List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Watch

Current no. of players on the list
Senior list - 34 (2-4 free*)
Rookie (Cat A) - 4 (0-2 free*)
Rookie (Cat B) - 2 (0 free)
Maximum list size of 44. Up to 36-38 senior list, 4-6 category A rookie list and 2 category B rookie list.
* Total of four list spots available, with a minimum of 2 senior list spots needing to be utilised.

List changes
IN: Daniher, Cockatoo, Uosis (R)
OUT: Christensen, Wooller, Allison (R), Skinner (R), Eagles (R), C. Lyons (R), Martin, Witherden, Cox, Hinge.
PROMOTED: Fullarton.
ROOKIED: Birchall, Mathieson, Ballendan.

Current picks
25, 53, 58, 69, 70
(2021 - 1st (MEL), 1st, 3rd (WCE), 3rd, 4th (MEL), 4th (COLL), 5th)

Useful links
2020 trade news compendium
List changes, contract status and key dates
2020 draft discussion thread

Allison, Christensen, Cox, Eagles, C Lyons, Skinner, Wooller, all have to be a bit worried.
Anyone who hasn't played in the last two years should be more than a bit worried, they're almost certainly getting chopped. Can't see anyone on that list besides maybe Skinner staying, which is a real pity because I wanted to see Lyons and Wooller make their debuts for us.

I agree that Ah Chee is a successful recruit but completely disagree that he isn't a top talent, he was a top 10 pick for starters. There aren't many players on our list who can play anywhere on the ground. His vertical leap and speed combined with his skills is a genuine point of different. I genuinely think once he gets a bit more self belief and consistency he'll be in our top 10 players, he's only 22 as well.

Hmmm I agree with his elite hops. I am still a little bit doubtful on his ‘elite speed’. Personally I see Noah Answerth as faster and shows more speed on match day. He’s also a kid in his second year with massive injury background, and heaps of upside in my opinion.

So I'd say,

OUT:
Witherden, Cox, Allison, Christensen, Cox, Eagles, C Lyons, Skinner, Wooller

IN:
Daniher, Cockatoo, a surprise pick up and draftees

Sound about right?

So I'd say,

OUT:
Witherden, Cox, Allison, Christensen, Cox, Eagles, C Lyons, Skinner, Wooller

IN:
Daniher, Cockatoo, a surprise pick up and draftees

Sound about right?
Why are we getting rid of Witho with two years left on his contract? Birchall isn’t going to last much longer and Starc will most likely play wing/mid in 2021/22.

Is it actually a rumour, or more just pure speculation here.
And pure speculation from the media too.
Because he is being over looked. No other reason.
But he does have other clubs enquiring, for that reason alone.

I was having a chat with someone with pretty close links at the club. This person is not involved in the recruiting side of things, but was interesting to hear his thoughts.

I asked about our recruiting strategy and what we would be looking to do. This may be obvious, but he said we are looking at positions where we have some ageing stars and are looking for future replacements now. Names mentioned as examples were Rich, Zorko and Martin. No players in our current best 22 will be traded according to him.

Directly after this, he mentioned that apparently Witho was starting to fall further behind the pecking order in our best 22. Whether or not this is purely a personal opinion or the opinion of the coaching staff, I have no idea. But wouldn’t be surprised to see him leave the Den at the end of the year.

Wouldn’t give me anything about Daniher and said he honestly has no idea. Very confident Cockatoo will be a Lion.

Again, take of this what you will, and it may be nothing new to some people, but just sharing the quick convo that we had.

I was having a chat with someone with pretty close links at the club. This person is not involved in the recruiting side of things, but was interesting to hear his thoughts.

I asked about our recruiting strategy and what we would be looking to do. This may be obvious, but he said we are looking at positions where we have some ageing stars and are looking for future replacements now. Names mentioned as examples were Rich, Zorko and Martin. No players in our current best 22 will be traded according to him.

Directly after this, he mentioned that apparently Witho was starting to fall further behind the pecking order in our best 22. Whether or not this is purely a personal opinion or the opinion of the coaching staff, I have no idea. But wouldn’t be surprised to see him leave the Den at the end of the year.

Wouldn’t give me anything about Daniher and said he honestly has no idea. Very confident Cockatoo will be a Lion.

Again, take of this what you will, and it may be nothing new to some people, but just sharing the quick convo that we had.

So a ruck, HBF with footskills and a mid/forward. Maybe Cockatoo is the mid/forward.

Chances that Birchall and Martin retire? If we win a flag they might.

Allison, Christensen, Cox, Eagles, C Lyons, Skinner, Wooller, all have to be a bit worried.

AFL.com.au says there is a bit of interest in Cox but doesn't go into any more details.
Pretty sure Bundy said on his podcast he’ll likely be playing footy with his brother for the Tiwi Bombers next year doing FIFO for the games. So that’s as good as confirmed.

Deven could be an interesting situation too come trade period. Darren Glass becoming West Coast list manager may have some implications here.

Just spit balling, but he has a very easy way back home now with help from his list manager Uncle.

Deven could be an interesting situation too come trade period. Darren Glass becoming West Coast list manager may have some implications here.

Just spit balling, but he has a very easy way back home now with help from his list manager Uncle.
He needs to have a good chat with Des Headland about the perils of returning to WA when the Lions are contending for premierships.

Considering him asking his Manager to “Get me to the Lions” after missing out on the first round at the draft.
I don’t think it will be anytime too soon.
And I think next year he will very quickly take over CEY and Matho as the first choice depth in the team.

Pretty sure i've heard that internally, we really rate Dev and believe he has a big future with us. Witho will only go if he decides to move on for better opportunities. He can easily push his way into the 22 if he can improve. He played a lot of footy early on because he was drafted at a time when there were no competition for spots. The fact he isn't playing now isn't a sign of him going backwards, it is a sign of improved depth.

So a ruck, HBF with footskills and a mid/forward. Maybe Cockatoo is the mid/forward.

Possibly mate. This bloke is certainly not a decision maker when it comes to any of our recruiting and more just sharing some of his thoughts and some of what he knows. But reading between the lines, it seems like they are the positions we are looking to fill. He did mention that we would be focusing on long term replacements, which may suggest that we are keen on keeping a couple of our early picks for the draft. But again, please don’t take this as gospel.

One thing I did forget to mention was that he/the club? (Can’t honestly remember if it was just his personal opinion) think that Ben Brown would NOT be a good fit for the team due to his playing style and would not be seriously looked at.

Lastly, (and this is also pretty obvious stuff) he said that the club want to keep their cards very close to their chest. The recruiters are obviously doing their due diligence behind the scenes and there is no shortage of players who would like to play for the Lions. But the sole focus at this stage is finals. I think that we may have to wait until the end of our finals campaign to get a real indication as to who we might be looking at.

Really can’t add much more than that, but exciting stuff. Go Lions

List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Watch