Training 2015/16 preseason training (discussion)

Hmm so the small intraclub wasn’t convincing hey? The poor skills is worrying isn't it, someone was saying last session maybe it was just a bad day….now that’s two in a row? If i recall correctly, this time last year we were looking aces (followed by our outstanding start to the year). Hmmm…as an outside observer, I’m not brimming with confidence.

It got much better after quarter time and if you consider they have played a game in scorching heat I'd give them a bit of slack.

I'll hold my judgement until round 1 as I've seen similar kicking skills in previous years.

It got much better after quarter time and if you consider they have played a game in scorching heat I'd give them a bit of slack.

I'll hold my judgement until round 1 as I've seen similar kicking skills in previous years.

We used to be the best team at getting the ball back off the opposition (i.e. causing turnovers), so could we perhaps take heart that many of the skill errors could have been a result of pressure acts?

I was also at training today. I saw things slightly different to JMT. But I was at the other end of the ground for the first 4/8ths if that makes sense.
Tanner Smith looked terrific to me playing purely as a forward. Yes he definitely butchered some kicks. But his marking was excellent and he brought the footy to the ground really well. I think Peel may have found their spearhead for 2016. Considering how a lot of training watches, including me, had completely written him off that is actually progress.
Blakely though was the story of the day. He trained brilliantly. Not all his kicks were spot on, but his work in clearances was outstanding. He also ran well to receive the football. Something is going to change in our best 22 this year. I can't see Blakely not getting significant game time even when everyone is available.
Zac Clarke trained well today after a slow start. His marking was very much one grab IMO.
Mora again looked fantastic after butchering his first two kicks. His kicking after that was brilliant. He can definitely play on talls.
Silvagni was excellent matched up on Pav today with his intercept marking a major feature.
Uebergang looked super quick on the lead today. He kicked at least 3 goals. His recovery to kick a goal after a high marking contest was superb. For a pretty big fella his kicking is outstanding. Really, really, really promising is the words I would describe what I have seen of Ueber.
Collins took some terrific intercept marks.
Ibbo spent time playing forward today for what it is worth.
Fyfe looked awesome at times with a couple of tackle breaking runs that makes you go oooooh. He left the field slightly early, but there did not seem to be a problem. He didn't line up as a forward at all in match sims for what it is worth.
Suban again trained well. HIs kicking in open play is low and flat. Like many, his kicks are up and under in pack situations.
Dawson continues to kick rather than handless in match sim play. His one on one work is outstanding. His kicking pretty good too.
De Luca seems to be playing a tagging role and doing a good job at it too.
Mayne had less involvement than previous sessions. Yarran struggled significantly to keep up the pace IMO. He might take longer to debut that some here have predicted.
De Boer trained really well too. His short kicking is excellent.
Barlow training purely as a mid did some terrific centre clearance work too.
Tucker had some ripping kicks today. He kicked a wonderful goal.
Walters was also back to his best with some wonderful play.
Hughes showed great mobility and laid some wonderful tackles.
Mundy looks in ripping condition. Ditto Sandy.
Missing from the session completely today were Griffin and Langdon. The recovery group is now Balic, Apeness, Bennell, A. Pearce and Hurley.

TTHD: Blakely by a fair margin.
The session today started slowly, but the second half of the match sims was outstanding. For what it is worth at the end of the session there was a massive cheer when the players and coaches grouped up in the middle. I asked one of the trainer's what the cheer was for and he said it was for an excellent session.

Awesome training today considering the heat.

I was also at training today. I saw things slightly different to JMT. But I was at the other end of the ground for the first 4/8ths if that makes sense.
Tanner Smith looked terrific to me playing purely asa forward. Yes he definitely butchered some kicks. But his marking was excellent and he brought the footy to the ground really well. I think Peel may have found their spearhead for 2016. Considering how a lot of training watches, including me, had completely written him off that is actually progress.
Blakely though was the story of the day. He trained brilliantly. Not all his kicks were spot on, but his work in clearances was outstanding. He also ran well to receive the football. Something is going to change in our best 22 this year. I can't see Blakely not getting significant game time even when everyone is available.
Zac Clarke trained well today after a slow start. His marking was very much one grab IMO.
Mora again looked fantastic after butchering his first two kicks. His kicking after that was brilliant. He can definitely play on talls.
Silvagni was excellent matched up on Pav today with his intercept marking a major feature.
Uebergang looked super quick on the lead today. His recovery to kick a goal after a high marking contest was superb. For a pretty big fella his kicking is outstanding. Really, really, really promising is the words I would describe what I have seen of Ueber.
Fyfe looked awesome at times with a couple of tackle breaking runs that make you go oooooh. He left the field slightly early, but there did not seem to be a problem. He didn't line up as a forward at all in match sims for what it is worth.
Suban again trained well. HIs kicking in open play is low and flat. Like many, his kicks are up and under in pack situations.
Mayne had less involvement than previous sessions. Yarran struggled significantly to keep up the pace IMO. He might take longer to debut that some here have predicted.
De Boer is trained rally well too. His short kicking is excellent.
Barlow training purely as a mid did terrific centre clearance work too.
Mundy looks in ripping knick. Ditto Sandy.
Missing from the session completely today were Griffin and Langdon. The recovery group is now Balic, Apeness, Bennell, A. Pearce and Hurley.

The session today started slowly, but the second half of the match sims was outstanding. For what it is worth at the end of the session there was a massive cheer when the grouped up in the middle.I asked one of the trainer's what the cheer was for and he said it was for an excellent session.

And an awesome report sherrif - great to hear your optimistic views on some of the younger guys. meima will be excited about Uebergang! :thumbsu:

How is tabs doing?

Also is Mora adding real attacking power run?

Is SOS still slow in decision making?

Sorry...I didn't mean to give the impression that I was at training. I can't answer these questions. I was just asking a question about weighing up disposal skills vs. defending against the team with the ball.

Only got there for the 5th/8th so I'll defer to the other observers for the game details and just offer a few random observations instead

- mora looked good and stood pav while i was watching. He's huge esp quads and was only an inch shorter than pav at most
- also very impressed with the size of tucker, he looks ready made to play
- skills looked OK from what I saw but was only there for the back half of the match. Agree on the Blakeley comments
- no Fyfe that I saw but I'll take it that he just didn't have a full game based on the other observers
- Goal kicking was good except for a shank by tanner after the siren which would have won the game for the red team (Which looked very much like the peel team by the way)
- ridiculously hot , 34c according to the car so i reckon we can forgive a few skill errors today
- Sheridan the only one doing the flat kicking drill with Guerrero after the match .. Needs work ( he has got a naturally loopy kick) seemed to be flatter but ball wasn't spinning well
- rehab group was:
1 apeness - looked happy and didn't seem too limited in the run throughs
2 AP - looked fine and can't be far away
3 Hurley - looked very limited and jogging at most
4 balic - looks fine just bored with rehab
5 Bennell - basically had a fitness coach running with him non stop (not sure why this is) but built nicely in the run throughs. natural pace and running motion and he looked pretty good but impossible to say how far away he is

thats all I can think of for the moment

Thanks for the great report.

I can't come to grips with the idea of playing Ibbo forward. I know it was tried a little bit late last year and Ross mentioned it. His goal kicking over the course of his career is abysmal. Have a look at the end to the match against Carlton in 2014, when it was Lachie Neale with a goal assist from Cameron Wood who had to get the job done. I would rather have Chris Mayne shooting for a clutch goal and that is saying something.

I just thought I would edit to add that I love Ibbo down back.

Only got there for the 5th/8th so I'll defer to the other observers for the game details and just offer a few random observations instead

- mora looked good and stood pav while i was watching. He's huge esp quads and was only an inch shorter than pav at most
- also very impressed with the size of tucker, he looks ready made to play
- skills looked OK from what I saw but was only there for the back half of the match. Agree on the Blakeley comments
- no Fyfe that I saw but I'll take it that he just didn't have a full game based on the other observers
- Goal kicking was good except for a shank by tanner after the siren which would have won the game for the red team (Which looked very much like the peel team by the way)
- ridiculously hot , 34c according to the car so i reckon we can forgive a few skill errors today
- Sheridan the only one doing the flat kicking drill with Guerrero after the match .. Needs work ( he has got a naturally loopy kick) seemed to be flatter but ball wasn't spinning well
- rehab group was:
1 apeness - looked happy and didn't seem too limited in the run throughs
2 AP - looked fine and can't be far away
3 Hurley - looked very limited and jogging at most
4 balic - looks fine just bored with rehab
5 Bennell - basically had a fitness coach running with him non stop (not sure why this is) but built nicely in the run throughs. natural pace and running motion and he looked pretty good but impossible to say how far away he is

thats all I can think of for the moment

That was my thought on seeing him the other day too. Was pleasantly surprised by his physique. He's obviously done a lot of weight work prior to getting to us.

I can't come to grips with the idea of playing Ibbo forward. I know it was tried a little bit late last year and Ross mentioned it. His goal kicking over the course of his career is abysmal. Have a look at the end to the match against Carlton in 2014, when it was Lachie Neale with a goal assist from Cameron Wood who had to get the job done. I would rather have Chris Mayne shooting for a clutch goal and that is saying something.

Yep me too. I like the players to have several different areas of the ground that they can play but I think Ibbo has regularly shown himself to be our most unreliable set shot for goal. No need for him to add to our goal front inaccuracy. Like the sound of the accuracy of Uber though.

Maybe they're looking at moving him in an attempt to get quicker ball movement coming out of the backline but I think playing forward Ibbo would be one of those players that mostly struggles but has the odd starring moment or game.

Tanner Smith looked terrific to me playing purely as a forward. Yes he definitely butchered some kicks. But his marking was excellent and he brought the footy to the ground really well. I think Peel may have found their spearhead for 2016. Considering how a lot of training watches, including me, had completely written him off that is actually progress.
Uebergang looked super quick on the lead today. He kicked at least 3 goals. His recovery to kick a goal after a high marking contest was superb. For a pretty big fella his kicking is outstanding. Really, really, really promising is the words I would describe what I have seen of Ueber.
Fyfe looked awesome at times with a couple of tackle breaking runs that makes you go oooooh. He left the field slightly early, but there did not seem to be a problem. He didn't line up as a forward at all in match sims for what it is worth.
Dawson continues to kick rather than handless in match sim play. His one on one work is outstanding. His kicking pretty good too.
De Luca seems to be playing a tagging role and doing a good job at it too.
De Boer trained really well too. His short kicking is excellent.
Barlow training purely as a mid did some terrific centre clearance work too.
Mundy looks in ripping condition. Ditto Sandy.

The session today started slowly, but the second half of the match sims was outstanding. For what it is worth at the end of the session there was a massive cheer when the players and coaches grouped up in the middle. I asked one of the trainer's what the cheer was for and he said it was for an excellent session.

You contradicted your first sentence. You said you saw the game differently to me yet we both agreed that Blakely was terrific and that Tanner took some great marks but butchered the ball. :confused:

I was referring to the session being an excellent session overall.(could have worded better) Like always I agreed with the vast majority of what you said. Cheers for report.

Full on scratchie with 3 AFL umpires in control. They played 12 ten minute quarters changing ends and a drink between each quarter with a 10 minute half time break. Two equally matched teams with an equal amount of best 22 in each. Blakely and Mundy on opposite teams but both outstanding. Blakely is in red hot form at the minute. Clarke and Sandi opposed although Sandi spent a lot of time forward with Hannah stepping in the ruck .Clarke was very good around the ground with some great marks and kicked a long goal. Smith,Tabs,Uber and Pav were the forwards with the the three youngsters performing well. Uber for a first gamer was excellent with some very quick leading and I think 2 goals. Smith equally impressive and Tabs also did some nice things. Hill and Mora dominated across half back for their respective teams. Of the mids as was mentioned Blakely and Mundy brilliant, Neale not so prominent but service able ditto Barlow ,Subes and De Boer. Silvagni tough at CHB and Dawson and Johnno did what they had to do. Fyfe a little 10 minute cameo when he showed just how good he is then left the game at half time and put on the civies. Tucker and Nyheus did not look out of place . The skills and intensity for a first full on hit out in that heat were excellent and I can't think of a player that did not perform well. Yarran was quiet but showed his class and speed in a couple of plays and would have kicked the goal of the day if his boot had not of come of in the kicking action. The boot went through unfortunately the ball didn't.

So was that the official intra-club that has been held at Subi in recent years? Or just a training scratchie?

I reckon it was a training scratchie.
It looked to me like each period ws 10 minutes, going by the electronic scoreboard up near the clubhouse.
It was definitely too hot for this sort of thing. I saw Fyfe come off the ground and go down on hands and knees, recovering. He then went and dropped to the ground with his back slamming against the fence.
Suma was yelling to players to come off and was directing numerous interchanges.

Full on scratchie with 3 AFL umpires in control. They played 12 ten minute quarters changing ends and a drink between each quarter with a 10 minute half time break. Two equally matched teams with an equal amount of best 22 in each. Blakely and Mundy on opposite teams but both outstanding. Blakely is in red hot form at the minute. Clarke and Sandi opposed although Sandi spent a lot of time forward with Hannah stepping in the ruck .Clarke was very good around the ground with some great marks and kicked a long goal. Smith,Tabs,Uber and Pav were the forwards with the the three youngsters performing well. Uber for a first gamer was excellent with some very quick leading and I think 2 goals. Smith equally impressive and Tabs also did some nice things. Hill and Mora dominated across half back for their respective teams. Of the mids as was mentioned Blakely and Mundy brilliant, Neale not so prominent but service able ditto Barlow ,Subes and De Boer. Silvagni tough at CHB and Dawson and Johnno did what they had to do. Fyfe a little 10 minute cameo when he showed just how good he is then left the game at half time and put on the civies. Tucker and Nyheus did not look out of place . The skills and intensity for a first full on hit out in that heat were excellent and I can't think of a player that did not perform well. Yarran was quiet but showed his class and speed in a couple of plays and would have kicked the goal of the day if his boot had not of come of in the kicking action. The boot went through unfortunately the ball didn't.
Hahaa about the yarran kick

Did the boys get stuck into him ? Does he seem to get along with everyone Salim ? Weird question i know but a mate of mine said he was a bit quiet at WAFL level

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Hahaa about the yarran kick

Did the boys get stuck into him ? Does he seem to get along with everyone Salim ? Weird question i know but a mate of mine said he was a bit quiet at WAFL level

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Very quiet but the indigenous boys have got around him and Sonny and Johnno seem to have taken him under their wing. During kick to kick one of those two gather him up and work with him.

Training 2015/16 preseason training (discussion)