List Mgmt. 2016 Trade/Free Agency

100% agree. This is what I've said all along. By ignoring senior players we've effectively stunted our growth. Should have got SJ when we had the chance, should have given Adcock an offer, and should have got Dempsey last year. These blokes would have given their all, but instead we've been playing 19 year olds who are stuffed by round 5. The club is run by a group of idiots.

Adcock has retired, Dempsey is all but finished, SJ still isn't over the line to go around again. I agree we need mature players like Rosa but at least be 29 or younger with a bit of footy left in them. The blokes mentioned above with only 1 or 2 years max left are just wasting a list spot.

Guys around the 24 - 28 that are entrenched in their best 22 aren't going to leave their club for ours.. Let's face it

would do Prestia + 2nd Rounder for Pick 6 + Ellis.

Prestia is better than Ellis, and Prestia is signing big money 700-750 per year is nothing to sneeze at. Would be in the top 50 paid players I would suggest on that coin? Therefore RFC will have to trade accordingly, you can't go offer 5 years almost 4 million and expect to get him by trading a packet of chips.

would do Prestia + 2nd Rounder for Pick 6 + Ellis.

Prestia is better than Ellis, and Prestia is signing big money 700-750 per year is nothing to sneeze at. Would be in the top 50 paid players I would suggest on that coin? Therefore RFC will have to trade accordingly, you can't go offer 5 years almost 4 million and expect to get him by trading a packet of chips.

Ellis is a good runner , would help with our outside run we lack.

No to Lennon. This year we MUST play as safe as we can. Known quantities only.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Reading the Tigers board i get the feeling Lennon has a bit of the Dan Gorringe's
about him , talented but laconic and lazy.

The blokes mentioned above with only 1 or 2 years max left are just wasting a list spot.
Hardly. Scotty said it best by saying that blokes that we want aren't going to want us. By signing players with 1 - 2 years left, just as GWS did, it allows for further development of our younger players. By the time that player retires, our younger player comes in and slots in perfectly.

It's basically the Hawthorn model of one out/one in.

Barlow come in for 2 years, Fiorini develops properly with 50% AFL 50% NEAFL, then after 2 years slots straight into the midfield. Malceski came in for 3 years, and at the end of his tenure Lemmens, KK, and (maybe) Joyce have blossomed and can take his spot.

It's the exact reason why we drafted Schoenfeld and signed Rosa in the same year. Rosa mentors Schoey until retirement, then Schoenfeld slots in as our wingman.

Saying only having an older player for 1 - 2 years is a waste is narrow minded and short-sighted, IMO.

Barlow 29, Riewolt 28, Rockliff 27

Matt De Boer 26 - free agent - cost us nothing - has been going pretty well in the WAFL given the below article - remember him being a maniac around the ball and pressuring forward

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/32434296/de-boer-dilemma/#page1

We could do a lot worse than De Boer. 26yo hard nut midfielder with 138 games experience and had the most tackles for Freo in 2015 in 19 games. Only 4 games this year and av. 6 tackles a game. Was a chance for the Sandover Medal this year in the WAFL and he would cost us nothing as OB11 said above.
Might just be the in and under bloke we need, at no cost. And we could go after Barlow as well.

Flog Stevens now reporting Swallow is staying with the Suns next year, so expect David to request a trade tomorrow ;) also Essendon going all out to Sign O'Meara even offering one of Brendon Goddards knee's although I reckon a bit of calfs Blood should do the trick
Stevo is actually pretty nice towards the Suns unlike other journos however he did say O'Meara was going to re-sign and then he left the next day.