2014 QFA Southern Conference

A new thread. Will it be as active as Div 3 was? Looking forward to a good year on and off the field! Will be having flashbacks running around on Peak Oval again at least once this year!

With Pine Rivers declining to move into QFA North Comp it will be interesting to see if one of the northern sides from South Conference are changed to North. Wow, I'm already confused!

A new thread. Will it be as active as Div 3 was? Looking forward to a good year on and off the field! Will be having flashbacks running around on Peak Oval again at least once this year!

With Pine Rivers declining to move into QFA North Comp it will be interesting to see if one of the northern sides from South Conference are changed to North. Wow, I'm already confused!

Self inflicted wounds, DEAL WITH IT! :D

kenmore's on the other side of the river, coorparoo & yeronga aren't
Rivers aren't exactly straight so I had a look on the map and coorparoo looks like the most northern side in the southern conference

it will be interesting to see how the recruiting goes over the off season. rumor has it a lot of palm beach players that dont want to commit to QAFL are going to come down and play for coolangatta. what also makes this comp interesting is half the clubs have money to pay their players the other half don't. eg, robina, wynnum, coomera, kenmore could struggle in the long run unless they find ways of generating a bit of cash

Was always going to be the case initially - the beauty of the nth/sth divisions is that the localisation of the matches will allow clubs to generate greater revenue due to (hopefully) bigger crowds more regularly. Clubs that can find ways of getting punters to put their hands in their pockets, whether it is thru bar and tuck shop or putting on a good post match will benefit.

it will be interesting to see how the recruiting goes over the off season. rumor has it a lot of palm beach players that dont want to commit to QAFL are going to come down and play for coolangatta. what also makes this comp interesting is half the clubs have money to pay their players the other half don't. eg, robina, wynnum, coomera, kenmore could struggle in the long run unless they find ways of generating a bit of cash

It will be interesting to see how it goes, I think providing the right environment is more important than creating the right pay packet. Coomera has never paid a cent to players and we've been able to attract some talented players over the past 4 years and haven't lost any to rival clubs due to money. Our player turnover has been basically been nothing. We have already had a number of guys express interest in joining us from last years Div 1, 2 and 3 comps who are all handy players. I'm not saying for a second that we are going to be dominant in the QFA or anything but we are confident of being competitive without spending any cash on mercenary's.

The best way of building a sustainable football club Gaz - might mean that you don't have a wall full of flags... but you will have a club there in 30 years time that players can come back to. And along the way you will also win a few flags that will mean a lot to the blokes involved.

Yeah thats an interesting call BB - not sure if all clubs can do this but reckon it could be feasible. Issue might be that down south footy is a way of life, paying a fiver to watch local footy is entertainment for the Saturday arvo - not sure the same mindset in Qld!! Reckon you could do a variety of deals to customers who do walk thru the gate that encourages them to consume more food/drink potentially. like it or not, alcohol consumption makes $$ at footy clubs.

Broadbeach and Labrador charge $5 entry fee at home games and both these clubs would average more spectators at games then the other clubs bar Redlands.Supporters appear not to have a problem with this as they know it helps their clubs revenue raising and they therefore feel they are contributing.And they still spend dollars at the kiosk, bar and raffles.

Not sure opposition supporters see it as necessarily being a good thing raising revenue for the Cats or Tigers Stuyd if their own clubs don't return the favour. Think it needs to be a case of 1 in all in but i reckon it has to be looked at for the QAFL level at least. Bottom line is you want as many bums on seats as you possibly can each week - good for everyone.

smy,
haven't heard any outrage from opposition supporters having to pay 5 bucks entry fee.If the entry fee was $8 or $10 dollars, I would not doubt there would be uproar, but a mere $5 is little, and I wouldn't mind betting a lot of the opposition supporters would like to see it applied at their home games.Would be good to see the AFLQ implement the $5 dollar entry fee across the board..... problem is that a number of clubs grounds are not fenced, eg, Morningside, Mt Gravatt, Palm Beach etc.... so makes it difficult for these club to benefit .

Local footy Clubs struggle to find spectators to their matches, now you want to punish the tiny amount of supporters who do turn up with an entry fee. Sounds like a great business model :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Sherrin,
did u read my post on Friday...... supporters don't mind paying the $5, and still spend money at the kiosk,etc.Gives them a feeling of contributing to the club, and its only 9 times a year,,, that's $45 bucks over the season for Christ sake.It isn't a issue, and as of contributing to the clubs business plan, it plays a part, raising some 10k to 15k plus into the clubs coffers.

2014 QFA Southern Conference