Training 2017 Preseason

The media department just did an intrigue 'swipe up to find out what happened to Hugh McCluggage' thing on insta.. you can't do intrigue, click bait things about negitive news.. i thought he had resigned for 3 years.

While I am at it, I hate new app.. worst app layout ive ever used.

I don't see it. Has it been deleted. Anyway, let them know. They're pretty good at taking criticism and constructive feedback.

Apparently it was the third time it was broken. He was sucking on the green stick pain killer thing repeatedly saying 'mum's going kill me, mum's going to kill me'. Poor bugger. Sometimes it's just not fair.

Frankly, mum, dad, coach, club and even the league should be in charge enough that the kid is not playing. It's not the 1970's, 80's or 90's anymore. We know a lot more about injuries and stuff. It's not about being a nanny-state, we should learn from the mistakes of the past. I see ex-QAFL guys from those days all the time who walk around lopsided and with chronic injuries and pain that could have been avoided. They got paid $50 for a win and $30 for a loss.

There are unfortunately a few mums, dad's, coaches and clubs that get tied up in the success of the kids and forget the long term consequences.

But i wonder how many of them regret it?

I know a few successful qafl players that have had long lasting effects from long stints playing and majority everytime i see them say it was worth it.

Kids are different. I know if my young ones had copped some injuries then id pull them back abit. Then its up to them later on in life if they want to go back through.

Its a weird sport. I know my back injury has slowed me down. But i certainly don't regret giving it my best for my local.

Injuries happen. We are probably on the lower side of it at the moment. Lets hope it stays.

I really want walker to be devaloped as a back, takes a good floating grab and footy IQ isnt too bad. I feel he could play 150 more games as a backman.. cant see him being a great forward

There are unfortunately a few mums, dad's, coaches and clubs that get tied up in the success of the kids and forget the long term consequences.
I am going through this now, my daughter greenstick fractured her arm and was about to come back and got hit behind the goals at the lions w game by a footy on exactly the same spot. It had been re- xray ed and it is rebroken but she doesn't want to play in case she hurts it again. I know as soon as she starts to play she will be fine, but I am struggling to find a PC way of saying "harden up".

Has the world taken crazy pills!!????? How the **** is it not PC to tell someone to harden up?

Who we offending now the god damn concrete?????

Same. My youngest girl is scared of the ball so we have been playing with her to get over it. At the mens interclub game she was saying she might try afl this year when a she got falconed when walking away from kaslar after a chat. Had a black eye the next day. Now she says she is playing soccer. Sad sad sad me. I find soccer boring so Saturday mornings are going to be looooong

I am going through this now, my daughter greenstick fractured her arm and was about to come back and got hit behind the goals at the lions w game...

Right here is where I started checking the user name to see if there was any reference to "wolf" and scanning the rest of the post for mention of an uncle.

Same. My youngest girl is scared of the ball so we have been playing with her to get over it. At the mens interclub game she was saying she might try afl this year when a she got falconed when walking away from kaslar after a chat. Had a black eye the next day. Now she says she is playing soccer. Sad sad sad me. I find soccer boring so Saturday mornings are going to be looooong

You should let her know that soccer actually requires you to use your head to hit the ball

She isn't scared of the ball, she played rep footy last year and also had a number of games with the boys, she would have got votes (except we don't give votes to ring ins). I want her to play school footy (essentially under 11s rules, no tackling to ground), and yeah she is small and much younger than the others, but she is in the top half of the team. Confidence is a funny thing.

And soccer omg so boring, my son is playing firsts for school but I just cannot get into it. Mind you worse injuries in soccer than afl.

I think it says alot about young McCluggage's character that in his first 2 games with the club he has taken a head knock that required stitches and has rolled his ankle and played out both games. Tough little bugger showing he is not just a 'Rolls Royce' skilled player but well rounded and mentally strong.

She isn't scared of the ball, she played rep footy last year and also had a number of games with the boys, she would have got votes (except we don't give votes to ring ins). I want her to play school footy (essentially under 11s rules, no tackling to ground), and yeah she is small and much younger than the others, but she is in the top half of the team. Confidence is a funny thing.

And soccer omg so boring, my son is playing firsts for school but I just cannot get into it. Mind you worse injuries in soccer than afl.
Should be thankful that she wants to play sport in general.

You should let her know that soccer actually requires you to use your head to hit the ball
We tried that and she wanted to change to dance. Cause we want a team sport (so many benefits) we told her she could use her shoulder instead of head. Her coach is going to love us.

Yeah Hugh has been really impressive. Even against the Dogs when he made mistakes he buttered up and made amends. A few fumbles/dropped marks aside, his ball use is exceptional. Watch the lead-up to Hipwood's goal - it happens because Hugh takes a really aggressive option through the middle, kicking to Lewy/Lester

That was definitely a standout moment. Watching a highlight clip of that goal yesterday, the margin for error was even lower than I realized at the time.

Fagan has talked a lot about instilling confidence in players to take those risks. A lot of coaches will say that or similar, but the players' interviews lately (thinking of that Bewick article especially) read as though Fagan is sincere on that point and they believe him. On that basis, I reckon it's a great time for someone with McCluggage's strengths to have arrived at the club.

Hugh also has the media friendly, 'give-'em'nothing' style down pat too! I asked him at the Vic Family day how he was feeling as he'd looked a bit proppy the night before. "All good mate; no worries" was his response!

Does anyone know the state of Cian Hanley's health and if he is likely to kick a ball in anger this year? He will probably be on the Veteran's list before he gets a game
He will be well and truly gonski by then.

Training 2017 Preseason