Resource 2017 Financial Results

Fair dinkum its not hard, in this case all clubs know their membership revenue, some choose not to publish it.

Yes, we are a minority interested but you could make the same argument for transparency in public companies.

They all know the income, but do they all measure and record it the same way?

If a membership entitles you to access to the social club, is it all membership money, or does some count as social club money? Do all clubs work it out the same way? What about merch sent out with membership? How is that scarf accounted for? Do all clubs do it the same way? What about members only merch? Is that the same?

Those differences mightn't amount to much, but you want them all to do it exactly the same way...For that, there would need to be changes, and sometimes even seemingly simple changes need notable changes to processes, and thus, costs. Not to mention, setting and maintaining those standards while ensuring they comply with all relevant laws and regulations across multiple jurisdictions would be a job in itself.

league would be concerned to say the least

I think those trade payables are starting to get into the situation where the AFL's auditors should be forcing them to call them bad, or at least doubtful debts and start working towards writing them off. As it is the AFL has a $10M asset on their books they're unlikely to ever actually receive, which is, shall we say, misleading (as in it'd be arguably fraudulent if it actually mattered for anything).

Of course, doing that would trigger all sorts of issues with the Lion's other creditors (not to mention other clubs) and wouldn't really do all that much towards fixing the underlying problems (indeed, it'd make it worse).

An interesting aside from Hawthorn's report.

They have financials for both club and consolidated entities side by side (a good thing IMHO, but anyway), and box hill football club is listed as one of those entities that make up the consolidated element, and with some categories (membership, match day revenue, merch), the difference in figures would seem to give a decent view of what BH makes.

VFL clubs revenue streams are small by comparison.

Membership $2,354
Match day Income $113,578
Merchandise $4,628

There is probably also be some income in other fields where the breakup is less clear. (e.g. marketing, AKA sponsorship)

There is also a reference later to Hawthorn giving BH $734,307 towards operating expenses.

So revenue would be a bit over $850K, and they are clearly utterly dependent on HFC (which is actually why they're listed on the report, HFC doesn't technically own them, they just control them so much they have to be included).

That a couple of stand alone clubs continue to survive, even prosper, is amazing.

They all know the income, but do they all measure and record it the same way?

If a membership entitles you to access to the social club, is it all membership money, or does some count as social club money? Do all clubs work it out the same way? What about merch sent out with membership? How is that scarf accounted for? Do all clubs do it the same way? What about members only merch? Is that the same?

Those differences mightn't amount to much, but you want them all to do it exactly the same way...For that, there would need to be changes, and sometimes even seemingly simple changes need notable changes to processes, and thus, costs. Not to mention, setting and maintaining those standards while ensuring they comply with all relevant laws and regulations across multiple jurisdictions would be a job in itself.

You are looking for problems, its just not hard for a final year book keeping student who recognises a chart of accounts.

Yes, I'm considering the problems with bringing in such a proposal. When something is proposed, it's usually a good idea to weigh up the 'why' and the 'why not' and look at it the perspective of those who need to make the change. ( You'll find I tend to do this a lot, and if I'm usually doing the 'why not' it's not just me being contrary, but rather that the person making the proposal has already covered the 'why' )

When you do that for the AFL with this issue, the 'why not' clearly outweighs the 'why'.

There was a $1m impairment due to the collapse of their joint major sponsor (Camperdown Dairy) which is a fair chunk of the overall loss.

They really need Springfield to get off of the ground and better on-field performances to turn the ship around.

I'm not sure that financial report is really that much of a shock. There was also a $2.5m jump in football department expenses. What portion of that was aflw? What portion was recurrent and what portion related to facilitating the renewal of its football department?

Anyway, looks highly likely that "the reserve" will go ahead and things are looking better on field. Things will turnaround

Yes, I'm considering the problems with bringing in such a proposal. When something is proposed, it's usually a good idea to weigh up the 'why' and the 'why not' and look at it the perspective of those who need to make the change. ( You'll find I tend to do this a lot, and if I'm usually doing the 'why not' it's not just me being contrary, but rather that the person making the proposal has already covered the 'why' )

When you do that for the AFL with this issue, the 'why not' clearly outweighs the 'why'.

Sure beats canning your club for non disclosure.
Questions have been asked of the Tiges to no avail.

I'm not sure that financial report is really that much of a shock. There was also a $2.5m jump in football department expenses. What portion of that was aflw? What portion was recurrent and what portion related to facilitating the renewal of its football department?

Anyway, looks highly likely that "the reserve" will go ahead and things are looking better on field. Things will turnaround

In the Demons' report they state that their AFLW team cost them $700k and that they got $1.9m in additional AFL distributions due to the increase in player payments from the agreement with the AFLPA. You'd reckon the Lions' figures would be equivalent to these.

Ahh, course, the eba step payment as well.

2017 AFL Club Report Summary

Annual Reports
Revenue
  • Hawthorn - $70,742,464
  • Essendon - $65,165,407
  • Richmond - $65,164,372
  • Brisbane - $52,060,420
  • Melbourne - $51,988,711
Profit/loss
  • Essendon - $5,054,186
  • Hawthorn - $4,933,128
  • Richmond - $3,063,298
  • Melbourne - $1,363,060
  • Brisbane - ($2,261,990)
Gaming & Social Revenue
  • Hawthorn - $19,087,366
  • Brisbane - $15,687,630
  • Essendon - $13,351,296
  • Melbourne - $11,641,049
  • Richmond - $7,180,170
Gaming Profit
  • Brisbane - $3,744,228
  • Melbourne - $3,720,679
  • Essendon - $2,276,154
  • Richmond - $942,060
  • Hawthorn - No costs available
Revenue without Gaming
  • Richmond - $57,984,202
  • Essendon - $51,814,111
  • Hawthorn - $51,655,098
  • Melbourne - $40,347,662
  • Brisbane - $36,372,790
Profit/Loss without Gaming
  • Essendon - $2,778,032
  • Richmond - $2,121,238
  • Melbourne - ($2,357,619)
  • Brisbane - ($6,006,218)
  • Hawthorn - Not available.
Membership, Reserved seating
  • Hawthorn - $12,446,104
  • Essendon - $11,971,985
  • Melbourne - $8,057,900 (includes fundraising)
  • Brisbane - $5,530,944
  • Richmond - Not Available
Revenue per member
  • Hawthorn - $164.49 per member
  • Essendon - $176.66 per member
  • Melbourne - $190.80 per member (includes fundraising)
  • Brisbane - $258.92 per member (includes gate)
  • Richmond - Not available
Gate takings
  • Melbourne - $5,366,974
  • Hawthorn - $5,117,239
  • Essendon - $2,368,742
  • Brisbane - included in Membership
  • Richmond - Not available
Sponsorship & Marketing
  • Essendon - $14,326,352
  • Hawthorn - $14,155,211
  • Richmond - $13,638,619
  • Melbourne - $9,399,004
  • Brisbane - $8,889,077
Merchandise
  • Hawthorn - $2,088,983
  • Essendon - $2,066,030
  • Melbourne - $1,085,881
  • Brisbane - $771,375
AFL Distributions
  • Brisbane - $20,932,600
  • Melbourne - $15,713,629
  • Richmond - $13,627,896
  • Essendon - $12,945,389
  • Hawthorn - $10,861,443

Football Department spending
  • Melbourne - ($24,223,494)
  • Brisbane - ($24,712,245)
  • Essendon - ($23,687,766)
  • Hawthorn - Not Available

AFLW Cost
  • Melbourne - ($699,970)
Assets
  • Hawthorn - $66,430,723
  • Essendon - $45,362,544
  • Richmond - $37,332,992
  • Melbourne - $18,012,858
  • Brisbane - $9,299,059
Liabilities
  • Brisbane - $22,432,913
  • Hawthorn - $19,898,341
  • Essendon - $12,854,759
  • Melbourne - $11,810,162
  • Richmond - $10,178,623
Equity
  • Hawthorn - $46,532,382
  • Essendon - $32,507,785
  • Richmond - $27,154,369
  • Melbourne - $6,202,696
  • Brisbane - ($13,133,854)

Sure beats canning your club for non disclosure.
Questions have been asked of the Tiges to no avail.

Yes, to no avail.

In an ideal dream world, you're right, all clubs (and the AFL) would report fully, openly and in as close as practicable to the same manner.

But it's not a dream world, ideal or otherwise, and that just isn't going to happen.

Feel free to keep flogging this dead horse, but accept that me pointing out the futility of it doesn't make me the bad guy here.

Also mentions that they received $0.273M from the AFL for AFLW player payments.

Of course, the catch of revealing information is however much you reveal, it just means people, like me, want more.

Money from the AFL went up by $2,954,887
$1,913m was for the new CBA
$0.273m was for AFLW

So what was the rest for?

I imagine some of that was just the annual increase that I assume was always going to be there, but dammit...they told us part of what it came from, I want the rest! :)

edited to add...Yes I do recognise the irony of my post above regarding the futility of idealism against reality and flogging a dead horse. My only excuse/justification is that while I'll have a quick comment about such things, I'll also accept what is and move on...

Also mentions that they received $0.273M from the AFL for AFLW player payments.

Of course, the catch of revealing information is however much you reveal, it just means people, like me, want more.

Money from the AFL went up by $2,954,887
$1,913m was for the new CBA
$0.273m was for AFLW

So what was the rest for?

I imagine some of that was just the annual increase that I assume was always going to be there, but dammit...they told us part of what it came from, I want the rest! :)

edited to add...Yes I do recognise the irony of my post above regarding the futility of idealism against reality and flogging a dead horse. My only excuse/justification is that while I'll have a quick comment about such things, I'll also accept what is and move on...

They say that $0.78m was for "competitive balance". The AFL received a large increase in broadcasting income in 2017 and some of that has to go to the clubs for their operations and not just for higher player payments.

The AFL make an assessment of each club's needs and varies its distribution above the base accordingly. It hasn't published those figures though we can make some guesses from the annual reports.

An interesting aside from Hawthorn's report.

They have financials for both club and consolidated entities side by side (a good thing IMHO, but anyway), and box hill football club is listed as one of those entities that make up the consolidated element, and with some categories (membership, match day revenue, merch), the difference in figures would seem to give a decent view of what BH makes.

VFL clubs revenue streams are small by comparison.

Membership $2,354
Match day Income $113,578
Merchandise $4,628

There is probably also be some income in other fields where the breakup is less clear. (e.g. marketing, AKA sponsorship)

There is also a reference later to Hawthorn giving BH $734,307 towards operating expenses.

So revenue would be a bit over $850K, and they are clearly utterly dependent on HFC (which is actually why they're listed on the report, HFC doesn't technically own them, they just control them so much they have to be included).

That a couple of stand alone clubs continue to survive, even prosper, is amazing.

Who other than willy?

It's just a marketing campaign to galvanise the supporters, players and other staff members. It has worked.

I guess the amount of uncertainty heading into the year is what caused many to be a little cynical about Essendon's prospects this year. Sure we certainly had the list to do it, but how will that list gel? How will the returning players cope? Will we see a lot of injuries? Will they return to the level that we saw pre-ban? How quick will they adapt to Woosha's gameplan? Etc

The "comeback" is more to do with our off field performance rather than our on field performance. We're finally a normal football club again without the constant threat of suspensions. Without writing years off before they start. Without being front page for allegations after allegations.

We also had a record financial loss at the end of last year. I guess all of that are factors in the club's marketing campaign. The club certainly sees this year as a success in many aspects with the club returning to finals football.

The club has retained its $10 mil facility at Westpac courtesy the AFL guarantee. Nonetheless a good result.

They say that $0.78m was for "competitive balance". The AFL received a large increase in broadcasting income in 2017 and some of that has to go to the clubs for their operations and not just for higher player payments.

The AFL make an assessment of each club's needs and varies its distribution above the base accordingly. It hasn't published those figures though we can make some guesses from the annual reports.

Must have missed that bit. Thanks!

Port & Coburg from memory.

Port were rattling tins this year. Coburg are a year to year proposition they are that close to the edge

I wouldnt say either of these is prospering

Port were rattling tins this year. Coburg are a year to year proposition they are that close to the edge

I wouldnt say either of these is prospering

Fair call, but the fact they're still there is impressive.

If the benchmark for impressive is not completely rooted

We should be ashamed of this situation, not applauding it

Resource 2017 Financial Results