - Make more, not less players DPP eligible.

So many players listed as mid-only in the high 80-90 average range are basically useless. Therefore give them a fwd/back eligibility and it will give alternate options in those areas. I know this will never happen, but most mids 'rest' either forward or back, so give us the option as well and make us actually think whether we want a Dustin Martin or a Brad Ebert type.

More DPP! I don't care if the players deserve it, just make more players DP. At the moment there is just not enough variety in amongst forwards and backs (and rucks) in the high end. Solution - Make more, not less players DPP eligible.

So many players listed as mid-only in the high 80-90 average range are basically useless. Therefore give them a fwd/back eligibility and it will give alternate options in those areas. I know this will never happen, but most mids 'rest' either forward or back, so give us the option as well and make us actually think whether we want a Dustin Martin or a Brad Ebert type.

Couldn't disagree more

The DPP is adding to how little variety is in our squads

Toward the end of last year the only forwards that were in teams was jjk and cloke. The rest were M/Fs that were predominantly mids based on their roles

Make common players like Bartel Rockliff Wellingham Martin Lewis etc not DPP and their will be a lot more variety and fluctuations in teams and scores

2014 Positional Changes