Training 2019 Preseason

Bailey Rice is flying!
Literally.

I know its one play but jesus a ****ing chaos ball kick out wide to a 4 on 1 doesn't fill me with confidence, fluke it paid off. With no context of the drill they're doing its hard to be too critical but **** me i hope i don't see too much of that this season.

Lethal weapon: Saint set to stay on kick-in duties

Dinny Navaratnam

Feb 18, 2019 6:45AM

Role change could unlock Saint's potential

Dinny Navaratnam and Mitch Cleary bring you an update on the Saints' pre-season

THE NEW kick-in rules are set to open up the game for teams that can exploit them, and St Kilda knows it has a serious weapon on its hands.

Shane Savage's thumping right boot was used after opposition behinds more than any other Saint last season and that is set to continue.

As a refresher, the kick-in changes will see the man on the mark pushed back to 10m out from the top of the goalsquare, rather than 5m.

Also, if someone like Savage chooses to play on, he won't need to kick to himself first.

To put it simply, sides should be able to gain a lot more ground than previously.

It won't be a case of going fast every time though. In fact, St Kilda identified it tended to move the ball too quickly in 2018, leading to some unsightly turnovers.

For Savage, how swiftly he goes will depend on the situation.

"The way I see it, it's risk versus reward," Savage told AFL.com.au.

"If you want to play it safe, then just stay in the square and look to find an option, but if you want to take a risk, then look to take them on and take a bit of ground."

While the 28-year-old is poised to take the bulk of kick-in duties, scything left-footer Jimmy Webster and the cool-headed Dylan Roberton will also help out.

The trio have spoken about how they plan on adapting to the new rules.

"At training, we're always looking for innovative ways to take the opposition on and get bang for buck, because I guess the worst option for us is to kick it short and get closed down," Savage said.

Another important aspect of improving kick-ins is what happens further up the ground.

"The thing we focused on a lot more this year is just a lot more movement, getting moving and not being stagnant for the kicker, and just giving him a better option," Savage said.

"That's obviously been a big focus, just making it easier for us to find something, because there's nothing worse when everyone's just standing still and there aren't many options for the kicker."

The former Hawk admitted last year he was better and more consistent than during the 2017 campaign, but his impressive season ended a month early after suffering a torn left hamstring at training.

Repeating that form won't be Savage's only focus, with the backman set to resume his role as match-day DJ.

He's open to most music, even the trance enjoyed by Jade Gresham and some of his younger peers, but draws the line at heavy metal.

For anyone who doesn't like what's being played, the advice is pretty simple.

"There's always someone that has a little bit of a sook about what sort of music I'm playing. It's pretty simple, just put some headphones on and listen to whatever you want," Savage said.

Looks like he will be in the 22 , if the media is anything to go by
Wilkie has a cannon on him as well

I know its one play but jesus a ******* chaos ball kick out wide to a 4 on 1 doesn't fill me with confidence, fluke it paid off. With no context of the drill they're doing its hard to be too critical but **** me i hope i don't see too much of that this season.
Ah c'mon it was pin point to the advantage of his teammate.....as luck would have it....

Lethal weapon: Saint set to stay on kick-in duties

Dinny Navaratnam

Feb 18, 2019 6:45AM

Role change could unlock Saint's potential

Dinny Navaratnam and Mitch Cleary bring you an update on the Saints' pre-season

THE NEW kick-in rules are set to open up the game for teams that can exploit them, and St Kilda knows it has a serious weapon on its hands.

Shane Savage's thumping right boot was used after opposition behinds more than any other Saint last season and that is set to continue.

As a refresher, the kick-in changes will see the man on the mark pushed back to 10m out from the top of the goalsquare, rather than 5m.

Also, if someone like Savage chooses to play on, he won't need to kick to himself first.

To put it simply, sides should be able to gain a lot more ground than previously.

It won't be a case of going fast every time though. In fact, St Kilda identified it tended to move the ball too quickly in 2018, leading to some unsightly turnovers.

For Savage, how swiftly he goes will depend on the situation.

"The way I see it, it's risk versus reward," Savage told AFL.com.au.

"If you want to play it safe, then just stay in the square and look to find an option, but if you want to take a risk, then look to take them on and take a bit of ground."

While the 28-year-old is poised to take the bulk of kick-in duties, scything left-footer Jimmy Webster and the cool-headed Dylan Roberton will also help out.

The trio have spoken about how they plan on adapting to the new rules.

"At training, we're always looking for innovative ways to take the opposition on and get bang for buck, because I guess the worst option for us is to kick it short and get closed down," Savage said.

Another important aspect of improving kick-ins is what happens further up the ground.

"The thing we focused on a lot more this year is just a lot more movement, getting moving and not being stagnant for the kicker, and just giving him a better option," Savage said.

"That's obviously been a big focus, just making it easier for us to find something, because there's nothing worse when everyone's just standing still and there aren't many options for the kicker."

The former Hawk admitted last year he was better and more consistent than during the 2017 campaign, but his impressive season ended a month early after suffering a torn left hamstring at training.

Repeating that form won't be Savage's only focus, with the backman set to resume his role as match-day DJ.

He's open to most music, even the trance enjoyed by Jade Gresham and some of his younger peers, but draws the line at heavy metal.

For anyone who doesn't like what's being played, the advice is pretty simple.

"There's always someone that has a little bit of a sook about what sort of music I'm playing. It's pretty simple, just put some headphones on and listen to whatever you want," Savage said.

Looks like he will be in the 22 , if the media is anything to go by
that's cool but i'd prefer him just to kick it to a free player, which shouldn't be that hard given the position he plays. Also he can do it, i've seen it! though it's a rarity

If all it takes to get a game as a defender is to be able to kick distance I think this guy might be a monty for the first round.

0.20 - laziest looking 55 metre kick I've ever seen.

If all it takes to get a game as a defender is to be able to kick distance I think this guy might be a monty for the first round.

And when you combine Wilkie’s boot with Parker’s pace leading to space, and all of a sudden rebounding out of defense could be less difficult to watch as a supporter.

da9686492a739bb63d39aacefc2a0fa0.jpg

Loving the hype around this guy as well. It’s almost like the club has seen enough to be confident about making some noise around his development. Like they are with Billings and Gresham.

Can’t wait to see him in the guts.

Savage picked up a fair few possessions for us last year however the player he played on usually cut us to pieces , might be best to have a good look who we have before making him our first choice.

Geary / Brown - Joyce - Austin - Clavarino / McKenzie - White - Wilkie - Battle - Rice
Webster / Carlisle / Roberton

is Savage our best option ?

Gday guys, sorry to bump an old thread but can't find any new ones apart from your league sign ups

Question for Supercoach Draft

I'm looking at Newnes very late potentially as we have a deep 12 team x 22 player draft, so for maybe as bench coverage. How come his scoring plummeted last year? Did he start tagging or something?

He was a solid 80-90 type for a few years, remember in 2017 he was decent, had a game where he got knocked out/injured early which dropped his average a little, but yeah fell right away last year. Can we expect his scoring to stay around 65-70 again like last year or should we see a rise to the old Newnes and be a value pick? Think he has FWD/MID DPP this year.

I would rate Webster as our best kick-in however with the new play on at any time rule change Savage's huge boot could actually clear the ball basically to the centre bounce without much issue as the man on the goal line will still be the normal 5 meters out from the goal square. Could give you almost 12 meters more room before torpeing it.

Savage picked up a fair few possessions for us last year however the player he played on usually cut us to pieces , might be best to have a good look who we have before making him our first choice.

Geary / Brown - Joyce - Austin - Clavarino / McKenzie - White - Wilkie - Battle - Rice

I thought Savage was very good last year, he's not really a one on one defender, he breaks lines and distributes outside the danger zone. He has elite traits and the way we have used him has been a waste under Richo. Hopefully Ratten makes the most of him.

Gday guys, sorry to bump an old thread but can't find any new ones apart from your league sign ups

Question for Supercoach Draft

I'm looking at Newnes very late potentially as we have a deep 12 team x 22 player draft, so for maybe as bench coverage. How come his scoring plummeted last year? Did he start tagging or something?

He was a solid 80-90 type for a few years, remember in 2017 he was decent, had a game where he got knocked out/injured early which dropped his average a little, but yeah fell right away last year. Can we expect his scoring to stay around 65-70 again like last year or should we see a rise to the old Newnes and be a value pick? Think he has FWD/MID DPP this year.
A saints supporter would know better but they played him forward which really isn't in his wheelhouse. Also the ball didn't get into the saints fwd line much/ with quality.

He will score well if moved back to the wing.

We are fortunate to have Billy Slater at the club. Just on SEN and speaks well.
Targeting, him, Gubby Allen, Ratten, and Hannebury really brings in people with professional winning and successful mentalities.

Something sorely lacking over the STKFC journey.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

"He came into my office and I asked him: ‘If you’re going to play midfield what do you need to do?’ We test 3km after their breaks and he said he had to get down to at least 10.30. I told him Matty Hornsby (fitness coach) told me it’s going to take you two years. Post-Christmas he runs 10.22. He’s a very, very driven person. I don’t want to put pressure on him, but he’s a chance to be a very special player. "

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Me likey very muchy

0.20 - laziest looking 55 metre kick I've ever seen.

Actually I think my boy (Paton) can go back to playing defence and do the kicks ins.

Pretty hard to defend both sides of the ground so he can do his party trick of swapping to his left foot kick ins from time to time.

1.00 mark of this video.

http://www.saints.com.au/video/2017-11-24/ben-paton-highlights-2411

I 100% agree, he is a liability as a defender.
The other thing is his kicking, while long is usual not advantages to us. I remember the first game Saints Roo commentated last year you could tell Roo isn't that positive on Savage, said something a long the lines of just booting the ball long to your opponents is terrible football. If I recall savage did that about 5-8 times in the game v Cats that made Roo come out with that, Roo def not a Savage fan I think.

Hopefully someone else develops and Savage is just depth player from now I on

Anyone hearing the latest Hanneberry rumours?

What is today's rumour on Hanners?

I would advise all to just block out all the hate of saints in media, its an old sport putting our Sainters down, lets just wait and see if Hanners is there Round 1 or 2 or whatever, Its not about this year for us picking up Hanners, his voice and leadership over summer has already done wonders for our list, especially the younger ones, seeing how hard he goes at training, when he can haha.

There is a screenshot of a text message exchange between two unknown persons doing the rounds that claims Hanners hamstring is a cover for a club imposed suspension. It also claims that the suspension is for drug use, which has come to light after a couple of strippers successfully extorted Hanners with some photos of his drug fueled partying.

I’m calling complete and utter bullshit on it. The Saints wouldn’t have appointed him to the leadership group under those circumstances.

The alternative is that we are at the third level of inception and counting.

There is a screenshot of a text message exchange between two unknown persons doing the rounds that claims Hanners hamstring is a cover for a club imposed suspension. It also claims that the suspension is for drug use, which has come to light after a couple of strippers successfully extorted Hanners with some photos of his drug fueled partying.

I’m calling complete and utter bullshit on it. The Saints wouldn’t have appointed him to the leadership group under those circumstances.

Well that rumour sounds like pure and unadulterated

tenor-52.gif

And when you combine Wilkie’s boot with Parker’s pace leading to space, and all of a sudden rebounding out of defense could be less difficult to watch as a supporter.

da9686492a739bb63d39aacefc2a0fa0.jpg

Loving the hype around this guy as well. It’s almost like the club has seen enough to be confident about making some noise around his development. Like they are with Billings and Gresham.

Can’t wait to see him in the guts.

Agreed mate. I'm liking the fact the club is actively pumping the tyres of a few and with confidence that they'll have good years, not just hope.

The club's got a bit of ground to make up with their actions, but if their words are backed up with actions on the field i think we will catch quite a few teams by surprise and leave a few "experts" looking for some humble pie.

So he is suspended from rd 1 and we have devised a cover story about his hamstring to explain why is isn't picked and he is otherwise healthy so is sitting out of full training to trick everyone? Or he is suspended from full training right now but is still able to do limited duties?

You would think the people that started this rumour would think these things through.

No its true, thats why we put him in the leadership group. That will teach him.
Under Bassett's direction who reckons we are too vanilla.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Training 2019 Preseason