Training 2017 Preseason

Fagans first coaches address.

CwnKH1AVEAE79vp.jpg:large
Jono Freeman rocking the Lyle Lovett look.

Younger guys were always coming back before the senior players. Happened last year as well. Great idea to take the boys to Tassie and allow them to train in cooler weather and spend more time on the training track learning the new game plan. Got a feeling the new game plan will include a lot of switching of the ball.

What is the plan?

probably not run and gun, maybe something like "don't think do", "if it bleeds we can kill it". i would like the "don't handball to the feet or kick over the head of a team mate" plan or "gut run both ways" plan or the "no sulking" plan or the "we are a young list is not an excuse" plan.

it will be great to have a discernible game plan no matter what it is instead of the run around like headless chooks game plan.

Based on the ball watching and defense comments I think the players learning what to do when we're not in possession will be high on the agenda.
Wonder what the other 20% will be devoted to.

"Use the ball in a number of different ways." and "Teach them what the cues are." hint at two things for me. We're going to have a more dynamic plan of attack, and to teach them what the cues are indicates we're going to work on the ability to break a pattern and shift to an alternative if the opportunity presents itself.

Most of that last season I was getting shitty at how we just had to keep handballing around in our local area instead of breaking and going forward. Often times that final handball was the thing that stuffed it all, and we turned it over. I feel those comments relate directly to this.

Some clubs choose to do humidity training for the preseason. The Lions however are choosing to have a training camp in Tasmania.. #innovative
Thats obvuously the faganoble influence.
Gettin back to their roots.

Training 2017 Preseason