List Mgmt. 2017 draft thread

He had Naish top 15-25 all year then right before the draft dropped him out of his top 50. Dude doesn't have a clue.

His bias and poor judgment are big reasons no one who knows footy takes him seriously. He generates a prolific amount of content but it's mostly shit. The flogs at ESPN don't know any better, they're just happy for the content.

Anderson vs Knightmare

BC22A532-41F8-43EF-AC2E-DF36E104D82E.gif

Comparing our delistings and our draftees I suspect our list will improve.
Steven Morris (delisted)
Taylor Hunt (delisted)Naish
Todd Elton (delisted)CJ
Ivan Maric (retired)Miller
Chris Yarran (retired) Higgins
Ben Lennon (delisted) Bamblett
Jake Batchelor (delisted) Balta

Lol - Lennon for Bamblett

Higgo is 178cm/78kgs. Plenty of A grade midfielders are of similar stature, and often it comes down to raw ability and work ethic, something Jack Higgins has in spades. I don't expect him to become a full time Midfielder, because, who is these days? Versatility is golden.

Here's a few notable past/current smaller midfielders approx height/weight;

- Ben Cousins (179cm, 78kgs)
- Brent Harvey (172cm, 75kgs)
- Robert Harvey (181cm, 83kgs)
- Daniel Kerr (178cm, 80kgs)
- Greg Williams (176cm, 88kgs)
- Tom Mitchell (181cm, 79kgs)
- Toby Greene (182cm, 82kgs)

Amazing quality in those names ranging between 172cm-182cm. I'm sure I missed a hell of a lot more too, feel free to add.

Libba snr 163cm

How many players do we have on our list now? How many rookies do we need to take?
40 senior players
3 rookies
We have one rookie spot plus up to 3 Cat B rookie spots free. We have dibs on Derek Smith Jnr as a Cat B rookie if he is not selected in the RD.

Clarke's last sentence in his draft summary "We think we have added some good depth to the spine with a ruck, forward and back."

To me that says that they see CJ ruck, Miller forward and Balta back (happy with this, padlock him to Rance for a few years)
I believe Miller is the back

24099815_823449614496336_1074431479_n.jpg

Agree- it killed the club after our 1980 premiership trading players and I for one do not want to wait another 37 years for another taste of this premiership success, its addictive and I want more---winners are grinners and I feel great being a member of the number one club!!!!!!

Next year is the time to be trading players out of the team. There will be guys who slip out of form, get injured or who get worked out by the opposition. But they are still 'former premiership players' and will trade at a premium (think Ben Marsh and Clay Sampson). I am 100% for retaining the list this year, but next year there will be 1-3 guys who can't get a game anymore, and they are the ones that we should consider 'giving greater opportunity elsewhere'.

Makes sense, a list is always evolving.
Let changes occur organically, it’s much harder to try to predict and force list changes.

Totally agree.Just the way it is.

Good post. The list has to evolve and refresh. Otherwise premiership players would stay on the list until retirement age. Which is a ridiculous notion.
Players form and injury will fluctuate, young, new players will improve their craft with experience.
Depth and quality will ensure competition for positions, players will need to perform consistently at high levels. Those being outperformed or with limited scope for improvement or if an offer comes that's too good to refuse, may be seen as excess to requirements will be vulnerable. Which is how it should be.
Evolve, refresh, improve rather than stagnate.

Good post. The list has to evolve and refresh. Otherwise premiership players would stay on the list until retirement age. Which is a ridiculous notion.
Players form and injury will fluctuate, young, new players will improve their craft with experience.
Depth and quality will ensure competition for positions, players will need to perform consistently at high levels. Those being outperformed or with limited scope for improvement or if an offer comes that's too good to refuse, may be seen as excess to requirements will be vulnerable. Which is how it should be.
The dilemma is you don't obviously get much for fringe players and you don't want to force trades on players. And when you are premiers, or at least contending each year, why would a solid best 22 player want to leave (except for $$$$, getting old and go home factor). 2014 Christensen and Varcoe would be two leaving Geelong, but were Geelong on the way down, other player issues?

Tom Mitchell...but technically he wasnt best 22 and left for opportunity. And I'm sure Sydney are regretting that decision to let him go.

You always need depth...we were lucky with injuries last year, you need quality players who can step in. Not sure Hawthorn let many go for picks...they were doing the opposite.

I agree with your point perhaps younger players go past and we have a surplus of players in that position.... which is why Butler / Castagna names are getting put out there. With those two, it would have to be a package deal!

I thought Batchelor was stiff but there are kids banging the door down

Riveting viewing

Not quite riveting viewing but I really like how out club when about it...BANG a decision within seconds...says a lot about us knowing exactly what we wanted...AND WE GOT IT

BTW...the announcer only had 1 job...but stuffs it up at our pick 63... After pick 62 he say GWS ARE ON THE CLOCK'...lol mate, 'on the clock my arse' more like you were on the turps

List Mgmt. 2017 draft thread